We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas On Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas On Lake George to your Saves list
The Villas On Lake George
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3908 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824 (Formerly Thunderbird Resort & Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Diamond Point B&B and Inns
La Mirada, California
1 review
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

You will love this place for your family get away. The hotel is on a small bay with a private beach perfect for the little ones because the waves are so mild. You might find another place on the water, but most places don't have the beach feature. We traveled with my Mom and it worked out perfectly because she had her own room downstairs (perfect since she can't climb the stairs) where she could see the kids coming and going. The hotel also has boats and jet ski rentals on site which is very convenient. Who wants to have to load up everyone again to go find a boat? I loved that the rooms have kitchenettes, BBQs and picnic tables so you don't have to worry about eating out after a day on the water. There's a small store close by or you can drive into town and stock up on groceries. This would be a great place for a special party or a wedding. There's a large grass area looking out onto the lake where you could set up a white tent with tables and a dance floor. They also have a large old white house from the early 1900s with a porch and columns and flowers pouring out of the flower pots. It looks pretty awesome and it will sleep a lot of people. This is a nice relaxing place for all kinds of occassions. We have enjoyed it four different summers and each time it has been wonderful experience. We were all very comfortable.

Room Tip: We loved our room that had a bedroom/living area (combo), bathroom and kitchenette downstairs and tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    1
    6
    25
See reviews for
32
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Thunderbird Resort was Spectacular!!!!! There location on the lake was amazing. So peaceful. Rooms were clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Brand New Boats that are Amazing. Owners are so polite and helpful. What a Great place. Will definitely be back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our stay at the Thunderbird was wonderful. Rooms are very clean & better than what we expected. . Staff was very friendly & the service was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Four generations of my family enjoy Lake George. We stayed at the Thunderbird Resort and found it to be a great experience. The house we rented had an enormous deck overlooking the Lake and it could not have been more beautiful! The rooms were clean, large and very comfortable.

We found the staff to be very responsive if we needed anything. Our stay at the Thunderbird Resort turned our summer vacation into a wonderful memory of time spent at Lake George.

Thank you to the Owners and staff of the Thunderbird Hotel!

Room Tip: The family townhouses are reasonably priced and provide a beautiful view of the Lake. The kitchen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Thunderbird Resort and found the the owner and staff to be very friendly and the accommodations to be clean, spacious and very comfortable.  The Resort also has a lovely beach that was perfect for our children to wade in and play in the sand.  Our entire family enjoyed our stay at the Thunderbird Resort.  We always recommend staying at the Thunderbird Resort to anyone we know who is going to Lake George.
 
They were in the midst of updating some of the units and the main house. I am looking forward to seeing the inprovements when we return next summer! 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have spent over 30 summers at Lake George and have known Lenny Chiriboga for over 30 years. We and our children have enjoyed his facilities and beach and now we have grandchildren who are enjoying them as well. We have always found Lenny and his staff to be very conscientious about the safety of their guests and concerned and careful about the health of the Lake.

For many years we have witnessed Lenny and his staff giving VERY thorough safety and boating instructions to guests renting boats or jet skis from him. He is very clear about the speed limit, watching for swimmers in the cove and on the Lake, avoiding shallow areas etc... He and his staff have been excellent ambassadors of Lake George to the tourists with whom they have contact.

We have always found Lenny and his staff to be professional and very careful to adhere to the regulations that affect his business. He and his family have worked very hard to provide a wonderful place for tourists to come and make memories of time spent on the Lake. He responds very quickly if an issue arises and works hard to comply with requests made of him.

Lenny, his family and the Thunderbird Hotel are a landmark at the Lake and we look forward to spending more summers there for many, many years to come.

We have vacationed at the Thunderbird Resort and found the accommodations to be spacious, clean and very comfortable with spectacular views of the Lake. It is a wonderful facility!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I went with several families for a 7 day stay and the house was under construction when we arrived. There was absolutely no way that it would be ready for people to stay in the day that we were supposed to check in. The owner did not call to tell us about the situation and did not provide possible solutions to the problem. He was rude, unapologetic, and arrogant. He did not care at all that he had ruined vacations for many people. Save yourselves the headaches and do not stay at this "resort" under any circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Villas On Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas On Lake George

Address: 3908 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824 (Formerly Thunderbird Resort & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villas On Lake George 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront family friendly Resort, onsite marina, onsite spa services, onsite cafe. Groups, reunions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Villas On Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Resort & Marina Hotel Diamond Point
Thunderbird Resort And Marina
The Villas On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas On Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.