We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Extraordinarily Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Restaurant

Sunrise Restaurant
186 Main St, Dansville, NY 14437-1316
585-335-5169
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Dansville
Restaurant details
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Just Extraordinarily Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stopped in for lunch on a warm Friday in June while passing through town. The interior is clean and basic, but appears as though it has not been updated recently. We were told to sit anywhere we wanted as it wasn't very busy at the time. After we sat down, we were asked to relocate for some reason. This got me slightly frustrated. Anyhow, about the food, Our food was good, but average. It stopped our hunger pains during our long drive. We had a bbq smokehouse burger which was good, but appeared as though it was assembled and plated by a blind cook. We also had a taco wrap, which was also quite tasty...but appeared a though it was just tossed on a plate and presented to the customer. Our waitress never really said hello. She just asked for our food and drink order, and that was the last we saw of her until she brought us our check.

Stop in for a decent hot meal. If you are seeking ambiance or overtly friendly waitstaff perhaps you should consider other dining choices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nunda, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Disappointing. I've lived in the area for years and decided to try breakfast at this place. Will NOT be going back.

Very dated and worn out inside. Old desert rack near checkout. Just plain old.

The waitress named.....????.....she never told us her name, never said hello. Just asked for a drink order. Never smiled once. Very cold and uncaring.

The food portions were reasonable, but the quality was low. "Home fries" were undercooked potato chunks. Pancakes were super thick and doughy. French toast had no flavor at all. Omelet was okay, but had cheap american cheese slices on top instead of real cheese inside.

Save your money and go to the breakfast buffet at the truckstop in town. Much better food and reasonably priced. Also check out Cartwright's Maple Tree Inn when they are open. Awesome food and service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped here based on other reviews and were not disappointed. The food was fresh and delicious and came out fast. We had chicken souvlaki, a hot beef sandwich, patty melt, and a cheesburger club. Each of us was happy with our choice. The service was quick and efficient although I would have preferred one or two more "check-ins" to see how we were doing. Our meal for the four of us was about $30 which is great for a sit-down lunch.

This place was filled with locals having their family Sunday meals and it was clear to see that this restaurant is a mainstay in the town of Dansville. If you are looking for a good alternative to fast food on your way through, Sunrise is a great place to stop and take a break from the road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast. My boyfriend and I decided we wanted a great omelette and we got it and more. thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were in the area to get a Christmas tree from Anderson's Tree Farm. (A great local tree farm, which I highly recommend.) One of the staff at Anderson's recommended this place and we were not disappointed.

The restaurant is well maintained. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. They serve breakfast all day as well as having a few items that you don't see on a lot of family restaurant menus. I had a Monte Cristo which had thick slices of ham and turkey, not the cheapo shaved deli crap, but nice big slices that looked like they had carved them off in the kitchen.

The only downside was an item on the kids menu. They had meatloaf as a kids menu option. My kids love meatloaf and so my daughter ordered it. What came was more like a giant, dried out sausage with huge chunks of green pepper. I thought it was pretty good, but it was definitely not something I would put on a kids menu.

They also had an old-style dessert case that the kids loved and they were very excited to pick their own desserts.

Otherwise, the food was great. We'll definitely go back next time we're in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Restaurant also viewed

Dansville, Finger Lakes
 
Dansville, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sunrise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.