We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Renaie to your Saves list
Hotel Le Renaie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Pancole 10B, 53073 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Gouda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice hotel, good restaurant.
Beautiful area, nice view from the balcony.
Lovely people, good service.
Nice and quiet area.
Very beautiful view on the hills.
Clean room, good bed, clean bathroom.
I would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: You need a car. Nothing to do in and near the hotel except a swimming pool. Room 25 has a bigger ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest,
I thank you for having stayed with us and for the review.
It is incredible how you could say a lot about everything, with just few appropriate words and simple sentences. We will be happy to welcome you again and meet your friends, that would like to come and visit us.
Best regards from Mr. Leonetto and all the staff at Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
97
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely rural location with great views across the Tuscan countryside. Near to the magical, medieval city of San Gimignano ( which has great charm and some fab restaurants), but a car is essential to get around.

Loses 2 stars because 1) the restaurant is poor value and nothing special in the evening and breakfast is basic with repeated requests necessary to top up the eggs and bacon and 2) the air con just isn't powerful enough to cope with the Tuscan heat wave!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear guest,
we thank you for having stayed with us and for the review.
The description of the area around and the location is perfect.
About your dissatisfaction, we can simply give some additional information for the next visitors to Hotel Le Renaie and for the web readers.
- at breakfast we serve: croissants, home made cakes, 4 different kinds of bread, biscuits and similar, cereals, yogurt, butter, marmalades, cream of chocolates, honey, fresh fruit & fresh fruit salad, cold cuts & cheese, bacon & scrambled eggs. The last two are often refilled because are fresh made. Guests have juices machine and a coffee machine on a self service use. If they prefer they can ask Filippo, he is always happy to prepare cappuccino and espresso coffee from our bar machine. We provide special gluten free packages for the celiac guests.
- Air conditioning is working perfectly when windows are closed. There is an electrical connection, when windows are open it stops. Often, that’s the reason why it not good working. A thermostat up on the wall allows guests to regulate AC personally, in each room.
Best regards from Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived back in the UK (Cornwall) last night after a 7 nights stay at Hotel Le Renaie! I just had to leave a review to say how wonderful this hotel was. The hotel is set in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, a short drive from San Gimignano! The hotel was very clean, the gardens were lovely with some beautiful flowers. We had a room with a balcony which was large, we had two sun loungers that we could lie out on. The swimming pool was lovely and was kept very well, nice for a morning or evening swim. The restaurant at the hotel was great and the food was exceptionally good. The morning breakfast was also good and sets you up well for a day of exploring!

The best thing about the hotel was the friendly staff. From the moment we arrived the staff were kind, caring and so helpful. We were met by the lovely Elisa who helped us throughout our stay with local information and train times. Walter was equally helpful if we had any questions and special thank to Paola who helped us when we were given a parking ticket in the free local supermarket for not stating on our parking dial in the car what time we arrived as the car park was free for 2 hours only! Staying at this hotel definately contributed to us having an amazing holiday. I didn't want to leave yesterday. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel, I hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the extra for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many many thanks to you dear Vicki, for the gentle review, for the nice words you decided to use and describe the hotel and the service we have at guests disposal. Many thanks again from Walter, Elisa and me for mentioning our work. It is a pleasure to give the needed assistance to the guests. For the property is a pleasure to introduce the guests, the good flavours of the genuine Tuscan food. All of us at Le Renaie Hotel, we look forward to meeting you again in the future, ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oadby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were warmly greeted by Elisa at Hotel Le Renaie who was very helpful throughout our whole stay, as were the other staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff very helpful with advice of the area and also providing us with weather forecasts for the area. We had a room with balcony view which was lovely especially in the evening where you could overlook the villages and the fantastic scenery. Meals in the Hotel were great. Would definitely stay again and the trip was made even more memorable as my partner proposed to me on our last evening at La Griglia in San Gimignano and, yes, I accepted! Thank you Hotel Le Renaie for a lovely, warm and welcoming stay.

Room Tip: Room with balcony view is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear guests,
many thanks from all of us at Le Renaie Hotel, especially from Elisa that was very happy to welcome you upon arrival and Sandra the chef, that gives the best of her in making the food, the most genuine experience. We always try to give the needed assistance to the guests, it is a pleasure when we have the confirmation from the peoples we are doing well. Many thanks again for the warm friendly support. We wish to meet you again, ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just lovely! Although the menu didn't change that much between 2012 & 2013 it was truly fantastic!!! The lamb and pork chops, grilled veg, T-bone steak and the wild boar ragout were heavenly! The staff are great and so friendly. Very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel. Fantastic location too. Beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice post and fantastic feedback. The menu is not changed too much during the years. Yes it is correct, we prefer to maintain our traditional recipes and be able to offer a good taste of a genuine Tuscan food. It’s very kind of you to recommend our hotel and we will be very happy to see you again. A huge hello from Le Renaie Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

After being in bustling cities for the past week, it was a breath of fresh air (literally) to stay in a quiet, rural hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens, flowers, & landscaping. This hotel was very charming - our room/bath were very clean, spacious, & decorated in colors that had a way of soothing your soul. The staff was very friendly & spoke good English. This hotel had a very good restaurant that left us with full & satisfied tummies - amazing food! Breakfast on their terrace was tranquil - surrounded by the quiet of the countryside & the flowers. Good variety of food & good tasting food! The location was nice, be sure to follow the directions on the hotel's website to ensure you don't get lost. We were minutes away from San Gimignano & about 1 hour 30 minutes away from Pisa - so an ideal location to explore Tuscany & the coastal areas. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,
we are really delighted by your post and happy because you appreciated the hotel atmosphere.
We always try to do the best and satisfy the needs of the guests during their journey: comfort of the rooms, quality of the restaurant, let the guest get in touch with a taste of Tuscany proposing our location. And of course, we are very proud when we realize.
Good to advise the next visitors to follow the road direction on our web site, it’s really the best way to find us! A cached location for a tranquil, quite stay. Hope to meet you again, Ciaoooo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hospitality and help, super clean rooms/facilities -- and a great restaurant to boot. I can not say enough about the friendliness and support of the Le Renaie staff on our first visit to Italy. Walter, Baddia, and others outdid themselves on our behalf. What a relaxing and enjoyable time. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guests,
we thank you so much for your post. We are very happy to know we did well, it is always a pleasure to assist our guests, when need information about the area and be able to discover the nicest plays, the best wines and the more tasting traditional food.
A huge ciao from Walter, Badia, Filippo, Elisa and me, at Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53073 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Renaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.