We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Broom House to your Saves list
Broom House
Broom House Lane, Egton Bridge, North York Moors National Park YO21 1XD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Egton Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

excellent B&B.Beautiful house & gardens.Friendly owners servred us coffee in the garden when we arrived.High quality furnishings in rooms,very clean and luxurious.The only thing we did not like was that our bag was unpacked for us & everything put away,very tidy but a little intrusive.Excellent quality breakfasts.

10-15 minute walk to local pubs, last bit of walk very dark, take a torch. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — quality of rooms
  • Disliked — 10 minute walk to village
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
137
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

We stayed here for a long weekend in August. It was great. We had a twin room at the top of the hotel which was beautifully furnished and had all the extras you could need.

Breakfast was fantastic and definetely the best I have ever had in a British B&B.

Two pubs in the village, the one closest to the station did great food. Went out in Whitby on Sat eve and taxi home was £11 so not too bad.

Only problem was no shower curtain and shower in eaves so 6ft tall friend found it hard to stand up - apart from that great and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Just had one night at Broom House. When it comes to hotels / guest houses/ restauraunts etc I am fairly fussy, but everything about Broom House was excellent. House is superb, bedrooms, guest lounge and dining room all well decorated and absolutely spotless. Breakfast good quality and owners very friendly. It's within walking distance of 3 pubs and only a few miles from the coast. As I said before I am fairly fussy and I have no hesitation in recommending Broom House to others

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cramlington northumberland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

This accomodation is located in beautiful surroundings. The room was clean and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. I cannot find fault and would certainly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

My partner and I have just returned from a weekend stay at Broom House, and we really could'nt fault it at all.

The house was beautiful with 6 ensuite rooms. We stayed in the attic room and we really loved it. It had a real home from home feel about it, great views, brilliant light from the skylight and a fantastic little bathroom with a proper bath! What a luxury after a big long walk.

The hosts David and Maria were very friendly and helpful, and made us both feel at home.

Maria is a chef and you can tell when you see and taste the breakfast! Super tasty, great presentation, with the best sausages Ive ever had!

The house is in a village called Egton bridge about 5 miles from Whitby, and its a great base for exploring the gorgeous Yorkshire moors.

I'd recommend Broom House to anybody who's looking for a real good quality B&B, with just a touch of something a little bit special.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broom House

Address: Broom House Lane, Egton Bridge, North York Moors National Park YO21 1XD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Egton Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Egton Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broom House Hotel Whitby
Broom Hotel Whitby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.