We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cortland

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cortland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 1/2 Locust Avenue, Cortland, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Cortland
Northern New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fine hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited the Cortland area for a friend's wedding. We searched the Internet for favored hotels and selected the Holiday Inn Express based on the excellent reviews. Was pleasantly surprised at this modern, new building and its amenities. Close to Route 81 and Cortland center. Four stories of clean and modern rooms (at least the one we had) with comfortable beds, 32-inch flat-screen TV, a small refrigerator, wall-mounted room temperature control, coffee maker, free Wi-Fi and a automatic-device for wake-up calls. There is a pool and exercise room, a two-computer "business center", and complementary breakfast. We also opted for a walk across the large parking lot to a Perkins Restaurant for lunch. And finally, the front desk staff was helpful and efficient which made our stay enjoyable (thanks, Jesse).

Room Tip: Pick a room at the rear of the hotel (odd room numbers) away from ice machines, vending machines and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
6
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As you might expect at a Holiday Inn, everything was quite standard. Good, comfortable beds, very clean room and a decent shower. I have forgotten my shaving kit and within 5 minutes of calling the front desk, the attendant was at my door with a razor and sample-size can of barbasol. An decent buffet-style breakfast was included, but I didn't like the coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Alan: We are happy that you had a good experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Cortland, New York. We welcome your feedback and make sure that your comment about the coffee will be discussed during our next management meeting. Hope to see you soon! Theresa Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My first time at a Holiday Inn Express. While always having been a big fan or Hampton Inns, I am now adding Holiday Inn Express to my list of favorites. I chose this location for a one-night stay during a quick visit to Cortland, what a great surprise. The property is spotless! The lobby was modern, yet warm and homey. Room was top notch, bed was super comfy, bathroom was spacious. Lots of extras and amenities. The staff is friendly--Fastest check-in and check-out I've ever had. Will stay here again and highly recommend!

Room Tip: We were given a room just off the lobby on the first floor. I thought this would have been an odd ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Service is our number one priority. Hope that you had a chance to relax and get some breakfast, including our awesome pancakes. Please come again, we love to greet you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We normally break up our drives to NYC/NJ by staying in the Holiday Inn Express Syracuse Fairgrounds but they were full due to the State Fair. We decided to go a bit further and stay in Cortland. This hotel is excellent all around. Only 2 years old and everything looks brand new. Staff are attentive from the moment you walk in the door to the time you leave. Large comfortable lobby area where your typical HI Express breakfast awaits you. Room was large and fresh as was the bathroom. Free wifi, ample parking and just seconds from the interstate for your onward journey. There are numerous places to eat or pick up any supplies you need for your trip as it is a small town. We ordered pizza from Pontillos and it was fantastic!

Only negatives - slightly pricey (perhaps it was the time of season?) and double beds really don't work for a stay longer than a night or two. Otherwise an excellent choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Holiday Inn Express continues to surprise me. The accommodations are much more "upscale" than Holiday Inn of the past. The Cortland Holiday Inn Express has especially nice bathrooms, which are very spacious and polished--much like Hilton Boston Logan Airport or the like. The furnishings are all top-notch. The breakfast was as expected--though a bit slow in keeping up with the demand for hot food items. The downside of the hotel is its proximity to the interstate (noise-wise). Also, for folks oriented towards Ithaca, this hotel is on the "far" side of town. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, but were only able to provide a high-floor room rather than a room on opposite side from interstate at check-in. Luckily, the top floor did provide adequate noise protection despite the clear interstate view. Having also stayed at Carlson Suites a year earlier, I'd say that the Holiday Inn Express provides a nicer facility and better furnishings, but in a less ideal location. Value-wise, the Holiday Inn Express wins. Accommodation prices in the Cortland-Ithaca area are surprisingly high.

Room Tip: Best to be high-up and to face away from the interstate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear NellT: Sorry that I am so late responding to your kind comments. We are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay. Our Holiday Inn Express is fairly new and very well appointed with modern furnishings and amenities. Most of all, our staff truly enjoys helping our guests. It is our pleasure to serve you. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have yet to be disappointed with a Holiday Inn Express, very consistent no matter the town. This location is convenient to SUNY Cortland and major highways. Our stay was very quiet and comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Hudson Valley Man: Thanks very much for chosing to stay with us. We know that you have many choices and therefore appreciate your business. I am sharing your review with the staff who work very hard to make your stay comfortable. Come see us again when you come through Cortland. We love seeing old friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A great place to stay. Consistent with the level of service associated with many other Holiday Inn Express' I have stayed in. Clean rooms, modern amenities, nice bathrooms and showers. The free breakfast was as good as anything I would make at home (coffee too.) All rooms are non smoking. Parking area was safe and ample. Staff was very friendly and rates were competitive. Only negative was the rooms are a little noisy when housekeeping came along. I had to sleep during the day and was kept awake from banging and vacuuming. Perkins right next door and other places to eat within reasonable walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear PJH: Thanks so much for staying with us. I am sorry that things were a little noisy in the hallway while you were trying to get some sleep. The next time, please let us know and we will put you all the way on the end on fourth floor. There will be less traffic from housekeeping and other guests. We are happy that you stayed with us and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cortland

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cortland Hotel Cortland
Holiday Inn Express Cortland Hotel
Address: 4 1/2 Locust Avenue, Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cortland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cortland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.