We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Irish Inn with Excellent Hospitality!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gavin's Irish Country Inn to your Saves list
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   118 Golden Hill Road, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12423   |  
Hotel amenities
Ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful Irish Inn with Excellent Hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

No need to hop on a plane to Dublin....If your looking for a resort with a flavor of Ireland, look no further than Galvin's. From the traditional Irish breakfast to the Irish Musical Entertainment at night...
You can save yourself the time and expense of the plane by taking the scenic drive to East Durham. The staff under the managing direction of Mary were so warm and hospitable you will be glad you stayed. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Let me first say that I really liked this Inn in the beginning. Our first night (Friday), was wonderful; room was clean, a little outdated but comfortable, with microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. In addition to the buffet (scones, Irish breads, bagels, fruit salad, cereal and strawberry compote) they offer made to order eggs and pancakes. Everything was delicious. Especially the strawberry compote! I kept coming back for more..
Customer service is great too, waiters are helpful and fast; and the check-in - check-out is quick and easy.
I also liked the grounds - they have a playground, a pool, a lounge area etc, everything is clean and well maintained. In other words, a great place.
However! Despite all this, to warn my fellow travelers, I cannot give this place a rating better than "poor".
Here is why:
Apparently, they have weekend nights' entertainment activities in the pub/restaurant area; which is great, I'm all for it. Be it Comedy night, singing, dancing or else.
So this time it was a band. Just how loud this band was we realized when we decided to go to sleep (at 11 pm). And our building was not even close to the pub, let alone the closest one. Nevertheless, sleeping was impossible, and they kept going until after midnight.
Now, if you come for entertainment, it's one thing. But for me a restful night sleep is important in my travels, because we are usually up early and doing a lot of active things.
And unless it's Las Vegas, I would expect a family resort to try to contribute to the quiet environment, not the exact opposite.
Therefore, learn from my mistakes. If you want a quiet place I suggest you go somewhere else, maybe without nightly entertainment but with better quality sleep.

Room Tip: Not anywhere close to the Pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We booked our room last minute online and upon our arrival the desk clerk realized we were traveling on motorcycles and relocated our room to allow us to park our bikes right at the bottom of the stairs leading to our room. We arrived hungry and asked if the pub served food, it didn't but she let me know the kitchen would be open for another half hour or so. The food was wonderful, I have never had better food at a hotel! Everything was clean,the sheets and towels were soft, bed was comfortable and the staff was great. The onsite pub with entertainment was a nice plus and it was far enough from the rooms that you did not hear it at all from our room. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

the rooms were very nice as well as clean ,the food was very good, service was excellent. the staff arranged for golf for sixteen men which was also well run (with box lunches) Mary the manager was very pleasent as well as the waitress staff.

Room Tip: ask for delux pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

For the 11th straight year we have brought our family to Gavins and for the 11th straight year had a wonderful time.....We are all ages and it is the perfect place for every age! We do come during Kids Rule Week because we still have some young ones who love it....they go to every event, checking them off the schedule and looking forward to the next! I encourage anyone of any age to vacation here.......it is a place for adults to sit on the porch and chat and laugh and for the children to run free - and they always make friends and there is not a worry in the world! The hike to the waterfall is a must......be sure to bring your camera......Karoke night is fun-the children are encouraged to go again and again.....the biggest highlight though is the rock wall and again, the children are encouraged to do as much as they like!
Bernadette and her staff have been making changes every year while still keeping the country feel.....the kitchen staff, the cleaning staff are all friendly and helpful and Bernadette is there to make sure everyone is having a good time.....she even returned a game piece via mail after we left that my grandson was missing-again over and beyond....thanks Gavins, see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just came back from a long weekend at Gavin's, and I have to say everything was perfect. The hotel and grounds are spotless. The staff are friendly, and always care about your comfort. The rooms are kept very clean, and nothing is too much trouble......you need extra towels and they are there in 5mins. I thought the food was great, and plenty of it. We were going to be late on sunday for dinner because we watched the pipers at Hunter Mtn. And that was no problem they held dinner for us....excellent, food, service and staff ! There are plenty of activities for young and old alike.......go and enjoy !

Room Tip: we had a handicapped room and there were 3 of us, with one wheelchair.......there was plenty of room...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from Gavin's and can't wait to go back! I'm not even sure where to start. The staff were very friendly right from the beginning, and were glad to answer any questions. They were very understanding in the fact that my daughter is a VERY picky eater and had no problem allowing us to store her special food in their freezer. Shockingly, we didn't even have to use it. This was an absolute first for us. The food was excellent and she had no problem with anything:)Our waitress was also very nice and patient to any request. The grounds, pool, and room were very clean and my kids enjoyed the activities. Our only regret is that we had to head home earlier then expected and missed seeing the waterfall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gavin's Irish Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Address: 118 Golden Hill Road, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12423
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > Cornwallville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwallville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gavin's Irish Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gavin's Irish Country Inn is a unqiue experience as we are an all inclusive Irish Inn with accommodations + meals + activies + entertainment all included in their nightly rates (with the occasion room only rates as well). The 3rd generation Innkeepers passed down from their family, the Gavin's, Brian and Bernadette are your hosts along with their outstanding staff who will do thier very best to accommodate all your vacation desires. Gavin's Irish Country Inn looks forward to greating you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Gavin's Irish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavin`s Irish Country Hotel East Durham
Country Inn East Durham
East Durham Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavin's Irish Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.