We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and CostWorthy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Church Street, Cortland, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and CostWorthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My stay there was very good. It was convenient to other locations. The service was wonderful. It looks like an old hotel but the rooms much nicer/cleaner than where my daughter was staying. The facility could definitely use a facelift but it worked for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    9
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
14
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend to return to my college with some fellow alum.

While checking in, the woman was extremely rude. First, she tried to charge me $10 extra a person a night because she said the reservation was for 1 person. I had a confirmation email that said 4, tried to show it to her, but she didn't care about that. She didn't charge the the extra, because she said she was doing me a favor...yeah, right.

Then she started rudely telling me about all of the things that would get me kicked out. Now, this is probably an overreaction to past bad experiences, but she could have been nicer about it. She said she knows people come up here, drink and then throw up in the room. I dunno, I just didn't like the way she went about it.

As for the room...very average. It was a decent size, beds (2 doubles) were comfy and the shower was ok. The bathroom, which is in a room with the shower was small, but not terrible.The sink, mirror are separated. I did find a long, black hair (see pic) on the while when I first went in...so that was kind of gross.

The rest of the room was, like I said, average. It had an 'old' smell to it, but it wasn't a bad smell. The rug looked new, which was good. It had fridge/microwave, a nice addition. The fridge had a bad smell to it though.

The other thing of note was the room rate. It was jacked up a bit ($160 a night compared to $99 a night for the first weekend in Dec). This was most likely due to the fact that this weekend was a big, annual rivalry football game that brings a lot of alum coming back up, so it was somewhat expected.

I had stayed here a probably 4 years ago, and the rooms were the same, but I don't remember the service being that bad. I'd probably stay again, only because of it's extremely close location to main street., but I will look into other options next time.

Room Tip: If you have people sharing beds make sure to get 2 queens, I had 2 doubles (because the queens were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When we first drove into the property, it looked to be an old, tired hotel.

Our check-in went perfect with a nice lady who could probably be working at a 4 Diamond property. She was very courteous and helpful as were several other staffers I encountered.

Our room, with 2 double beds, was very comfortable and we had lots of elbow room in a corner of the ground floor.

Complimentary continental breakfast was a bonus, with bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, fruit. Eat adjacent to the lobby or bring to your room.

Room price was acceptable given it was parents weekend at the university.

Downtown location had good dining options within walking distance.

Get past your first impressions and you'll be fine.

My first choice in the area is the Country Inn and Suites, but since it was full, the Econo Lodge was a very good decision.

Room Tip: corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

There are a lot of tells here: the brush strokes showing through the cheap paint on the room doors, the mildew in the shower head, the chipped paint on the sink. These and others point to a facility that either needs a total overhaul or a bulldozer. The breakfast was about as basic as it comes, some toast, some cereal, and pre-packaged danish from Wal-Mart. The owners seemed nice, but when you're charging in the neighborhood of $100 a night you need to do better than this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Cortland, New York basically met expectations. Cortland is a place where tourists stop along their way to another destination. This hotel is quite hard to find. Don't take exit 12, as indicated on the highway; take exit 11. For a one night stop, this place should suit your needs. The people working there are quite friendly and helpful. The rooms look like they have been renovated within the last few years. The washrooms are modern and the carpet looks recently replaced. The beds were clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the room smelled quite bad. My kids described it as smelling "like a zoo". You eventually get used to the smell, but it was a definite issue. Also, the price was fairly high at $127 a night. A price closer to $90 would seem more reasonable. Overall, the motel rates as "good"

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper (second) level. Bring an air freshner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Ceiling show water infiltration, beds seemed clean and are comfortable. We stop after a long drive and needed sleep. They built long ago and the watch stopped there. Bathroom ceiling need replacement rails show rust, door frame needs paint. Calm place, tv works, Internet works. Seen worse but overpriced. Worth not much than 60$ a night. Paid 95$ with tax

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skippyd89
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I often have to laugh at my fellow travelers who appear to have trouble with the "economical" aspect of a place calling itself ECONO-Lodge. Hello, you want the Plaza, stay there, not here.

I just completed a three day/two night stay in Cortland's EconoLodge and have nothing negative at all to say about it. My room sported a large, three-pillowed double bed, a fully-cabled TV, a mini-fridge, a coffee-maker, a micro-wave, iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer. Granted, I was on the ground floor and the very large window was heavily drapped against outside light, but the air-conditioning unit worked so well I was under blankets during a heat-wave. The sink area was in a recess at the end of the room with the toilet and tub/shower off of it. These facitilites were clean, accompanied by excellent towels, etc., and everything worked (the toilet flushed well and there were no sink or tub stoppages).

The receionists were most helpful and the breakfast, though served in styrofoam and plastic, was most appreciated. Many "motels" don't provide this at all. I wasn't driving, but it looked like the parking lot was suffient.

The location of the lodge was excellent in terms of its proximity to Cortland's Main Street. All sights, restaurants, taverns, shops, and SUNY's hilltop campus were all within easy walking distance. One step outside the EconoLodge and you can easily see the beautiful churches that line Cortland's boulevard-like Church Street. Also, being downtown, away from the pripheral malls and shopping centers, allowed me to enjoy a small-town experience.

The EconoLodge may not be lavish, but I had a good time staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 10 Church Street, Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Cortland
Cortland Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.