We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience: Bill W” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scott's Family Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deposit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scott's Family Resort
Save
You added Scott's Family Resort to your Saves list
Scott's Oquaga Lake House, Deposit, NY 13754   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deposit
Clinton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience: Bill W”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were recently there for a family reunion. When all there we were 28 in number. We also had 8 children ranging in age from 3 to 12 years old. Everyone had a great time. Every day was full of activities, with the option of participating or just relaxing with a book by the lake. The activities ranged from water tubing, water skiing, golf, bocce, volley ball, dancing, etc. There was also a children's program every day which kept the children busy and having fun. They also offer a large game room with 4 bowling alleys, a shuffle board, billiards and a staffed icecream fountain for a rainy day. All meals were included in their dining room, which provided a nice time for us all to get together. In the dining room, at the front desk and throughout the day at all parts of the facility the staff was aleays freindly and helpful. It offered a great way for our family to get together and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    2
    8
    15
See reviews for
41
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

They tell you right off that if you are looking for luxury, go to a Hilton. This place is about charm and old family ways - think of the Camp grounds of the movie Dirty Dancing. Quaint, quiet rooms with a comfortable bed and not much else, days packed with activities mainly run by the Scott family itself - including a musical revue (which was CHARMING and fun - 3 generations working together). You can golf on one of their 2 golf courses, or play sports on their fields, take dance lessons, water ski, swim or fish in the very clean Oquaga lake, go on nature hikes, or canoe tours, or just even take out a boat yourself and row around the lake. There are packages which include all your meals (they are yummy and filling - I only had dinner, but it was good) and all activities. The place is very flexible as well, we came in with the dire need for a bed and nothing else, and they came up with a pricing package to suit us very well. I loved sitting by the lake and reading on one of their comfortable lounges, really enjoyed the band and the shows, and loved standing on the dark dock at night looking up at the stars...I even saw some shooting stars. This was the most relaxing time I have had in a long time. Please go enjoy the charm of Scott's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I wish I had read the reviews of real people like me who have had to stay here.... I would never come back here even if it were free- which btw it is expensive for what you get- cold tasteless food old moldy rooms w/ uncomfortable beds furnished w/ chairs from the 1960s... The funniest part is the " entertainment" which consists of the owners (pushing 90) singing songs from the turn of the LAST century...the ONLY saving grace is the lake which is clean & pretty. Please stay far away!

Room Tip: A room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deposit hotels

New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Boy, a little reinvestment and this place would shine. It's a real family-owned business that is stuck in time and it was so fun. My teenagers were charmed and delighted. We played ping pong (I like ping pong!), had ice cream, there was shuffle board and old fashion bowling! And what was so charming were the couples learning to dance and showing off their talents. How sweet! The owner's took us on a boat ride around the lake and we could have tubed. It was just a real relaxing nice place to stay for a few days. My family is from the area and maybe it's the Redneck in me that was so enamored. If you're fussy and particular, this isn't for you. If you like to experience the out of the ordinary and a bit of history, this is your weekend getaway spot!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you want a Marriott, this isn't for you. If you want relaxation, family fun, great food, feeling welcome -- this is the place! My family has been visiting Scotts for 46 years; it's a place where you're put back in time, a relaxing, beautiful and peaceful place. The scenery is beautiful, the lake is incredible, and the Scott family are the best! Lake swimming, canoeing, dancing, showboat rides, biking, walking, golf, eating, shuffleboard, tennis, bowling, ping pong -- and more -- it's the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Patty and the gang made sure my daughters wedding weekend was a weekend to remember. The Scott family attended to every detail, from amusements, boat rides, musical shows, wonderfully delicious meals to the moonlight glow on the lake viewed from our cottages. Is the furniture outdated? Sure. But where Scotts may lack in modern furnishings they make up for in charming, relaxing family fun that will bring You and yours closure in just a weekend, while taking away with you memories to last a lifetime. It's like stepping back in time to a place that will cleanse the soul.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This resort is exactly what it is stated as being - a FAMILY RESORT!! All of the workers and employees are family and they treat everyone like a part of the family. So many activities to do and all of them free of charge!! Awesome food and desserts to die for!! Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate!! The entertainment is awesome - they really make you feel at home. They really care about the guests and go out of the way to treat you like one of the family. Many opportunities to learn how to dance and have fun in a very casual and warm atmosphere. I have been to several Bed and Breakfasts in the Southern Tier and this is by far the best we have attended!! We are hoping that the resort continues to operate in these days of economic turmoil!!!

Room Tip: Had a great room - very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scott's Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scott's Family Resort

Address: Scott's Oquaga Lake House, Deposit, NY 13754
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Deposit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deposit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Scott`s Oquaga Lake House Hotel Deposit
Scotts Oquaga Lake Hotel
Scotts Oquaga Lake Deposit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scott's Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.