We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast

Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crown Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
989 Stoney Lonesome Rd, PO Box 33, Crown Point, NY 12928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Crown Point B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not for everyone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This B&B is in a lovely, remote location, far out in the woods. Great location for walking and exploring the countryside, or just for that feeling of 'being away from it all'.
Unfortunately, the accommodation itself wasn't the best...
It is run by a family and has three guest bedrooms. My husband and I stayed for two nights. Our bedroom was tiny, with no wardrobe or any place to hang the clothes (apart from two hooks on the bathroom door). The bed was tiny, and overall space in the room so small that we had to jump across our bags to get to the bathroom. The room is full of knick-knacks, dolls, books, a bible etc, so it feels like staying in somebody's bedroom - we needed some space to put our personal belongings, but we were uncomfortable moving too many of their knick-knacks to make room for our stuff. This seems to be the overall feeling in this B&B. It feels like a private stay with a family - it did not feel like these guys run a B&B business at all.
That's not for everyone so may not be your cup of tea. Lots of religious content in this home - slightly in your face even - so again may not be for everyone.

Breakfast was great, really tasty, however you don't really get any choice and have to eat what you are served (on the first morning it was pancakes, turkey sausage and fruit with yoghurt). No decaf coffee. Breakfast is eaten with the host family, after a prayer. Instead of having breakfast at 8.30 as suggested by the owners, we wanted it at 9am - this wasn't received very well so the next morning it was an 8.30 breakfast for all.
There is no TV in guestrooms, but this B&B advertises their living room as a 'communal area'. We went there the first night to watch a bit of TV before going to bed. An impression we had was that the owners weren't all too happy to see us sitting there watching TV in their living room. When we came back from the restaurant on the second night, the host was sitting in the living room, so we quietly retreated to our bedroom - no TV for us :(
The house was bitterly cold on the first day, despite mentioning this to the owners twice. The situation improved on the second day.
Overall - it feels like that you have to fit in with your landlords and their schedule - kind of like being their private guest, but also paying for the service.
Given the high price and the overall level of discomfort, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Let me first apologize for not responding sooner, as I missed this review till today. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. Please do contact us directly for a refund, as we do not want to leave you with the lasting impression of disservice. This review makes me realize the value of a suggestion box which we will implement, thank you. We especially apologize for your not feeling comfortable in the communal area and your not having watched TV. Guests come first and if we missed communicating that, which we evidently did for you, then please accept a belated apology. Perhaps we failed to point out places to hang things? And also, the available dresser space? Again, we are so sorry. I would have been happy to move anything for you and in the future will let all guests know to please make themselves right at home by moving whatever needs to be moved for their comfort. Glad you found breakfast tasty, and sorry we were not able to accommodate your late breakfast preference. As for the spiritual undertones you picked up on....we are who we are, but certainly try to the utmost to be respectful of others as well. We are sorry if we in any way offended you. Again, we want happy customers, so please feel free to contact us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

If you are looking for a place that is quiet and off the beaten path but close to everything you want to see in the Adirondacks, then this is the place to stay. The breakfasts were hardy country style, nothing fancy, but good old farm cooking. The house is spacious and comfortable, especially for a civil war era house. The solar electricity ensures a steady cooling or heat. You can explore right on the land since it is 200+ acres of wood ed land, even with its own "babbling brook". The innkeepers are nice people who really know the area and are extremely helpful for places to see and eat. I stayed for 7 nights and by the end of the trip felt like I was leaving family. A very relaxing place and if that is what you are looking for, and a place that is close to everything you want to see, then definitely stay at Stoney Lonesome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
We are sending a belated thank you, and the timing in no way reflects our gratitude. Time is precious and you took the time to post. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast for two nights. It is tucked away in the Adirondacks and just beautiful. Our room was meticulous with our own private bath/shower. The owners were wonderful and very friendly. We instantly felt at home. The breakfast served was fabulous. This is our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and we loved it. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am just now realizing reviews slipped in without my noticing. So even though I am late for responding, my sentiments are fresh...-Thank you for your kind words. They are appreciated! Please do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We wanted a place somewhere off in our Adirondack mountains that typified all that's great about this land. And we found it. Just one night, but it was all we hoped for and more. Great company, great hosts, and God's country. We have already forgotten what we did on our 40th, but we will never forget our 41st..Regards, Fred and Holly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are a little late with our thank you's. But thank you anyways! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and a nice one at that! Come back for another anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is a fascinating place. It's an old 1800s farmhouse with solar power (off the grid). How they provide this level of amenities with two solar arrays is impressive and should serve as an example for carbon concious operations. The family that runs it is welcoming and real at the same time. I truly enjoyed my time with them as well as the inn itself. The breakfasts were magnificent and served at a large table with the whole family. This was my second time here and I will go back. Note: I think there is some sneaky vent system that brings the smell of bacon and coffee into the upstairs rooms. I awoke both mornings to these wonderful aromas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I am learning how to respond to our many reviews. A little late I am but not any less appreciative that you took time out to post a review. Thank you for that, and for being a faithful returning guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed one evening with Nancy and John at Stoney Lonesome B&B on our way to Fort Ticonderoga. The room and ensuite bathroom were cozy and quiet, and the breakfast was AWESOME. Loved John's special eggs, fruit, and yogurt, and the pineapple muffins were served right from the oven...ahhhhhhh! It was lovely eating breakfast outside with other guests. Truly off the beaten path, but well worth the drive! Good directions. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
It's never to late to say thank you, right? Thank you for posting a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stoney Lonesome is a fantastic out of the way place to experience.
> This wonderful get away is nestled in a beautiful secluded area. Our
> stay included an outstanding home cooked breakfast and extremely
> caring hosts. We had an enjoyable hike and within walking distance
> experienced stunning scenery. From beginning to end, our hosts made
> us feel welcome...just like family. only wish we had more time to
> spend with Nancy and John.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNancy, Owner at Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
A very belated thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast

Address: 989 Stoney Lonesome Rd, PO Box 33, Crown Point, NY 12928
Location: United States > New York > Crown Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crown Point
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Lonesome Bed & Breakfast offers eco-friendly lodging in the pristine Adirondack Mountains close to incredible hiking, fishing, and climbing. Relax in our charming Civil War era farmhouse nestled on 200 pristine acres with the comfort of knowing you're staying in a "green" Crown Point Bed and Breakfast! We offer Earth friendly lodging complete with solar energy and a low carbon footprint. Enjoy our warm and friendly atmosphere, plush accommodations, and hearty breakfast before you explore all that northern New York state has to offer. Perfect spots for boating, mountain biking, and cross country skiing are only moments away! Less than five miles to the south you'll find the Pharaoh Wilderness Area complete with thousands of acres of mountain forests, lakes, ponds, and streams. Or take a day trip to Montreal and the likes of Lake Placid or Burlington for unique shops and activities! Whatever your vacation plans, a stay at the comfortable Stoney Lonesome Bed & Breakfast is the perfect fit! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Lonesome Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.