We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All The best in lake George” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Sands Resort on Lake George to your Saves list
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-0011   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Lee, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All The best in lake George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We will always stay at Golden Sands when we visit Lake George. The views are the best!! The owner (and Staff) are always willing to help and are very friendly. We can stop in the office anytime and share a talk,a laugh and a joke. When staying here we do not feel like we have to be out and going. We take our time in the a.m. on the deck with coffee.Take a morning kayak ride and a swim. Very relaxing. Lake George village is only 3 miles away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    12
    9
    24
See reviews for
114
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This place needs to be condemed by the board of health. It was an usafe environment for our 3 small children. Second floor room that looks like they took a closet and threw two old dirty beds in it! They wanted $170 per night for these accomodations. I have a severe heart condition and thought I could go to the mountains to relax.....there isnt even a fire exit or a window to jump out of. We thank the folks at ALPINE VILLAGE for giving us a warm safe environment for our family....If it was up to BOB the owner(GOLDEN SANDS) we would have been left in the mountains with three small children in the dark and nowhere to go. Please dont waste you time with there misleading website...You can get a room that you can actually sleep in and be much closer to town for much less money. We where truly afraid of bed bugs...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
First, smart Tripadvisor 's would ckeck this reviewer's Alpine Village to see if it's such a panacea. Second, this family's wife has a heart problem and couldn't climb steps, but her husband made the reservation knowing this room to be on the second floor. This was news to us. They, husband and wife, fought from the second they got to the resort. Their children jumped from bed to bed upoon entering the room. When sasked to stop, husband stated: 'They're children!' Well, I don't remember my parents allowing such behavior. The husband brought with him an enormous boat beyond the docks ability to berth. They were argumentative and thretening. Theyu wrote a nasty email, and stated they'd not stop until they casued as much trouble as possible for managament. They boasted they were smarted than staff and owned a big business. They yelled and screamed at each other and the staff. They were asked to leave befor the police would be summoned. This was for the benefit of the other guests. The husband dismantled a very nice on-premises stone wall to gather rocks to place under the tireds of his boat, and left them there for staff members to replace. Husband refused to leave the office unless the police were to be called. Husband stated the waters were too shallow for his enormous boat. he did everthing in his powers to berate and reduce staff members to tears. They were well aware of the fact that this was a second floor unit at the time of booking, even though wife couldn't climb stairs. This is not the fault of management, but rather Husband's fault not looking out for his families best interest and then blaming the establishment. In short, we have 100 good reveiews. We're nearly no vacancy all summer. On occasion it's expected to receive a reveiew like this one. They wanted to stay in the Village 4 miles away...They stated they thought we were in the Village. They were wrong. Who's fault is that? There were nasty in an email and said they were so righ and had a big company we should all work for them. They should be ashamed of themselves, do better research, and maybe stay in the Village where they intended. Golden Sands is a family place. This family caused trouble from their arrival in the office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

we stayed at the Golden Snads a few times. It is wonderful! the peacefulness is hard to describe, You see the lake, and surrounding mountians and its just breathtaking. Bob, the owner, is attentive and assures that you have what you need. Rooms are clean, furnsihed with refrigerator and microwaves, and a grill outside. Very nice beah, with kayiaking available. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Pro: Sandy beach on lake
Con: Not pet friendly,nowhere to walk or play; not human friendly (no electric outlets;no clothing hooks; 3 plastic chairs; tiny fridge and microwave; unlaundered bedspread and blankets; Lilliputian bathroom; nonexistent sound insulation; grounds poorly maintained

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this review, August 1, 2010
It's unfortunate that we would receive any poor review, and value out patrons, their comfort and opinion. However, this review merits response. Its title alone indicates the subjective nature of the reviewer. The reservation was 'last-minute,' they stated they were 'late people' and the individual indicated they were very picky and stayed at 'only' 5 star high class accommodations, but would give us a try. They travelled with a nuisance barking dog, other customers complaind, and insisted they be allowed to take their dog to our private beach, which is prohibited as there are children and customers who don't care for dogs. That's out policy, but we are 'pet friendly.' On a better note, Last week, a satisfied customer who would be away all day asked us to walk their dog "Mugsie" for them. We did. Mugsie was a very easy going dog. It's simply note believable that we don't have electrical outlets and have liliputian amenities, etc. Please visit our website for true and accuracy, and then give us a call. At the very least, this reviewer was kind enough to at least compliment our lakefrontage. As we all know, it's just not possible to make evrybody happy. We sincerely try. A check of the other nearly 100 reviews indicates the opposite of this review, and we ask that you form your own opinion of Golden Sands Resort. Thank you for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Bob and his crew at the Golden Sands more than accomodated my wife and I and nearly our entire family for the occasion of our wedding. Every day we were there, the staff worked tirelessly to keep the area and our rooms perfect and stopped at nothing to ensure our happiness. We could not have asked for more. When our Grandparents arrived, Bob stayed open a little bit longer to ensure they got in their rooms and even called the restaraunt we were at to let them know to wait for them to get there! The beach made for a perfect spot for the family to gather and enjoy the night before the wedding. The next day, my brothers and I were able to take the kayaks out to enjoy the lake and spend some time together away from everyone before the wedding event, which really calmed my nerves. All in all, they really made the weekend perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

stayed at Golden Sands for the weekend Friday through Sunday. Perfect location (right on the lake), reasonably priced, had a BBQ grill outside of our unit. My only complain would be that rooms need more vacuum cleaning behind the beds - I saw a lot of spider webs and dead bugs there. Also, if you are a heavy set person you might find it difficult to use a shower because it is really tiny. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and definetetely will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

First trip to Lake George. We went with 3 other families with children. Initially we were thinking of taking cottages and Bob said i should try staying on the lake front and see whether we like it. So, we took Rooms with Golden Sands. Bob and his staff were very friendly. We did swim in the beach, did barbecue kayak and swim for long time. Kids had lots and lots of fun and Adults learned to Kayak (:-)) too.

I would definitely recommend for others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Address: Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-0011
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.