We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Darien Lake Amusement Park

Darien Lake Amusement Park
9993 Alleghany Road, Darien Center, NY 14036
585-599-4641
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For generations, Darien Lake has been a destination for families to create memories that will last long after vacation is over. With 45 attractions, a 10- acre water park and a variety of live shows and entertainment options- all just steps away from an onsite lodge, modern lakeside cabins, all new luxury guest houses and an extensive campground with glampsites and traditional campsites, guests will rediscover time together when they visit Darien Lake. Darien Lake has added millions in new attractions, entertainment, park and accommodations upgrades over the past two years to give guests limitless fun and unbeatable value.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice....but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a clean park, good rides. Concessions are expensive. Staff is not great. They are slow (depending on where you go) and not very friendly. Ticket prices are expensive too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    127
    67
    41
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gret time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Darien lake is a great park good customer service clean park fair prices many things to do with your children close to our home town good vacation for great price hotel had issue with due to being accused of a smell coming from our room when we were barley in our room had to sign a warning paper which made us embarrassed in front of our children an in general which we ended up leaving a day early to stay in another hotel the second day even though we were paid for two days

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Some Good and Some Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We (two parents, two 8 year-olds) just got back from 3 days at Darien Lake, spending two nights at the lodge. Overall, we had a nice time, and while there were some nice surprises, there were also some definite misses.

The Good:

1) The rides: The quality and diversity of thrill rides and water rides were as good, and sometimes better, than a Six Flags or Disney theme park. It was also nice that a lot of them have only a 48" height minimum, giving my kids a chance they normally wouldn't get.

2) The lack of crowds: We were there for the middle of the week and there was little to no line-ups for any rides or food stands - day or night. This allows for more riding, less waiting and happier kids!

3) Ignite the Night: The nightly fireworks / laser / water show is actually really well produced and was a highlight of the trip - if you go, don't miss it!

4) The lodge. We opted out of camping, but the lodge was clean and quiet with a great staff.


The Bad:

1) The food: Aside from Subway, the food was uniformly terrible and over-priced. Even the breakfast buffet (which you'd think would be tough to screw up) was lousy. I had one $8 Italian sausage which was OK, but I'd recommend bringing your own food if you can.

2) Ride availability: It was unbelievable how many rides were simultaneously closed for repairs or who-knows-what. Ride of Steel was closed half the time we were there and the big ferris wheel never opened at all. Other rides opened and closed throughout the day far more often than at other theme parks.

3) The lack of crowds: I know this was one of my good points, but an empty amusement park also brings less energy and comes off as a little depressing. There's nothing going on aside from the rides; no performers mingling with the crowds, no day-time shows, etc. You start to wonder if the economy's hurting the park.


So basically, I'd recommend a visit if you're in the area. There are some nice features to Darien Lake, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great time to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the park was clean and not a lot of people there the week after the 4th of july weekend. All the rides were working.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time. We have a six year old and he really loved it. We stayed at the lodge and I would highly recommend it. A five minute walk to the park makes it very convenient. The lodge was nice enough, clean and large rooms. I read reviews on trip advisor about expensive food and a dirty park. We did not find any of that food was reasonable $8-$10 for a burger and fries or chicken fingers and fries, The staff was very good friendly and helpful. The park even had a batting cage. One of the best things was that the park was not crowded and you did not have to wait long to get on rides. I was a little worried about the negative reviews but we found none of that to be true. A great family vacation and we plan to go again. We chose not to pay extra for a pool room view and were happy with our choice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darien Lake Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Darien Lake Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darien Lake Amusement Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.