We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its pros and cons, but the room was awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cortland

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cortland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 1/2 Locust Avenue, Cortland, NY 13045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cortland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Has its pros and cons, but the room was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overpriced for its location. Only one elevator makes the wait longer than it ought to be. One person behind the desk at 10pm when late checkins arrived, and the line was out the door for a half hour or longer. The room door is not soundproof at all, so when the toddlers from the next room begin using the hallway as a playground and screaming up and down the hall, you can't sleep even if you hit yourself over the head with an anvil. Free breakfast only until 10am on Sunday, so can't really sleep in. All coffee machines were empty at 10am; they might have been having trouble keeping up with demand. The room air conditioner/heater was older and although it was refitted with a digital thermostat, the thermostat was having trouble keeping the temperature steady. The heat would run one minute, the air conditioning the next minute. The mini-fridge had no freezer section, so we couldn't really re-freeze our ice-packs that we use to keep our food cold in the car. The coffee machine was in the bathroom even though there was ample room for it in the "living room" area of the room, but the microwave was under the TV, making for a bizarre arrangement of kitchen appliances.

Contrasting the relatively negative thoughts expressed above, here are some positives: the bed was very comfortable and mercifully free of any sorts of creepy-crawlies. The bathtub was huge and the bathroom was well-appointed. The parking was ample and close enough to the front door that even in the rain it was not a hardship to get to and from the car. The staff was gracious about slightly extending checkout time.

Overall, we'd stay here again. The most important aspect of any hotel is its bed and Holiday Inn Express has excelled in this capacity at every one of their locations where we've stayed recently.

Room Tip: Pick the room with the jetted tub, if it's available. The extra $20 gets you two shower heads an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear MishaBow:
I am so sorry to read that you had some problems during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to each and every one of our guests and it looks like we did not succeed in your case in some of the areas that you outline above. Please accept my sincere apology. I would very much like to talk to you about this and will email you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
8
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The building was very nice as was the staff.We didn't call on the staff much in our week long stay but when we did they were always super nice and helpful.You guys made our trip very enjoyable! THANK YOU THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: I used the joining rooms having my three kids with me which made our nights very cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Joe: Let me just respond the only way I can to your kind words: THANK YOU, THANK YOU! It is our pleasure to play just a little part in your vacation and we are thrilled that you had a good experience staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent one night here and liked it. Super fast check-in; clean room, comfortable bed with good pillow choice, refrigerator and microwave in room, excellent location for I-81 travelers.

The breakfast selection was good, but moved at a snail's pace despite having two young ladies running it, versus the normal one. My suspicion is that both were new to the job and hadn't quite learned how to do it right yet. Not complaining, but try to plan a little extra time for breakfast if you are staying there soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very sorry for the slow pace in our breakfast area. You are absolutely correct! We were training our new breakfast attendants and I am afraid that produced a bit of a delay. I am happy to report that this will not happen again in the near future since Cortney and Gina are now fully trained and are awesome breakfast attendants. Please come back for the free pancakes, eggs and bacon and the wonderful Perkins muffins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pleasantly surprised at this excellent location off I-81at this Holiday Inn Express. Warm welcome, appointed room. very clean, new and quiet. Breakfast room is very clean, average assortment unless you are a vegan, then you are banana or nothing. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hotel staff and top class property from cleanliness to product. Very east to access from the hwy. Great quick breakfast at the breakfast bar was sufficient. Lots of well lit parking as well. Near by to great restaurants

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Traveler: I thank you very much and will share your praise with our outstanding staff. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Good stop on the way South. Extremely easy off and on the highway with fuel and amenities nearby.
Booked the same hotel on our return trip in a few days, so I recommend this hotel. Lots of choices in this area, but the location is quite new and clean.

Lots of well lit parking as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy that you have found a comfortable home away from home. Did you get a chance to use our pool? If not this time, perhaps the next time that you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a more than adequate over night stop. The rooms, amenities, and breakfast room, were all fine. My only question is as to why rates seem higher in this relatively non tourist area. Apparently it's all about what the market will bear. That being said, if you're staying in the Cortland area, this is a reasonable choice. Definitely family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cortland, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Traveler: We are so happy that you took the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happiest when our guests enjoy themselves. Outstanding guest service is our goal! We hope to see you again when you are in Cortland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cortland

Address: 4 1/2 Locust Avenue, Cortland, NY 13045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cortland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cortland Hotel Cortland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cortland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.