We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suite, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Cortland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Cortland to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Cortland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3707 Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jefferson, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spacious suite, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were in the area visiting Cornell. Booked queen suite and were pleasantly surprised. We were expecting the pull out sofa to simply be added to a slightly larger room. Instead, it had its own room, the entry room with the kitchenette. Front desk was friendly. Breakfast attendant was fabulous. Convenient to Ithaca without the Ithaca price tag. Our stay far exceeded our expectations!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ticoalra!

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. We are lucky to have suites as an option for our guests. We have other suties in the hotel as well, such as a king suite, with a king bed in the bedroom and the additional living area, in case you prefer a king bed. We are a very short drive to Ithaca and hope that on your future visits into that area, will consider staying here when able. I thank you again and hope that you have a wonderful rest of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    92
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
150
50
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a nice hotel. We were in cortland for 2 days for my grandmas 90th birthday party on saturday. It was cheap paying $83 per night. I also am to to visit the suny cortland college to decide if its a good college or not and the college is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit with us! It is our goal to be affordable and comfortable for our guests. We look forward to any future visits that you may have to the Cortland area! Take care until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Was looking for an inexpensive hotel close to Ithaca. All the ones in Ithaca were too expense but this fit the bill. And it was only 20-30 minutes away from both Ithaca College and Cornell. So an ideal place to stay when going to visit the campuses.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for mentioning our location and staff! We are very lucky to be located next to Ithaca as they are a very busy city and often do not have rooms available. Whenever you are in the area, we hope to see you here in Cortland! I thank you again and hope that you have a wonderful rest of the evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were in Cortland for a college visit with our teenage daughter. The hotel was in a great location, as it was directly across from the entrance to the school, close to the athletic fields. Rooms were supremely clean, with microwaves and fridges. The staff was friendly and helpful - especially Charlene! Cookies, coffee and breakfast were nice perks. We really enjoyed our visit. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for mentioning Charlene! She is a true asset to our team...I believe she truly loves what she does and it shows. We hope that your student chooses Suny Cortland so that we may look forward to many future visits! I thank you again and hope that you have a wonderful evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had planned an overnight surprise for my grandkids to the water park at Greek Peek and couldn't afford staying at the Lodge. So I got on the trip advisor web site and ended up having a great overnight experience at the Country Inn and Suites in Cortland. The professionalism and courteousy extended by everyone from management to service was noticed and appreciated. When we arrived I failed to ask for a room on the second floor or higher and the staff worked quickly to accomodate this last minute request. The suites were clean, appealing and large. They were up to date. The bed was very comfortable and extra pillows and blankets were available in the room without having to call for more. We had a fridge and microwave which is always helpful. The traffic on the main road wasn't audible as we stayed on the back side of the inn. The lobby of the inn was warm, gas fireplace made you feel very welcomed. The pool was smaller than I expected, but it served our purpose. It was warm, clean and well maintained. The whirlpool was also pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was hot and well stocked during peak hours.
The only concern I had was with how the suite was layed out. The hide away bed/couch was located right by the door. I wasn't comfortable having my grandkids sleep out in the lounging area. So the adults split up for a higher level of safety. Also with the hide away bed/couch being so close to the door my daughter said she could hear every little sound in the hallway.
Our main destination Greek Peek indoor water park was about 8 miles away from the inn. I would definitely recommend this inn for all guests visiting the area. I look forward to returning to the area for more outdoor adventures and will stay at the inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor near the lobby staircase on the back side of the inn. I think we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mema12014,

I am so glad that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your visit with us. We are located very close to Greek Peak, which is an amazing benefit for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed the "extras," that we provide, such as extra pillows and blankets and breakfast. I hope you were able to enjoy the cookies too...they are addictive! Thank you for mentioning myself and my team. We are here to make sure that you enjoy your stay while you are here and we feel very honored when we succeed. Thank you again for sharing! Have a wonderful weekend and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Easy to find on West St in Cortland, NY. Check-in was quick, lobby has a toasty gas fireplace (and it was cold out, so this was appreciated). Room had 2 queen beds, lots of comfy pillows and the beds were very comfortable. Room had a microwave, refrig, and coffee maker. Nice arm chair near the window, and a desk with chair if you needed to work on a laptop or do paperwork.
Bathroom was clean with lots of towels (I often have to ask for extra, so this was much appreciated), hairdryer, and toiletries.. Closet had extra pillows, luggage rack and ironing board.
Fresh cookies in the lobby and coffee/tea station.
Hot breakfast buffet included make your own waffles, eggs, potatoes and sausage. Bread for toasting, muffins, bagels. Cereal, juice, fresh fruit, Coffee, tea. Breakfast room has lots of room for guests. TV with local news.
I would stay again and recommend to anyone going to Cortland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Woodfrogs,
Thank you so much for your awesome feedback and for mentioning our amenities. We do those little extras daily and it is so good to hear that you enjoyed them. They are usually left unmentioned in reviews so we are not always sure that our guests are impressed with them and that is the reason we do them in the first place. I hope that you visit the Cortland area often and stay with us for each visit! Have a wonderful rest of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on March 1st. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was comfortable and quiet. The dining room was spacious and bright with and excellent selection of hot and cold options.

We would recommend this location to anyone. This hotel is about 3 miles from I-81.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking time out of your day to share your visit with our future travelers. I thank you for mentioning our team, breakfast, and location. We look forward to hosting your next trip to Cortland! Have a great rest of the day and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Cortland

Address: 3707 Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Cortland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Cortland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.