We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Resort on Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Flamingo Resort on Lake George to your Saves list
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
3914 Lake Shore Drive, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Diamond Point B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We planned our Lake George trip only a couple of weeks in advance and having never been to the area we relied heavily on the trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. There are 4 basic lodging options in this area - the large chain hotels which are near the highway / not even close to the lake, the luxury resorts on the lake which are VERY expensive, the motels in town - some of which don't even have a view of the lake, or the family type resorts on the lake. The Flamingo is in the last category. This is on the lake, with a few different room options. We stayed in a 2 bedroom efficiency with a living room and a kitchen area. We arrived mid-week and early in the day, but Laura and George were able to accomodate us and get us in our room within 30 mintues. We enjoyed the lake beach in the meantime.
The accomodations were VERY clean, the outside of the place is well maintained. This is not luxury - but since we spent only a couple of hours a day other than sleeping in our room it wa a perfect fit. The price was very competitive.
The lakeside beach is perfect for families of all ages - an "enclosed" swimming area for little kids, and an elevated dock for the older kids to jump off. There's a dock and two "decks" set higher and over the water with chairs, umbrellas and tables. The teens from a few different families all became friends after a day or two and decided the deck was their place to hang out in the eveing. The deck is a great place mid-day to keep an eye on your older kids and late afternoon for snacks or drinks.
The kitchens have everything needed for basic cooking needs, plates, utensils, pots & pans, so we made breakfast almost every day. Outside all of the rooms are tables, chairs, picnic tables, and grills. Many families had dinner onsite & in the evening you can smell the aroma of grilled steaks, burgers, ribs, sausage. As a mom of teens I spend more time in the kitchen than I like anyway - and since this was my vacation too we ate dinner out every night - but it would have been super easy to grill a few burgers for a low-cost alternative.
Following the advice of others on this site we brought inflatable tubes & floats, beach towels and additional bath towels. After one afternoon at the beach we bought some clothesline and tied our tubes together and to the dock so we could completely relax into the lake and not worry about floating away. Taht was one of the best parts of my vacation - the floating every afternoon. As for towels - the towels at the Flamingo are on the small side, but every other day the staff comes in and replaces them. They don't clean & make beds in the efficiency units which was fine - but we could have used a small vaccuum for the grass the beach sand that gets tracked in. I'm sure they would have run the vaccuum one day if we had asked, because everything we asked for they were very quick to provide - no matter how big or small.
George, the owner, is on site all the time. The place is well run and the staff is nearly invisible but always around. Before Labor Day weekend began I noticed one of the staff cleaning all the grills - and there are probably 30+ around the property.
We found that AT&T gets limited cell reception on site (only on the decks over the lake) which was disappointing to my teenage daughter initially - but by the end of our 5 nite stay she commented that it was a good thing beucase she woudn't have met the other teens if she had been texting all the time. Apparently Verizon worked jsut fine becuase my offie blackberry kept getting emails (darn). The Flamingo also has WiFi which worked wonderfully until Labor Day weekend arrived. Not sure if there was too much volume but we didn't miss the internet for two days.
A quick story about the service at the Flamingo - Friday night a group of 20-something guys who had been drinking for a while began to get loud - not aggressive or scary - just dumb and loud. They were staying in the room next to ours and they were outside our hanging out. They woke me up and int he next 10 minutes while trying to decide how to handle it I heard one of the Flamingo staff people come over to them and remind them that this is a family place and people and their kids are trying to sleep and it's the middle of the night - please break it up and call it a night. I didn't even have to make a call - a calm, in-charge, reasonable management person arrived and saved the day (night). The people at the Flamingo anticipate what their guest will need and want. Super.
They also have two pools (delightful - not at all crowded), two ping pong tables, a volleyball court, horseshoe court, and two playgrounds for little kids. The kids of all ages were out every evening and it was really a pleasure to see families all out and doing stuff instead of inside in front of a TV.
Finally, there's a fishing boat (catch & release) that operates from their dock. Jason bought the boat from George (Flamingos' owner) a few years ago and you can tell he takes pride in his business. He's a friendly, helpful, knowledgeable guy. We went out one evening from 4 - 8. While I'm not a fisher myself, my husband and kids had a great time (caught numerous fish) and I really enjoyed the gorgeous sunset on the lake.
As we drove away early Monday morning my husbnad commented that this was probably our best family vacation ever (we've done Disney, Hershey, Williamsburg, Gettysberg, etc.) and the kids (11 and 14) asked if we could come back next year. THAT's a successful vacation.
We do plan on coming back now that we've discovcered Lake George and the Flamingo. Just delightful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
64
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Im not sure who the people are who are giving this resort good reviews because this place is a hole. The people at check in were friendly but that is where it stops. The room smelled like a can of raid had been sprayed in it, and were dark and dingy, There were spiders and bugs crawling on the walls and in the bathroom. Our socks were black just from walking on the carpet. We wiped up the bathroom floor after having a shower and the towel was black. They obviously do not clean very well. The towels were so used that you could virtually see through them they were so thin.The beds were old and uncomfortable. We went to use the "heated" pool, but it was definetely not heated. We went to use the beach and the first thing we noticed was a used condom sitting on the beach front.
The photos on the website are certainly not recent photos.
For the price they charge for a room, one would expect an updated room, or at least clean, but neither at this place.
Do yourself a favour and spend your money somewhere else, because I can guarantee you will be disappointed in the Flamingo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed on the east (lake) side of the resort which is worth the extra cost if you have children. Rt. 9 can get busy and it is a big hill down to the lake no matter which side you're on. Our 3 br unit was clean and well maintained. The kitchen sink was leaking and someone showed up to repair it about 15 minutes after we notified the office. The owners are extremely friendly and responsive to anything you need. The beach seems small, but was never overly crowded. Kids LOVE jumping off the little bridge in the swimming area. The entire property is very clean and well maintained as well as a nice family environment. The fishing charter at their docks was also terrific for both adults and kids (aged 8-13). We had a great week and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Booked flamingo last minute for a 3 day weekend in lake george, motel only had vacancy on west side which is across the street from lake. A little inconvenient having to cross 9N especially if you have kids, road can be busy at times. Motel had swing sets, game room, picnic tables and grills on west side but no ice machine. Long walk w/ very steep hill to get down to lake but they do have parking spots down my lake so that you can drive if you need to but the spots to fill up quickly. we stayed in open studio w/ efficiency kitchen w table and 4 chairs, 2 double beds. Room was clean but fridge did not close properly and water was leaking on kitchen floor from fridge. bathroom was clean but we kept finding caterpillars in bathroom and bath towels were small and thin. Kitchen had basic pots, pans, plates, etc. My kids ages 7 & 10 had a great time jumping off the bridge by the lake and riding there bikes around the property. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Overall we had a nice time and I would stay at flamingo again. Bring rafts, tubes, etc to float around in on lake and be sure to bring a pump to inflate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I were staying in another motel right in Lake George Village and decided to extend our stay. We took a drive and were drawn to the Flamingo Resort. It is a family business and we like that. The grounds and rooms were spotless. The beach was great with two huge decks to enjoy. We took advantage of one of the many grills scattered throughout the property. They have many different types of rooms we had a studio with a kitchenette that came equipped and spotless. We are planning to return next year and would like to bring some family along. The location is awesome just minutes from the village but away from the crowds. We loved it!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I gave an excellent to this resort for the following reasons:
1. The costomer service is great.
2. The location is far from lake george but it's complete and it's worth it: there are two swimming pool the other one is a heated pool, it's on the lake side and the row boat is free which is the best part of it and with two play grounds.
3. The game room is good too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We met with two other couples at Lake George. The Flamingo Resort was a wonderful place to be. We were a few miles away from the traffic area but close enough to enjoy the dinner cruise, Saratoga Races, sunning, and chatting on the porch each morning and evening. Wish we could have stayed longer. We plan to return. Nearby deli (Pot Belly) was great for quick breakfast or lunch. Used the internet w/o any problems. Rooms are very clean and adequate for the summer getaway. Food on cruise was very good. Breakfast at Saratoga Raceway should not be missed even if you are not into horse racing!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Resort on Lake George

Address: 3914 Lake Shore Drive, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine a mountain and shore vacation! Enjoy our private sandy beach, 2 pools, playgrounds, BBQ, and other family activities. Choose from our Standard Rooms or 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Housekeeping Units with Kitchens. Enjoy our clean, comfortable spacious property. Conveniently located in Diamond Point, midway between Lake George Village and Bolton Landing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flamingo Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Flamingo Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Resort on Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.