We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay - We'll be back!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Sands Resort on Lake George to your Saves list
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3654 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Diamond Point
NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time stay - We'll be back!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed her in June 2012 with my mom and 5 year old son. It is a great place for kids! My son was never bored with 2 play areas and the beach. The view was great! We had a room with 2 bedrooms which was great with a little one along. Very clean rooms and great little fridge area. We really liked the deck area with our own table and grills located close by.

Will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: We chose the 2nd bedroom instead of the lake view room... Worth it! And the views were a 1 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    50
    12
    9
    24
See reviews for
114
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have been staying at Golden Sands for about 15 years now. Among the "mom and pop" type adirondack resorts in the area, this is up there. The views are awesome and the family just loves hanging out in the lake. Of course, there are kayaks and you can head out or just sit on your deck/porch and enjoy the place. Bob and I always have several good conversations. What starts out as a hi, how are you lends to 15-20 minutes of what could be any topic. For any bad reviews you see here, don't rely on them. Maybe you were expecting some other type of resort, yes there are always more expensive places, but why write such a negative review? If you go, I suggest getting one of the rooms down near the beach area. For things to do in the area, just ask for a suggestion and Bob will help you out. There are plenty of restaurants, gift shops, mini golf courses and other attractions. Great Escape is down the road. The mall is nearby if it rains and you want to see a movie. There is plenty of history in this area, do a little research and check the places out. Don't forget the fireworks downtown every Thursday, go early for a place to park. You're on vacation, enjoy yourselves!

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms closest to the beach, you don't have to worry about dragging your "stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over 4th of July weekend. Golden Sands in my opinion has one of the best beaches and views on the lake. The rooms are rustic and are exactly as they appear on the website. Our air conditioner never really seemed to cool the room down, was slightly warm for sleeping. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. I will say the shower is extremely small, please keep that in mind is you are a larger person or have any handicaps. The kayaks are free and there are plenty of them. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly. My biggest disappointment was the fishing. There is no fishing from the docks at the Golden Sands, not deep enough and to close to swimmers. We did try fish of the kayaks but no luck. We ended up having to rent a boat, but really was expecting to be able to fish from the resort as stated on the website. That is the main reason I chose the Golden Sands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed here two times with two separate group of friends; we were thrilled with the hospitality each time! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; in fact, they gave us an extra room one night even if we did not book it. The room connected two separate bedrooms. Instead of squeezing on four beds, we were able to enjoy the spacious two bedrooms because of their generosity.

The kayaks are the key to this resort; you can rent them for free as long as you go early in the morning to reserve them. The view is beautiful, and kayaking on Lake George is to die for! There is also a fire pit at the resort, and we enjoyed making a fire while looking out to the lake at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend at a great price, this is the place to be! I would come back again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. We were the only guests staying so had the whole place to ourselves. Bob made us feel really welcome and is a mine of handy hints & tips round the area. The Lake was beautiful and being able to use the kayaks as much as you wanted was heaven. The rooms and resort were very clean and super peaceful. Beds could be a little more comfy but otherwise everything bar the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Golden sands is the perfect place for a family vacation. It's right on the lake and close enough to the attractions of lake George. This year, we went to the drive in movie, horseback riding, the fun zone, and fishing. My family loves to use the kayaks and relax on the beach. The rooms are clean and equipped with everything you need for a relaxing week. My kids love the fire pit on the beach since that guarantees them a week of s'mores. There is also a nicely sized grassy area where the kids were able to play soccer, lacrosse, and baseball. Bob is a great guy and goes out of his way to make sure his guests are having a great time!! We hate to leave every year!!!! It's such a relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodhaven, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just stayed there this past weekend and we had a great time. The staff is friendly and the resort is well kept. It's one of the more affordable rentals and it is directly on the lake. It has a nice little beach area that we really enjoyed. As an extra touch they have kayaks. The fishing was good too. We had a great time. But no free coffee as advertised.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Address: 3654 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.