We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall my stay was good. The restaurant and bar were...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 River St., (fomerly Holiday Inn Cortland), Cortland, NY 13045   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Cortland
Factoryville
1 review
“Overall my stay was good. The restaurant and bar were...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Overall my stay was good. The restaurant and bar were average but convenient. For the price the accomodations were solid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    93
    47
    26
See reviews for
157
45
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed to look at Cornell University. Hotel staff didn't care, very slow. Had dinner in on site restaurant, staff mess up order, couldn't figure out how to refund the cost. Room was very very noisy with water running in rooms next door. Room air had only one fan speed (high) and was very loud. Would not stay here again and would not recommend. Room was average, but staff clearly represented how the owners must feel about the hotel - no one cares, and it shows.

Room Tip: Don't get room overlooking pool. Get odors from pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnerville NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have done a psychic fair at this hotel since before it was a Ramada (I believe it used to be a Holiday Inn). I usually stay at the Hampton next door, but was unable to get a room at anything but an exorbitant rate, even as a Hilton Diamond, primarily because it's a big weekend at the colleges. So I booked into the Ramada.

Let's put it this way. I'm not taking off my socks and walking barefoot here, as I do without fear at the Hampton. This carpets are faded and dirty. The furniture looks like something from a thrift shop. The bathroom LOOKS good, but the fan is noisy and the toilet fixtures very cheap. The doors and walls are thin. The curtains don't completely cover the windows, so I am dealing with a bright street lamp into the room though I really need it dark to sleep well.

There are no amenities -- no refrigerator, no microwave.

The hallway doors don't close well in some places, so security is lax. The glass windows and doors in the puiblic areas are dingy and in desperate need of cleaning.

All in all, you feel like you are staying in a dive, not a hotel that should be at least middle-class.

The breakfast is relatively decent, as is the food in the hotel restaurant, but with so many other choices in the Cortland/Ithaca area, it doesn't tempt. Additionally, the breakfast buffet is $7.95 -- not expensive, but with so many hotels including the breakfast in the room cost, one wonders why the management can't take the hint.

The staff is pleasant, but they cannot make up for the clear lack of care and money that the hotel owners seem unwilling to put out.

Cortland and Ithaca, for some reason, are expensive hotel towns, perhaps because of the colleges. But only stay here if sleeping in your car is not an option, and all the other hotels are sold out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to visit my son in college. He goes to suny@cortland. The hotel smells like smoke. The pool looks good. You have to pay for breakfast. It was very slow checking in. The hotel is run down and needs an overhaul. They charge you for breakfast. The new hotels across the street does not charge for breakfast or dogs. I feel that they can do a better job with the help. They are not the nicest people. Paint would bright up the hotel.

Room Tip: Go to the new hotels across the street they give you free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2 River St., (fomerly Holiday Inn Cortland), Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Cortland Hotel Cortland
Cortland Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.