We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
856 State Route 13, Cortland, NY 13045-3551
607-753-6031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 99 Restaurants in Cortland
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Batesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Their steaks are great, and some are lower in fat content. The service is fast and freindly, a good place to unwind an enjoy yourself.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“unusually bad experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Over the last 2 years we've visited Applebee's on weekend evenings and usually are very pleased with our food and service. This weekend was a totally different experience. The waitress was rude, bossy and actually snapped at us on several occasions.She kept telling us she couldn't let us we couldn't make any changes to the menu, however the weekend before we had ordered the very same meals and the waitress was extremely helpful and allowed us to upsize for a few dollars more.When asked how much a margaritta was she said she didn't know, prices change all of the time.Our bill on average is $80 for 3 people and if this had been my first experience I'd never go back. If I see her when I walk in next weekend I will simply turn around and walk out.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnatus, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This restaurant is a very friendly neighborhood place to eat. The prices are very reasonable and the waiters are most polite. The food is good and if something isn't just as you ordered, they make it right with no hassle.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“As ususal - all sorts of problems and bad service - AVOID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We keep going back to this place every couple of months, because we keep assuming things have to get better.

Today was just about the worst possible dining experience.

- We ordered at 5:15 pm, two appetizers and four entrees. The first issue was that we were not allowed ANY substitutions at all.

- One appetizer finally came at 5:30pm. We asked where the other appetizer was and they said it "was coming."

- At 5:45pm they came and told us that the other appetizer was "still coming." We told them that we were not interested in it any more, and they told us that we should just be patient.

- The dinners and the second appetizer came at 5:50pm, which was terrible. At this point that was the first time that our waitress asked us if we waned refills or more water.

- We had asked for one dinner to go, and when we got home we found that they had messed up that order.

Of course , there were NO apologies or anything offered.

Don't know what we expected.......but you should really go just about anywhere else if you can!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.