We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Cortland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Cortland to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Cortland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3707 Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had experience with a number of Country Inns but this one we believe took the prize for NICENESS. All staff is incredibly nice and helpful. The breakfast was perhaps the only shortcoming but it didn't matter. We enjoyed our stay and felt welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your review and for being so loyal to our brand. Country Inn & Suites has recently taken a lot of time and effort to overhaul the breakfast we as a brand offer. As you mentioned breakfast as a shortcoming would you mind sharing with me was it the quality of the food, variety of the food, or the service our hotel offered during yoru breakfast experience. Your feedback will allow us strengthen our breakfast for all our guests.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Warm Regards,
Teri Tarshus
General Manager
607-753-8300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    92
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
151
50
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Off the Interstate , nothing around, staff not really worried if ur not there about SUNY !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
I apologize on behalf of this hotel that you felt we only cater to SUNY travelers. Our staff strives to make every guest feel welcome regardless of their reason for visiting the hotel or the area, I am very sorry we fell short with your stay.

We really hope you give us a chance again and you can personally contact me prior to your arrival. Thank you.

Teri Tarshus
General Manager
607-753-8300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I would like to thank your staff for being so kind and generous . My husband and I always stay at your hotel while we are visiting our daughter in College. I would like to especially thank Jo-Jo at the front desk. She went out of her way to please us. She was so thoughtful and had a beautiful smile on her face every time we entered the Hotel. Your hotel is so clean and pleasant. We love the breakfast and the fact that there is always fresh coffee available. Thank you for letting me express my self . We are looking forward to coming back again!! Have a wonderful day!! ♥♥

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Margaret,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing about our hotel but thank you more so for mentioning JoJo! She is an outstanding employee and her connection with our guests is above all one of the most amazing qualities she brings to work each day.

We look forward to your next stay and wish your daughter a successful year at school.

Thank you again and warm regards,
Teri Tarshus
General Manager
607-753-8300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very nice hotel staff, clean room. Hot breakfast is more than we expected. 24/7 free fresh coffee and cookies is extra. It's 30 miles drive to get to Ithaca but well worth it as you will pay 50% higher for a hotel with same quality in Ithaca.
Room carpet is desperately used and bathroom sink is clogged, though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable, bed was really nice, good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your response. A good nights sleep is ever so important and I am pleased to hear you had just that!
Teri Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Nice hotel, very helpful staff, nice size rooms, very clean. Hot breakfast included, fresh coffee and fresh homebaked cookies always available for free. We did have a bit of a drive to get to dinner but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your recent stay with our future travelers. Knowing that time is limited and important I truly appreciate the time taken to share your experience.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you again,
Teri Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

If your going to take your child to school I know this review is a bit late.........My child is up at Cortland and my 1st choice of hotels would be the country inn suites....right behind the school and very clean top shelf hotel....nice breakfast in th emorning included....they give you a cortland parent dicount so ask...Good luck

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortmanager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Cortland, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear SUNY Cortland Parent!

Thank you so for taking your time to share your experience with our travlers and to spread the word about our SUNY Parent rates. We look forward every year to meeting our new parents and then welcoming them back time and time again.

Your comments are very much appreciated and shared with our entire staff.
Thank you again,
Teri Keegan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Cortland

Address: 3707 Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Cortland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Cortland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.