We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3710 114th St, Corona, NY 11368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corona
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Cleanliness:
It's great in this department. The rooms, sheets, & showers were clean.

Staff:
More than willing to help. Provided subway maps which were invaluable to get around New York. Asked for additional towels and 5 min later they were brought up. They'll call Taxi's or Limo's for you at a moments notice. The shuttle was timely with all our experiences.

Location:
Well... this is a double edged sword. It's very close to New York City. Just catch the Purple #7 Manhattan Bound Train at the 111st stop. It's about a 5-10min walk from the lobby. Once you get on the train you'll be in Grand Central or Times Square about 30-40min later. Plenty of time to admire all the spray paint on the buildings.
The walk from the hotel to the subway station is very ghetto. It's a poor, minority community in upper Queens. I probably wouldn't stay out too late, the latest we came back was 10pm. No one bothered us. Subway fare is $2, or pay $24 for a Metrocard and use it unlimited for a week. Buy the card at the Subway station.

Cost:
Got it on Priceline for $100, beat that in NYC.

Conclusion:
If you want to visit New York on a budget and don't mind the long train rides, stay here. It's clean and the staff is friendly. Next time I'll probably stay in Manhattan just to save time.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms, Nice Staff
  • Disliked — It's the ghetto
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    95
    62
    22
    17
See reviews for
47
39
28
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellenwood, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

First of all, we flew into LGA. After leaving baggage claim, we used the nearby phone to call the hotel about the shuttle. They said one would meet us outside in a few minutes and it did. While driving we didn't know what to expect but we did like the view of Shea Stadium. Upon arrival and entering the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised: It was beautiful. The lobby was clean and the check-in staff was quick and accomodating. When we reached our room, we were happy that it was also clean and a good size for two people. (1 dble bed & sofabed). Although the bathroom was a little small with no counter space and the view wasn't great, it was expected for the price.
There was a station nearby (in walking distance). It's at 111 St/Roosevelt. You have to purchase a MetroCard. After a day of activities we returned the first evening after 11pm. We ordered a hot & delicious pizza from the local Papa Johns (didn't find good NY pizza). That night's rest was wonderful and warm w/ the bed covers (no heat necessary).
The next day we chose not to order breakfast, but to start our shopping early. All I can say is Chinatown (Canal St.) & SoHo! You must go the top of the Empire State building at night. There you can see the city (& the 5 boroughs) and the Statute of Liberty lit up.
Check out was easy at 4 am. The hotel shuttle left at 4:20 to take us to LGA. It was a wonderful trip & first experience in NY

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — distance from Manhattan
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

My 11 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. We were there to see the Mets but alas, no playoff game to be seen. The hotel is 5 blocks from the 111 stop on the 7 subway. We walked there every morning and called the hotels' shuttle to pick us up when we came back at night. Be forewarned: the neighborhood looks a little rundown compared to most upper class neighborhoods in America. The area is primarily hispanic and the local groceries only take cash. I think the stations at 111 and Shea are manned 24 hours. The hotel was pricelined for $100 a night plus tax. The hotel has a nice bar, didn't eat at the restaurant. The pool has a lifeguard and is only open when he is there. Also, the hours are pretty early in the evening. Would not stay anywhere else if I was there to see a game. The lobby was nice and clean and so was the room. We took the subway both ways each day and only slept about 5 hours a night. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was small but clean. I didn't hear noise from the other rooms around us (the crowne plaza in queens was bad about that). We never felt threatened or unsafe at any point while we were walking back and forth to the subway. The shuttle drivers were the gem of the hotel. They were willing to take you on an errand if they weren't busy. The front desk staff namely a person I won't name would tell us they weren't available but call back and speak to another person and the shuttle was at the station 3 minutes later. The drivers also offered to take us to a local restaurant but we decided to order in. There was a local chinese place that delivered that was wonderful. Would definitely stay here again. Not a 5 star hotel but clean and a good value. Feel free to contact me about this hotel or our trip.

  • Liked — the location and the staff
  • Disliked — can't really say
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Booked this room for a one-night stay (we landed at Laguardia after midnight and just needed a room before traveling into Manhattan the following morning). Paid $120 or so for a double on Hotwire -- for that price, room was a steal! Clean, small but served its purpose, lobby is nice and free airport shuttle was very convenient. Front desk staff was accomodating and helpful (though be careful if you ask for a car into town in the morning -- price is not always what they quote you!). Directly across from Shea Stadium, just about 2 miles from the airport, and view from the higher floors is very nice. Would definitely stay there again for similar price ...

  • Liked — location to airport and free airport shuttle
  • Disliked — rooms a little small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

There are few reasonable options as a business traveller in NYC. Try sorting for a room on Tripadvisor in NYC for less than $200! The Marriott was available at $329 which I personally can't spend for any Marriott. After an extensive search I found this property. My contract rate was $255 per night. After taxes, you are @ $300. Keep that in mind. Your $330 rate at a competing hotel will be $400 when you are done. I wouldn't call this hotel a value, but it is less expensive than most of your options and is clean, with a good location. One of the pluses is the restaurant and lounge. The food is very good with a varied menu from sandwiches, pizza and pasta. I had a pizza, but everyone around me was happy with their food. The bar can get a little loud or perhaps I am getting a little old!:)

Business Center is downstairs, and the internet connection was very good too. Front desk staff was very polite and efficient. The room itself was standard Holiday Inn. Bathroom was clean, new shower head. Bed was firm but comfortable and made with comfortable linens.

I have no problem recommending this hotel.

This property is $25 dollar taxi ride from JFK, and I understand they have a shuttle to LaGuardia.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We spent Labor Day Weekend 2007 at this hotel. The location in Queens near LaGuardia, Shea Stadium and US Tennis Center made it attractive for my husband and I. We were able to get the subway ( okay via a not great neighborhood...but safe) to Yankee Stadium or other NY points. The restaurant is fab esp for dinner. (Split an entree if you're not real hungry as portions are generous) We had problems with our tv and after 2 nights the manager,Paul Kane, moved us to another room.. Technology and tv reception is problematic at his hotel...maybe it will be fixed soon. But there are some gems here...besides the restaurant, excellent service and location, seek out the "concierge" Suran. He runs the little shop with souveniers. He's a priceless store of information on tours, transportation,tickets, attractions, you name it. Check him out. If you want a tour of NY talk to Suran. For $80( including admission to the Empire State Building and ferry to Liberty Island) we had a full day tour that started and ended with the tour shuttle picking us up at the hotel and dropping us off at the end of the day at the hotel. Another fab feature of this hotel is the Holiday Inn shuttle. Close to Laguardia, it picks you up and drops you off, takes you to the tennis center, and maybe other places. We are thinking about going back next year. This location might not be best if you were planning to attend shows and other events in Manhattan at night as you would have to taxi back at night, rather than use the subway. (maybe $50) The airlines use this hotel for their pilots and other personel. Quiet, clean, friendly,safe.

  • Liked — shuttle, service, location
  • Disliked — tv didn't work
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so. California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

After landing at LGA after midnight, shuttle was only 5 minutes away after a phone call to the hotel. Shuttle driver was extremely professional and pleasant. Front desk employee was very nice and able to find us 2 doubles even that late at night! Room was nicely appointed and fit the bill for tired travellers! Beds were very comfortable!

The next morning we were easily able to walk to the subway, which was indeed only a few blocks away. Single woman and young daughter with no worries of safety, streets were well travelled and easily navigated during daylight hours. I wouldn't have felt that way in the dark however.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, especially after a long flight!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport

Address: 3710 114th St, Corona, NY 11368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Corona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Corona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport Hotel is the only hotel within walking distance to Citi Field, home of the New York Mets Baseball team. The USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, home of the US Open Tennis and beautiful Flushing Meadows Corona Park are a short walk away. Our hotel is conveniently located a few blocks away from the #7 train leading directly to Manhattan's Grand Central Terminal. Easy subway access to Times Square, Broadway Theatres and great shopping in Midtown and Canal Street for bargains! Major events in sports, entertainment, music and art with internationally renowned dining choices and sightseeing are all nearby. Visit museums and art galleries, returning to the hotel for relaxation, family-style dining in the Pine Italian restaurant. Enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Happy hour & late night snacks with a wide array of sports memorabilia to talk about with new friends! 24 Hour complimentary shuttle from and to LaGuardia Airport. The daily moderate parking fee onsite is $8.00. We are easily accessible to roads that connect us to Long Island, Manhattan, Brooklyn & the Bronx. Whether you stay for business or pleasure, we are here to accommodate your every need. Our warm & friendly associates at the Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport hotel look forward to providing you with the customer service you deserve at your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguardia Airport Hotel Corona
Laguardia Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Corona
Corona Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn LaGuardia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.