We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Italian Restaurant

Sam's Italian Restaurant
128 Main St, Frnt, Dobbs Ferry, NY 10522-1684
914-693-9724
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Dobbs Ferry
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hot and cold antipasto is good the rest could be improved. Service is good. Street parking with meters.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We're Fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Go eat here.

Really that is all of a review I should have to write about Sam's. Go eat there. Try the "Green Bean Salad with Gorgonzola cheese." Unbelievably good.

I had the cavatelli and meatballs. The cavatelli were "al dente", the sauce tasted like fresh tomatoes and the meaballs were my favorite type: just enough spices and firm, so much so you eat them (or at least I did) with a knife and fork.

My wife and the linguine and carbonara sauce. I am surprised she didn't lick the plate as she told me it was some of the best she had ever had.

We split the American cheesecake. It was airy and fluffy and had no discernible crust. It was quite tasty but I think I like "N.Y. Style" with a graham cracker crust better.

Cappuccino was superb.

Our ONE complaint might be that the bread was , "eh." For a place THIS good there should have been better bread.

Okay, full disclosure: I grew up in Dobbs Ferry and up until age 17 used to go to Sam's every Wednesday night for spaghetti, meatballs and a soda. Back in those days it cost me $1.50 for all three. That was 40+ years ago. The food costs a little more now but it is still terrific.

The service was attentive without being overly so. We tipped accordingly.

We'll see them again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I have been going here occasionally for years and are never disappointed. The menu is traditional and comprehensive with daily specials. Everything is always delicious. It isn't fancy but is well-maintained and comfortable. The service is usually very attentive but had slipped a bit this past visit. All in all, a good, local neighborhood restaurant worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to Sam's with friends and had a good time. The food is very good and the service is excellent. The atmosphere is very relaxing. I had soft shell crab which was good. Their eggplant parmigiana is excellent!! Our friends all seemed to be pleased with their food as well. We try to visit Sam's any time we are in Dobbs Ferry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

SAMs is known for their pizza. They have some pretty good pasta dishes too. You don't come here for a special date because its not fancy. There are bright lights and no ambiance. You come here instead of some of the other places in town if you want to eat real Italian food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.