We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brits have marvellous time at Canoe Island Lodge this summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canoe Island Lodge
Save
You added Canoe Island Lodge to your Saves list
144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brits have marvellous time at Canoe Island Lodge this summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've never written a review on tripadvisor before but wanted to say what a brilliant week we had at CIL this summer. Everything was truly amazing and beyond our expectations: the food, the accommodation, the beautiful lake, the activities for kids, the activities for adults, the lovely people who work there.

We are trying to work out if we can fit in a trip to the US next year just so we can return!

All the best from the Crane family of Brighton, UK.

Room Tip: Well, our room was directly on the lake with a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The service at Canoe Island Resort is very accommodating. I would say the person responsible for hiring the staff performs their job splendidly. All staff was eager to assist and answer questions and they always wanted to ensure that our needs were met. Keep in mind we stayed at the end of the busy season where staff can get "burned out", but that isn't the case here.
The room we stayed in was clean and nice.
My wife and I stayed without the kids because we wanted to get away and also check out a vacation spot for next summer. After our experience, we definitely want to bring the kids the next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place for a family reunion. Lots of fun for the children. They should call themselves Canoe Island Camp!
Yet no work for Mother. The meals are included and are delicious.
The staff is great and the trips to their own island was great. Including sailboat and water skiing trips.
A little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our son's wedding was held at Canoe Island Lodge over Memorial Day weekend. The weather was horrible, but through the outstanding effort of the Canoe Island staff, especially Carla and Joe, the wedding was an absolute success. The bride and groom were allowed to make a last minute decision indoors or out, as the staff had set up in both places. The island barbecue the day before had to be held indoors due to the inclement weather. Again their flexibility made it a complete success.

Planning for the wedding was a terrific experience. Carla and Joe had great suggestions and cooperated with all the requests of the bride and groom. The chef was very accommodating with menu items. Guest raved about all the food. The breakfast, which was included with the room was excellent and plentiful as well.

The accommodations were outstanding.

Because the resort was closed except for the wedding the setting was very conducive for the families and guest to get to know each other over the weekend.

The entire staff was welcoming, efficient and ready to help in any way they could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time and overall best family vacation we ever had. Clean rooms. Friendliest staff AND guests. The island and boating activities are amazing. Food is very good, catered to both the grown-ups and picky kids. LG village is just a few minutes drive, but spent the majority of out time at the resort. I can go on and on, but for all that is included the value is unbelievable. Going back next year and plan on making it an annual family tradition. Thank you CIL!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Canoe Island Lodge is a family resort in Lake George. The staff is friendly and helpful. The lodge was kept clean and it provided a beautiful view of the lake.
The food was served family style and was really delicious. The only draw back we found was that
we were hoping for some entertainment for the adults and children at night.
I would recommend an activities director for all ages to make the experience even better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the redwoods off the road and it was close to the dining room but many steps to the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We live 9 miles from this resort and we vacation here every year. The resort is classy adirondack and very kid friendly. The staff is always extremely friendly and helpful. The owners are hands on and always present to make your stay enjoyable. Food is prepared with love and always plentiful. We especially love the fall Oktoberfest weekends as do our best of friends from Colorado and Brooklyn, NY. Overall, a fantastic family resort with an incredible lakeside atmosphere. The perfect place to relax, unwind, and make life long family memories.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canoe Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canoe Island Lodge

Address: 144, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canoe Island Lodge is a full-service resort on the shores of Lake George, NY. We offer beautifully appointed accommodations, sailing and boating on pristine Lake George, two beaches, a private island with boat shuttles, activities for kids and adults, and family style meals. Our warm European atmosphere, comfortable Adirondack style, delicious meals, and personal attention will make you feel at home, yet pampered at the same time. Our staff is here to help make your family vacation a relaxing and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canoe Island Hotel Diamond Point
Canoe Island Lodge Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.