We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One person can make a difference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfields Cafe

Butterfields Cafe
16 Division Street, Deposit, NY 13754
+1 607-467-3111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Deposit
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Butterfields Cafe features the Best coffee in area. Baked goods are made on premises and our bagels come from NYC. Real home cooking in a relaxed, comfortable setting with seasonal alfresco dining. Daily specials and the cleanest restroom this side of the Hudson. Join us for Breakfast & Lunch daily. Butterfields is available for private parties and catering. Ask about our vacation rental apartment located one block from some of the best Trout fishing in the northeast!
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One person can make a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food was fantastic. I loved the decor and outdoor patio. However, what i enjoyed the most was the generosity of spirit. This place just felt good. The waiter seemed to really care about the people he served. He brought a little joy with the food. There was a sense of community. Someone had a vision when they redid the property and they wanted to create something. The chef and waiter keep the dream alive welcoming all. Some people from the community came in and it was one of their birthday's. They did not have enough money but that was okay the waiter just cared for them. Thanks for the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vero beach, fl
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Done with you dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is the one I've been searching for Road and gourmet and beyond reasonable Bubala and I dined al fresco I had a garden fresh salad. I mean the greens were right out of the garden. And Bubala had water in a bowl they provided and a bit of real NYC bagel.
George obviously cools each dish as ordered. So be patient. It's worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in an unlikely location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

You won't go wrong making your way off I86/Route 17 to try Butterfields. They are easy to find. The food is wonderful - I've never had anything I didn't thoroughly enjoy. The Chef's creations are delicious.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“french toast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

if you want the worlds best french toast try butterfields cafe in deposit ,ny
the Décor was amazing.it's deffinitly an up scale cafe.
all desserts where home made. guess it is true when they say little town cafes are
like eating a home cooked meal. the staff was friendly and Professional and greated
me with a good old country smile. even the chef and owner greated me. thats what
they must mean by country hospitality. with a little city Curtsey of supplying WI_ FI
keep up the great country adventure you supply to travelers. deffinitly will be back . claude

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deposit, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been fans of Butterfields since it first opened in Deposit. When you want a delicious breakfast, you cannot go wrong here. The french toast is out of this world, and their home fries are the BEST. The coffee is also excellent. Butterfields serves excellent food, and has a charming cafe atmosphere. We love having them here in Deposit, and eat there often for breakfast and lunch. Please visit Butterfields Cafe when you are in the Deposit area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfields Cafe also viewed

Deposit, Catskill Region
Deposit, Catskill Region
 
Deposit, Catskill Region
Deposit, Catskill Region
 

Been to Butterfields Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfields Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.