We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cromwell Manor Inn
Save
You added Cromwell Manor Inn to your Saves list
174 Angola Road, Cornwall, NY 12518   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, Great location--close to West Point, Hyde Park. Recommended great restaurant closeby in town on the brook, eating outside. Next night (Sunday) most restaurants closed but old Pizzaria had outstanding food. Great breakfasts at the B&B. .


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    21
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
117
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Cromwell Manor Inn was lovely. Quiet and clean. The staff was sweet and the breakfasts were delicious! The location is a pretty country setting that's convenient to shopping, food, and train stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We love the Cromwell Manor Inn. The breakfast is fabulous, the rooms are charming, and the staff is so very kind and accommodating. The Cromwell is an has a number of rooms and is in a beautiful old Manor in a rural setting. It is convenient to Stewart Airport and a wonderful place to stay if you are visiting West Point and the Hudson Valley. We had reason to travel to this area a few times and always stayed here - we had no desire to try anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different and pictures are available online. Pick your reservation date and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend in mid-April at the Cromwell Manor Inn. Their customer service was warm and friendly, and the food was fantastic. We could barely eat lunch there was so much breakfast! The help they gave us in finding what we wanted in the area was spot-on, and we were both very sad to leave. We're slightly picky NYC natives who just needed a break from the city and it was absolutely perfect. I'd love to stay there again.

Room Tip: The Wellington was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just the right place to spend some quality time with the family! We really appreciated the hospitality (five stars plus), the breakfast, the recommendations for hiking and - above all -
hugging 'Brew', this amazing, charming doggy! We miss him!

Room Tip: a lovely place, just the right base for hiking and excursions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were very lucky to get a room (The Saffron Room) in the Main House the night before we arrived (an impromptu romantic getaway). The room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable & although we too had a small family of ladybugs sharing the room with us it didn't bother us at all, in fact I like the little creatures. There is a road right in front of the B&B but at night there didn't seem to be much traffic on it & we both slept peacefully with the windows open.

The cost is reasonable given the proximity to NYC (about an 70/90 mins away depending on which route you take - we come up on the Palisades Parkway because it is a pretty drive) but there are other B&B's in the area for less. What I think makes this B&B worth the cost is the friendliness of the the staff & the incredible homemade breakfast. Also, there are 2 rooms (both were booked when we stayed) that are dog friendly which means that next time (& I am sure there will be a next time) we'll be bringing our fur-babies with us to take advantage of some of the wonderful hiking in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lured by the presence of a fireplace and footed tub, I booked the Hambleton room in the cottage annex for a romantic getaway with my boyfriend this past Valentine's Day weekend. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast quite wonderful (which is why I've rated the place average rather than poor), but the room itself was a great disappointment. The bed did have a Tempur-pedic mattress (as advertised), but the central support was broken, creating a very uncomfortable dip in the middle. I didn't sleep well either night because of that. The decor was more thrift shop than historic home, and we had to share the room with a quite spectacular number of stinkbugs and ladybugs, who were apparently taking refuge from the sub-freezing temperatures outside. We could forgive the latter, since the building is very old (18th century, apparently), they mostly stayed away from us, and neither of us is terribly squeamish about bugs. The bathroom, though, would have been unacceptable in a $265 hotel room in New York City, much less a comparably priced B&B in the Hudson Valley. The towels were small and frayed, the robes thin and short; the toilet seat wobbly. There was no counter to speak of-- only a pedestal sink and a tiny 6-inch-deep shelf with a hand-held camp mirror (really!) and a cheap box of off-brand Kleenex. A magnifying make-up mirror was mounted on an arm over the sink (does anyone actually use those anymore?) and the only other mirror was so small and mounted so high on the wall that I couldn't even see my neck in it, and I'm 5'7''. And then there was the shockingly crappy shower stall (photo below), with a showerhead with less flow and spread than the one I had in Inner Mongolia in 1988.

Also-- I know this is a small thing, but the romance quotient goes way down when you're burning a Duraflame log instead of a real wooden one.

Given the disappointment of our room, the friendliness of the staff (even the cleaning lady was nice) and the terrific breakfasts-- not to mention the rapturous reviews on this site and the fact that everyone else seemed as happy as clams-- makes me think that perhaps the rooms in the main house are much better. I wish I could have gotten a look at another room in "one of New York's most romantic B&B's," but everyone kept their doors shut. The public rooms in the main house were all lovely, and furnished with considerably better taste and quality. Maybe it's just the cottage. But I won't be going back to find out. If the place looks good to you, I'd say try it, but stay away from the cottage-- only book a room in the main house.

Room Tip: Avoid the cottage-- only stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cromwell Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Manor Inn

Address: 174 Angola Road, Cornwall, NY 12518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance awaits you at Cromwell Manor Inn. The main building, The Manor House, contains nine elegant guest rooms in a brick mansion built in 1820. The original home on the property, 1764 House, dates back to 1764 and offers charming Colonial ambiance in four guest rooms. Stay at one of the Top 10 Inns of New York while visiting nearby West Point, enjoy the spectacular scenery and quaint towns of the majestic Hudson Highlands, shop at the world-famous Woodbury Common Premium Shopping Outlet, spend an afternoon at The Storm King Art Center, or simply relax for a quiet, romantic, weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cromwell Manor Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.