We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel for a short stay but NOT handicap freindly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3400 Erie Blvd E, DeWitt, NY 13214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in DeWitt
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel for a short stay but NOT handicap freindly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel last night with my 2 elderly parents and my young nephew. The hotel was clean and staff was freindly. We were able to check in very late with no problems. I had asked for a handicap room to accomodate my father who uses a wheelchair. The handicap room was easy to get in but once in the room it was very small and difficult to maneuver. The bathroom was definitley not meant for use with a wheel chair or even a walker. We only stayed the one night but if I had known that handicap room only meant that it was on the ground floor I would have gone elsewhere. My biggest issue is with the size of the room and selling it as handicapped. It is only an Econo Lodge and I realize this is not a mid or high end hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irelandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I were at the Syracuse Nationals this year and we stayed here many because they took dogs. I had read the reviews prior to booking and liked what I saw. Much to our pleasure the place was more then we hoped for. The service was good and the room was immaculate.. I would absolutely stay there again and mist likely it will be next year for the show again. Thank you very much to Ambu, who took care of our every need. T

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogscatbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

First of all, I never book any hotel or motel without checking Tripadvisor.com first! This little motel was simply wonderful for the price! A nice location and very clean rooms. And very quiet also. I stayed here with my 5 year old son and was very happy with the accommodations. From check in to check out there were no problems. The owner and front desk clerk checked me in with no problems. Very friendly and helpful. The room was plain and simple and very clean. Spotless bathroom. There was an iron and ironing board in the room as well. The motel is located in the same parking lot as a KFC, and a Denny's is right next door to the KFC. A large mall is nearby. There is a Barnes and Noble within walking distance as well. A great place to stay for the price that they charge.

  • Liked — The Location And Clean Rooms
  • Disliked — I Could Not Find Anything That I Did Not Like About This Property
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Stayed one weekend night. Although certainly not fancy, the accommodations were adequate for a short stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Vanilla or unscented deoderizer would have been better than what was there, but the scent wasn't overwhelming.

If stairs are a problem I do recommend that you ask for a room flush with the parking lot. The motel is built into a hill - I had to climb up two steep steps to get to the door and another steep step to get into my room.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Let me say first that I wasn't super impressed upon driving up to the place, it has the look of a roadside motel. However, when we saw the room my fears were allayed. And honestly, it was nice to have the car just outside the room - certainly made packing/unpacking easier and more convenient.

The hotel is just off busy Erie Blvd between a neighborhood and a strip mall/fast food restaurant. Given that however, our room was quiet and road noise was far enough away to not be noticeable. Even though we sometimes came in quite late, it felt safe and secure.

Our room was clean, nicely appointed and even smelled good (clean and fresh). The ac worked great too - yep, one even needs ac in Syracuse occasionally! A hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and free local phone calls were nice little "extras". We stayed four days visiting family and were quite pleased with our stay.

The hotel staff were pleasant and always gave us extra towels when we asked. They offered a complementary breakfast but we always ended up elsewhere and never took advantage of it.

The location (close to Fayetteville, Manlius and Pompey) in Dewitt was extremely convenient for us. It's great for shopping too - Wegmans is right around the corner for good, fresh foodstuff and Shoppingtown Mall is next door. The LL Bean Outlet is also just down the road. While there were less expensive hotels at Carrier Circle, I think we saved on gas (and driving time) by being close to where we wanted to be.

If I had a complaint, maybe it would be that the towels were really cheap feeling and there never seemed to be enough. That's it.

Good location, good price (no surprises), and a good, clean room. We'll definitely go back when we're visiting the area again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RstyLdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
188 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

The old adage that you get what you pay for seems about right for this establishment. I should have guessed when I was asked if I would like to pay for my stay "in cash". Anyway, this is an old style motel - drive to the door of your room. The room had an OVERWHELMING smell of deodorizer that lingered despite keeping the window open. Heat and AC come from the same unit - in this case, the heat was dry and hard to control. Basic bathroom - very small. Toilet configuration does not allow seat to stay up on its' own. Did not see an exercise room. One last thing, a coffee maker, pitcher of O.J., several slices of bread w/ a toaster, and two individual packages of an "always fresh" baked good next to a single small table DOES NOT qualify as a continental breakfast. Forget about it. It would be more honest to simply not include this as an amenity, and utilize your resources to fix the toilet seat issue.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — You get what you pay for
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these DeWitt hotels

edina minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

in order to flush the toilet, you have to stand up, turn around, face the toilet, reach under the vanity to access the flush handle. i could just barely-barely-stand this place. just not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kinglyEdinaMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeWitt
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dewitt (Syracuse)
3.3 mi away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#3 of 32 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel
Crowne Plaza Hotel
#16 of 32 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#3 of 17 in East Syracuse
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#4 of 32 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3400 Erie Blvd E, DeWitt, NY 13214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > DeWitt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in DeWitt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dewitt
Dewitt Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing