We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hamilton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hamilton House to your Saves list
Alexander Hamilton House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49 Van Wyck St, Croton on Hudson, NY 10520   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tonawanda, NY
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Back in July 09 I found out that I would be working out of town for about 7 months. I began looking for apartments and hotel suites. I came across the web site for the Alexander Hamilton B&B when I searched for something close to my job and close to the train station. I didn’t know how I would like it, but I’m sure glad I tried.

This place has become my home away from home, a feeling that I would never get from an apartment or hotel. Cyd, Barbara, Steven and Lori have gone beyond innkeepers to make my stay most enjoyable. Not to mention the beautiful inn itself. I think I’ve been in every room there and each one is beautiful and unique in its own way. I’ve spent many hours at one of the dining room tables catching up on the Buffalo News, just as I would do in my own home.

Then there are all the other niceties; great breakfasts, rides to & from the train station, special treats in my room when I return Sunday nights, ride to the ER when I was too sick to find the hospital on my own. I could go on, but I just want to let you know that this is not the typical B&B.

My project is almost over and my time at the Alexander Hamilton House is at an end, but I’m already making plans with my family to return shortly.

Thanks,
Tom

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
66
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Right off the bat, Barbara discloses that Alexander Hamilton did NOT stay here, it was built in 1889 and named after the adjacent street. But it's a highly decorated big old house on the hill overlooking Tappan Zee, and a fun place to stay, particularly compared to generic chain motels that serve us business travelers. The rooms are quaint and varied, with beautiful modern bathrooms. The owners are very experienced hosts, and everything ran very smoothly. I liked their small bull terrier named Sarah, who disclosed that this place is dog-friendly for future visits. Breakfast was custom-made and delicious. There was a basket of chocolate chip cookies on the bannister post. The hall was decorated with an 1867 local map--always a good indicator of a superior lodging. The loose leaf binder bulging with local information and history was the best I have ever seen, anywhere. Mid-week rates were extremely attractive. It's a short drive the the Croton, Tarrytown, or White Plains commuter train stations. This is a fun place, and I urge leisure and business travelers to give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford de
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was a beautiful room in a house overlooking the Hudson River. The staff and owners went out of their way to make everything special. They even offered to pack me a "brown bag" lbreakfast on our last day, because of the time I had to leave. This is a wonderful, romantic place to getaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The house is beautiful, the owners are very friendly and the breakfast is first-class. I stay on extended business and always have a room with a desk. All the rooms have internet access. The owners are very accommodating and bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasant one. Convenient to NYC, the train station, and points of interest. The view is beautiful and the location superb. I'll recommend the Alexander Hamilton House to anyone needing a break from the hotel/motel scene. This B&B provides an excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

As New York City apartment dwellers my husband and I were in need of a short respite.
This is a perfect getaway for us since it was so easily accessible by public transportation, and then were able to be picked up at the station by Lori, who welcomed
us warmly. Our room was the Turret Room and felt quite cozy. The bathroom is about
three steps across the hall and supplied with special cranberry soap, extra fluffy towels, and luxurious shower gel. There was even an encased, antique model of a bathroom perched on the vanity. My husband enjoyed his bagel and lox breakfast and I enjoyed my omelet. Requests were met with a gracious "sure; we can do that!" The breakfast room is filled with plants and it extends into an area for watching television on comfy sofas. Our room was a wonderful value for us who came during the week. All said,
it was the getaway we needed and although we stayed for one night, we left feeling
as though we had been away for several days!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I travel for business and used to stay in hotels when in the Westchester/Putnam County area but then decided I would give a B & B a try. I compared the prices and this one was very reasonable so I decided I would try it. That was over a year ago and I have been an almost weekly customer ever since. Barbara and Steven are very warm and welcoming hosts who meet all reasonable requests with a smile. The breakfasts which are homemade are very delicious and filling. The view of the Hudson from the breakfast area is gorgeous. I also enjoyed the swimming pool in the summer after a day of work. Try one of the suites, the Jacuzzi is wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We have stayed twice at this property, once over 4th of July weekend this past summer and again between Christmas and New Years while visiting family in the area. The inn offers several rooms with a variety of features and price points. Since we have a toddler, we were looking for a room that was relatively child friendly and a good value, which we had. Free wifi throughout the house as well as a dedicated computer work station with fax. The inn is run by a highly experienced family and is friendly to both leisure travelers as well as business (I travel extensively for work). Breakfast is very good and timing is flexible. 5 minute drive to Metro North station at Croton-Harmon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hamilton House

Address: 49 Van Wyck St, Croton on Hudson, NY 10520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > Croton on Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Croton on Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hamilton House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1889 Victorian House with 8 guest rooms. 5 rooms have working wood-burning fireplaces, 2 have two person whirlpool tubs. We serve a full breakfast, and accommodate people with special dietary needs. We've been in business over 20 years and are very knowledgeable about the area. Accessible by car or train, 15 minutes to Sleepy Hollow/Tarrytown, 30 minutes to West Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Hamilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hamilton House Hotel Croton On Hudson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hamilton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.