We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old World Cafe and Ice Cream

Old World Cafe and Ice Cream
1 West Market Street, Corning, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
Restaurant details
Description: We stopped here in Corning. Really great sandwiches and soup. Terrific ice cream. The bakery items looked great although we did not try them.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great place if not the best In Corning NY.
We will visit again. The sandwich we had was very gooooood in taste and in looks. The soup was very very taste and the food was at our table in no time. Great service. We can't wait to go there again. I'm hoping to find out what the soup of the day is there
Wanting to know the name. We will be there this coming weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A trip in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It felt as though you walked back in time when entering this quaint ice cream shop/eatery. We were looking for lunch and they delivered! The food was fresh and made to order, there are options for everyone from soups, salads, wraps etc. The building itself was a great site to see as well. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosherville, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere and great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed lunch here. All the sandwiches and soups are written on a chalkboard. You get a side of chips. The sandwiches are not "sissy" sandwiches. After lunch, my family of 4 shared a triple dip of great vanilla ice cream in a bowl. I would recommend this place for lunch and will return when in Corning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I dont know where to start on this one. The location was nice, on a cool downtown strip thats fun to explore. The food was great, i got the half of a ham sandwich with a cup of seafood chowder. The soup had whole pieces of shrimp and was very thick, sooo good! My husband's greek wrap was good too. We might go back for ice cream this trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been here to eat a handful of times in the past few months. The food never disapoints me. Occasionally I feel the service could be a bit more attentive remembering to bring things such as napkins and utensils to the table, but you really can not beat the quality of food and price. I think most people would find the shop charming. If you plan to visit with a large group i suggest ordering out as there is not that much room inside. There is a courtyard and park very near by, lot's of cute shops and salons on the same street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Cafe and Ice Cream also viewed

 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Old World Cafe and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old World Cafe and Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.