We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amelia's
152 Port Watson St, Cortland, NY 13045-3124
607-756-2041
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cortland, New York
1 review
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Disgusting and overpriced. There is always water in the pasta bowl. Over cooked or under cooked food constantly being served and then returned. The same dessert cakes being served for months until they finally sell out. The boss, who is also the cook, as he could hardly be considered a chef for the half assed job he does, absolutely refuses to accept any responsibility for his mistakes and will always refuse to take food off of the bill for things that are clearly unacceptable. He and his mother, who is the manager, will argue to the end trying to get every last cent out of the customer regardless of the problem. They are constantly out of standard items both from the kitchen and the bar and make no apology for that. There is barely anyone in the place at any time of the week and there is a reason for that. It is being run by a bunch of unprofessionals who have zero idea what a truly decent dining experience consists of. Save your money. I can't say enough terrible things about the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
1 review
“dont go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Saturday night 12/15/.12
They recommended reservations so we did. Got there 20 minutes later and there 3 tables being used at 6:30 at nite. Hardly no one there. Made us wonder. Our meals were just ok. My spaghetti & mbs were fair far below Melodylands. My domestic partners chicken stuffed with spinach & cheese looked like it was made by my 10 year old neice. I ordered potato soup that tasted like dishwater and potatoes and they refused to take it off the check until I complained and then I think the waitress took it out of her tip because the 2 manager owners would not come out and meet me. Totally unprofessional. Over a $1.50 cup of soup. I would recommend Frank and Marys diner before I ever went to this place. No wonder there wasnt anyone there. They should really consider another profession. Bill F

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home cooked quality Italian dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a very small and cozy place. When you first enter you end up at a bar and first thing you see is entrance to the bathrooms. Needless to stay the smell is somewhat bothersome. The food however is incredibly delicious: from lasagna, to NY strip steak with shrimp. Their appetizer special was scalops wraped in bacon and muscles-out of this world yummy. Wine list selection was great. Price is very reasonable for both dinner and wines.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The WORST Italian restaurant EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Mama Amelia must be turning in her grave. The fries were dark brown and smelled of old cooking oil. The veal was like rubber (hard to believe but true) I don't know who the heck is the chef in that place but he surely isn't Italian!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granny6240
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wish we had more time, we would have been been back often, but in April, May and June 2011 we were there at least once a week.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's also viewed

 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.