We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste over rides decore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ

Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ
37 E Pulteney St, Corning, NY
6079361828
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Corning
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Taste over rides decore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife read the couple of reviews that have been posted and being lovers of not only BBQ meats but smoked meats as well, we decided to tease our taste buds. The owners straight from Texas were very personable and polite. We have no complaints about the food or service. We tried the 1/4 pound combo meal which comprised of ribs, pulled pork, chicken, sausage and brisket. It comes with two sides so we decided to choose homemade beans and fresh cut fries. It also came with our choice of Texas toast or corn bread so we took the corn bread... WOW what a meal. If you are looking for fine china and fancy silverware then this isn't the place for you but if you love great homemade authentic Texas smoked BBQ then you are at the right place. We will be back again. Your north of the boarder friends from Ontario Canada. Good Luck

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“HAIR IN MY FOOD!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Thought we'd support a new local business because of the reviews. I was 1/2 way through my 'slammin meal' only to be meet with a disgusting black hair!! Staff and owners were rude, dismissive. To add insult to injury, our party overheard kitchen staff getting a good laugh at our expense. my only conclusion is there's a reason why this place is in a filthy strip mall from the 70s, was empty on a Fri night & a hole in the wall that soooo many refer to. It's not kitschy or charming ... Unsanitary & disgusting is a more appropriate picture to paint. What a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Falls, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We waited 84 miles to get here to eat! Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The sign said "out of ribs- sorry!" If the ribs were half as good as the meals we chose- the brisket was tender enough to cut with a plastic fork, and the pulled pork was smokey and flavorful- then my suggestion is to be sure and get to this BBQ joint early on a Saturday. Dinner ended with my husband devouring the homemade peach cobbler, warm and a la mode, at the modest price of $2.95, and the owners offering us fresh coffee to keep us awake as we journeyed home. We will be back for the ribs, that is a certainty. Here's hoping these warm and welcoming Texans stick around Corning for years to come.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york state
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The food is SLAMMIN GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

That "other" F'in place cab GIT OUTTA TOWN......we have real BBQ in
Corning now!
Nothing but great experience with Slammin Jammin BBQ.....

Reasonable prices
GREAT food
Very good portion size

Only 10 miles from home.....will make this a regular stop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I got ribs and my husband got the pulled pork. We both loved it. Owner is very nice, takes the time to ask you how everything is. Has a nice country feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ also viewed

Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slammin Jammin Southern Smoked BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.