We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Island Lodge
Save Saved
You added Canoe Island Lodge to your Saves list
144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family stayed here for a week in July 2014. This is a 1st year, so we were in the Red wood cabins. After you stay one year, you are guaranteed the same room and week the following year as long as you inform them by February that you want to rebook.

As other reviews said, breakfast and dinner is built into the price. The breakfast is good; offering eggs, pancakes, French toast and omelets, as well as cereals and oatmeal. Is it the best you ever had, no, but it'll get you through the morning. The "fresh fruit" may be too fresh as most days the melon was hard. My wife ordered the same omelet every day of the stay, and it was wrongly prepared each time, so there is some sort of communication disconnect. As far as the dinners go, they were ok. The fish definitely was frozen, and not fresh. There were lobster legs on the first "buffet" night (Saturday) and that was totally overcooked. I would say the majority of the food was processed. The best food was the bbq night at the island and the flank steak earlier in the week. Overall the food was the biggest disappointment of the stay, as the quality just wasn't there.

The accommodations were nice. The rooms were always clean and the staff did an excellent job with housekeeping. The facilities are dated but always clean. The "boat staff" are outstanding. They are knowledgeable of the area and experienced, and behave very professionally. I would say that Canoe Island management does an excellent job selecting all of their staff. There were absolutely no issues with the entire staff, and they were always willing to go the extra mile to make sure the guests are pleased.

The surroundings are beautiful. The lake is clean and offers great views of the hills/mountains.

I recommend Canoe Island as a family vacation spot. I think it would be a nice option to offer accommodations without the "food option", or maybe a "breakfast only" option. That would accommodate the real picky eaters.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Pack you beach wear and join the fun. This is a traditional summer get away offering a variety of accommodations from hotel rooms to cabins to homes, something for everyone. The pricing includes breakfast and dinner making it one of the few "no hassle" options available. Located midway between LG Village and Bolton Landing the resort has a wonderful waterfront, with complimentary sail boats, pontoon boats and speed boats all with a capable crew so you can get on the lake! CIL, as the name implies, also has a private island retreat with one of the most scenic swimming lagoons around (pontoon shuttle guests between the mainland and island all day). Relax with your friends/family and drink in the LG views! Marvelous

Room Tip: Tips: plan on making your own lunches/bring snacks, while there is a tavern on site it is mostly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a great time at the end-of-summer outing. The food was great and the quantity of it was plentiful. Had fun with family and friends. Very family oriented and seemed quite a good place if you have kids. Not sure how a person traveling solo would fare as it seems set up for couples/families, but I'm sure the owner and staff (who were all accomodating and helpful) would make the person feel welcome. The resort is built on a steep grade and there are stairs involved...so heads up. Overall, I'd go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've never written a review on tripadvisor before but wanted to say what a brilliant week we had at CIL this summer. Everything was truly amazing and beyond our expectations: the food, the accommodation, the beautiful lake, the activities for kids, the activities for adults, the lovely people who work there.

We are trying to work out if we can fit in a trip to the US next year just so we can return!

All the best from the Crane family of Brighton, UK.

Room Tip: Well, our room was directly on the lake with a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service at Canoe Island Resort is very accommodating. I would say the person responsible for hiring the staff performs their job splendidly. All staff was eager to assist and answer questions and they always wanted to ensure that our needs were met. Keep in mind we stayed at the end of the busy season where staff can get "burned out", but that isn't the case here.
The room we stayed in was clean and nice.
My wife and I stayed without the kids because we wanted to get away and also check out a vacation spot for next summer. After our experience, we definitely want to bring the kids the next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place for a family reunion. Lots of fun for the children. They should call themselves Canoe Island Camp!
Yet no work for Mother. The meals are included and are delicious.
The staff is great and the trips to their own island was great. Including sailboat and water skiing trips.
A little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son's wedding was held at Canoe Island Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. The weather was horrible, but through the outstanding effort of the Canoe Island staff, especially Carla and Joe, the wedding was an absolute success. The bride and groom were allowed to make a last minute decision indoors or out, as the staff had set up in both places. The island barbecue the day before had to be held indoors due to the inclement weather. Again their flexibility made it a complete success.

Planning for the wedding was a terrific experience. Carla and Joe had great suggestions and cooperated with all the requests of the bride and groom. The chef was very accommodating with menu items. Guest raved about all the food. The breakfast, which was included with the room was excellent and plentiful as well.

The accommodations were outstanding.

Because the resort was closed except for the wedding the setting was very conducive for the families and guest to get to know each other over the weekend.

The entire staff was welcoming, efficient and ready to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canoe Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Island Lodge

Address: 144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canoe Island Lodge is a full-service resort on the shores of Lake George, NY. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations, sailing and boating on pristine Lake George, two beaches, a private island with boat shuttles, activities for kids and adults, and family style meals. Our warm European atmosphere, comfortable Adirondack style, delicious meals, and personal attention will make you feel at home, yet pampered at the same time. Our staff is here to help make your family vacation a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Island Hotel Diamond Point
Canoe Island Lodge Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.