We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gavin's Irish Country Inn to your Saves list
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   118 Golden Hill Road, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12423   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I started going to East Durham as a toddler. In Gavin's defense the whole area is economically depressed. Having said that, we booked the cottage so we had 2 ajoining rooms with a mutual sitting room. Each room had holes in the ceilings, walls or both. The furniture in the sitting area looked as if it were removed from someone's garbage. The tables were pitted,chipped, waterstained, I could go on. The couch did no appear clean, nor did it smell to great. We were booking for arrival ON Labor day, to stay 3 nights. Normally Gavin's serves 2 meal daily but they neglected to inform me there would NOT be any meals except dry cereal and bagels the first morning. Their folder of information about the area was fully of misinformation and stained pages. When we arrived there were 2 garbage bins full on the porch that weren't emptied and a dirty glass . These took 2 days to be removed. The pool area had not been cleaned after the Labor day crowd left so there were pull tabs from cans and various debris around the pool. The air conditioning in the bedroom I slept in sounded like a tractor engine and was not particularly effective. You had to choose in the sitting room if you wanted air conditioning plugged in OR microwave and Frig plugged in. Heck the wifi only worked if you sat by the pool or bar (also not available for our use). When we went to check out, there was NO ONE there in the office. Just piss poor

Room Tip: Don't go there. Find a place in Hunter Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We sincerely apologize.
You happened to check-in Labor Day Monday. A true downtime for us and the most tourist areas.

Upon making your reservation, you were offered our room rate without meals. You were also informed upon checking-in that you basically would have the Inn to yourself. We would have gladly assisted you in room changes / room complaints if necessary during that time, but never knew your concerns.

This year marks our 52nd year as a family owned and operated business! I must say, our 2013 season has been one of the best seasons ever and our office was open every single day from june -till Wednesday of the week you were with us. We pride on customer satisfaction and always try our best accommodate all our guests needs.

I did personally double check the cottage and it does looks really great and "newish" looking. We did notice a minor chip in the ceiling that needs to be quickly painted over but thank goodness no holes! Also, the couch is a nice yellow and does not appear tired looking. We will place more cottage pictures on our website for interior and exterior too. The cottage is our best selling accommodations and to be honest, is always in high demand as families and small groups love it!

Also, we sincerely apologize about the garbage and the pool. Once again, we were unaware of any of concerns during your stay and would have immediately taken action.

Lastly, East Durham “the Emerald Isle of the Catskills” and home of the Zoom Flume Water Park continues to be a great destination to many tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family spent the past week at Gavins and before we left we had made reservations for next year! For the past ten years we have made this a part of our family life and in so doing made memories that will last a life time. In the hectic world we live in it is important to take the time to connect with and enjoy your family and this is the place to do it. You can do as much or as little as you like......sit on the porch and chat or do some sight seeing. But really there is no need to leave once you arrive.....my grandchildren had a ball participating in all the activities provided...they checked each one off the list and eagerly awaited the next! they immediately made friends - as did the adults! Sunday night with all the bouncies was a hit, as was the rock wall, and the karoke! of course, playing manhunt meant they were finally big kids this year! Bernadette and her husband have been working to bring something new and fun each year.....they are always there and always pleasant as is the staff.....each person who works for them is friendly and helpful......This is a time for pure play.....no lines, no crowds to get lost in, no hurly burly hustle...nature and people at its best. We definitely recommend Gavins as a place for all ages.

Room Tip: if you have small children choose a room on the first level.....facing the pool.....it is easier for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you!!! We love our family gathering and groups. It always so great to hear that we continue to offer a old-fashioned family vacation. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your 11th Visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is a throwback to a simpler time and I mean this in a good way. We are not even all the way home from our long 4th of July weekend and already my grandchildren are asking when we can go back! I spent alot of time vacationing in Green County as a kid and my husband spent his childhood vacationing in the bungalow colonies of the "Boursht Belt" and we both really enjoyed Gavin's. There was a wonderful mix of young, middle age and older people (we are 50) and everyone was very friendly. Gavin's is old but it is meticulously kept, the place is SPOTLESS. The staff is friendly and very attentive, my grandkids 5/6 made friends with everyone in about 10 minutes. The food was good and plentuful and the wait staff was attentive. The rooms are a little tight but we don't travel light either. They had Irish entertainment every night outside or at the pub. The pub is like being in someone's really large basement circa 1976 but we had so much fun.Just an all around nice family centered weekend. Very laid back, give it a shot and go with the flow.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Staff is excellent. Anything that was asked for was taken care of quickly and with a good attitude.
The rooms were clean and neat. Carpeting appeared to have been replaced and rooms painted over the past winter. The food we had was always good and when we asked for changes in the menu it was never a problem.
Nightlife was fun. Entertainment each night was very good.

Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family and I have had 2 wonderful family reunions at Gavin's and are planning another one for 2013! They offer lots of activities; our kids loved the rock wall. Having a 7 year old granddaughter I like stay in the building right next to the swings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just spent another family vacation at Gavins and came home happy and ready to go next year......this was our ninth year and the entire family, from the little ones to grown ones, wait all year to go! Bernadette and her staff work very hard to ensure everyone is happy and having a good time....every year there is something new-the rock wall the last two years is a huge hit.....and at the same time it is like going home because you can count on the family gathering part......The children can go the playground, the tent, play ball, go swimming......best part for the adults is sitting on the porch and actually having the opportunity to enjoy each others company.......the nature walk to the water fall is a must every year and always a highlight.....Gavins is the best place for a family reunion.......so, another memory in the book and looking forward to the next!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, NJ
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My "very good" rating is based on comparison with other available places to stay in East Durham, so this is a relative scale for this town only.

We attended the last day concerts for the Catskills Irish Arts Week. Most other places to stay were extremely run down to the point of being structurally unsound, and were not clean. We heard of one place where a bed fell through the floor, and the management simply threw a sheet of plywood over the hole and said "Yer good ta go". I heard other places were down right dirty, though the "B" word didn't come up (bedbugs).

Gavin's is slightly run down, but very clean. I'm not sure that any place in East Durham has heard about the Property Maintenance Code of New York State. This is way out in the boonies.

The Gavin's serving staff in the Dining Room were cheerful and friendly. Breakfast is buffet style, and includes just about anything you want, hot or cold. The bacon (2 strips) was thin and crisp the way I like it. The toast was fine, and the eggs were perfect. I didn't care for the blueberry pancakes- a bit mushy and sweet for my taste.

The Saturday night dinner was buffet style, as well, and I was charged just under $24, including tax, for it. Very bad deal. The most tasteless potato salad I've ever had. Lackluster lettuce greens. I wouldn't touch the shrivelled-looking corn on the cob or the watery cole slaw. The burgers and hotdogs looked unappetizing, the roasted chicken looked greasy and grey, and the roast beef looked overdone and dry, so I had the BBQ pork ribs, which were drenched with extremely sweet out-of-a-bottle BBQ sauce. Terrible! I had hopes for the roasted summer vegetables, but they were disappointing, as well. Though I don't know where else in town is better, it would be worth the research time and the drive to go somewhere else for dinner.

Our room was a suite in the original building. Everything was a bit worn and threadbare, which for some reason I didn't mind. I guess it goes with the neighborhood. The important point here is that it was very clean. The hand painted framed murals were pretty good, and added some fresh color and "ye olde Irish" charm.

I wasn't happy with the indoor-outdoor carpeting on the porch (covering deteriorated decking, I suspect), the strangely configured short flight of stairs to a lower deck and the dangerously irregular exterior stairway down to the first floor level (an accident and a lawsuit waiting to happen). If you are elderly or the least bit infirm, choose one of the newer cottages, and stay on the first floor.

East Durham was settled by the Irish immigrants who helped build the canals and then the railroads. There is a lot of history here. Though the area has seen its heyday of summer camps, it is a great place to soak up Irish music, dance and culture.

Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the separate cottages. The rooms in the main building are on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gavin's Irish Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Address: 118 Golden Hill Road, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > Cornwallville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwallville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gavin's Irish Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gavin's Irish Country Inn is a unqiue experience as we are an all inclusive Irish Inn with accommodations + meals + activies + entertainment all included in their nightly rates (with the occasion room only rates as well). The 3rd generation Innkeepers passed down from their family, the Gavin's, Brian and Bernadette are your hosts along with their outstanding staff who will do thier very best to accommodate all your vacation desires. Gavin's Irish Country Inn looks forward to greating you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gavin's Irish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavin`s Irish Country Hotel East Durham
Country Inn East Durham
East Durham Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gavin's Irish Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.