We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cromwell Manor Inn
Save
You added Cromwell Manor Inn to your Saves list
174 Angola Road, Cornwall, NY 12518   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cromwell Manor for the weekend of our wedding and had an amazing time. I stayed in the Cromwell Suite the night before the wedding, and it was the perfect place to take morning of photos and "getting ready " shots with family and bridesmaids. We took our "first look" photos as well as our family/bridal party pics on the grounds and we are so happy we did!! The grounds are absolutely stunning. The service is fantastic and the breakfast served each morning is delicious!! My husband and I look forward to coming back in the future. I highly recommend this B and B for wedding stays or just a night away from the city. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: The Cromwell suite is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    21
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
117
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a very good experience at Cromwell Manor. The house and grounds are beautiful. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They provided good dining recommendations. Breakfasts were delicious. The location is good for a visit to West Point, visiting Storm King, or just relaxing in the Hudson Valley. We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the Canterbury Room. Beautiful décor, and morning light. Very comfortable. The staff is charming and VERY helpful. The grounds are stunning, and the country location is serene. Breakfast was lovely.

Yes, we would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was one of seven women who reserved the cottage at Cromwell Manor for three nights. We were excited to be in a cottage all together. Upon check in we found the inn badly needed sprucing up. The main hallway in the manor was disappointing but the breakfast room was beautiful. Our rooms in the cottage were not aired out before we arrived and smelled musty and unused. The cottage definitely was not cleaned before we arrived as we found many dry old cobwebs and dead spiders. The windows were painted shut and we were unable to air out the cottage. There were many stink bugs coming through the cracks in the ceilings and walls. Despite this, we had a good time. The Innkeeper listened to us and tried to make our stay better but basically her hands were tied because the owner was away. She did offer rooms in the main inn we could move into and get out of the cottage but we decided that we wouldn't have the same privacy we had in the cottage. The breakfast was spectacular, nicely planned, presented beautifully and very good. All and all our stay was good and the manor was centrally located near all the destinations we had planned as day trips. If the cottage was spruced up, had a good overall cleaning of vents and heat registers, and had windows that opened I would stay again as it afforded a group like ours to spend time with each other without other occupants. Otherwise it was much too expensive for what we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent location for us, as we had scheduled the " moonlit" walk at Storm King Art Center in the early evening. Gracious, welcoming staff, superb breakfast (tho we would have loved to dine outdoors on the patio!). The room on the first floor was large and nicely decorated; the second room upstairs much smaller but still pleasant- loved the showers, terrific!. The first floor room a bit stuffy, but we opened the window, and it was so quiet- but we were up late, so if you are early to bed types do not book I the front of the inn!

Would return, isn't that the key test?!

(head for dinner along the river front in Newburgh- quick trip north, try Ceno 2000- excellent)

Room Tip: Avoid Canterbury if you hit the sack early- later arriving guests take a few minutes to figure out h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with our stay. The house itself was rather grand in a former life but is in dire need of refurbishment. The bed was creaky. We only saw one member of staff, a young man who was very friendly. The breakfast was dire. No choice and only fried or baked food, nothing healthy. The orange juice out of a can or carton, no fresh fruit, musli or granola on offer. The strange starter of a cake with syrup was disappointing. The baked egg, eggplant and over done bacon a disaster. We would have liked toast but none was on offer. Fresh water flasks are on offer but they were dirty. We will not return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cromwellmanorinn, Owner at Cromwell Manor Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the Inn. Our country kitchen is available to guests 24 hours and has 3 different types of cereal, granola, other types of snack bars, whole wheat bread and toaster, peanut butter, jellies, yogurts, coffee, tea, milk and juice that you were welcome to enjoy. There were also nectarines, clementines and farm fresh peaches in a bowl on the table. We would have been happy to make you toast with your breakfast if you asked but when we serve homemade muffins we do not serve toast as well. The water carafe might have made too many trips thru the dishwasher leaving water stains - all of our dishes and glasses are cleaned by our commercial dishwasher & sanitizer. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip - The Cromwell Manor Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cromwell, and wonderful Inn located within an easy drive of West Point. The amenities are very nice, including the movie on the lawn with popcorn! The grounds are beautiful, and the breakfasts were a delicious way to start the day.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromwell Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Manor Inn

Address: 174 Angola Road, Cornwall, NY 12518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance awaits you at Cromwell Manor Inn. The main building, The Manor House, contains nine elegant guest rooms in a brick mansion built in 1820. The original home on the property, 1764 House, dates back to 1764 and offers charming Colonial ambiance in four guest rooms. Stay at one of the Top 10 Inns of New York while visiting nearby West Point, enjoy the spectacular scenery and quaint towns of the majestic Hudson Highlands, shop at the world-famous Woodbury Common Premium Shopping Outlet, spend an afternoon at The Storm King Art Center, or simply relax for a quiet, romantic, weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cromwell Manor Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.