We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corning Museum of Glass

Corning Museum of Glass
One Museum Way, Corning, NY 14830-2253
607.937.5371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Corning
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Corning Museum of Glass offers unique opportunities to explore glass: Live glassmaking demonstrations, Make Your Own Glass, hands-on glass exhibits, and stunning glass art collections.
Montoursville , PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great museum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great museum and gift shop. It is a lot of fun being able to blow glass and make something in their workshops. The snack bar/restaurant on site has surprisingly delicious food and a great selection. Not something that one would expect at a museum!! Give it a try!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are thrilled that you took the time to visit us at CMOG during your visit to The Crystal City (Corning, NY). It sounds like you were able to Make Your Own Glass too and we'd love to see a photo of it if you're willing to share your craftsmanship; you're on your way to being a gaffer! Thanks again for reviewing not only the museum galleries, but your experiences in the Cafe as well. We aim to continue to exceed your expectations so bring your friends and stop back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    237
    33
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsboro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been several years since we went to the CMOG. We spent the afternoon and still did not see half of it. The demonstrations are more than worth your time to see. The glass blowing is awesome. My only disappointment is so many of the ornaments and items in the gift shop are made in China. If you want to purchase something made in Corning, be sure to check the labels.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! It's great to see our neighbors in the Twin Tiers of PA/NY. We are glad you took the opportunity to come see our new Hot Glass Show space and it sounds like you enjoyed all of the live, narrated demonstrations. I hope you also took the opportunity to check out the Made In Corning section of the Glassmarket that sells all locally crafted glass. Thanks again for visiting and be sure to check our events this year as there are many great exhibitions and celebrations of glass on the calendar for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

On a recent road trip across southwestern NY, my daughter(17) and I had an extra couple of hours before our next appointment. We saw the signs along rt 17 and decided to take a look. I hadn't been to the Corning Museum in about 25 years. My daughter agreed we should stop and see it. We were very pleased that we did. Getting through the first floor store to the ticket counter was difficult because there was SO MUCH to see there, too. We had arrived early and may have been the first visitors of the day. The entire complex is very up to date and filled with beautiful items. We spent about 1 1/2 hrs in the museum itself, although we could have spent more time if we had it. We spent more time in the store, and while they wrapped our purchases :) we decided to have lunch in the cafe. The lunch was as good or better than Panera's, offering soups, and made to order gourmet sandwiches along with other entrees. The dining area was bright and open. We had a hard time leaving when our time was up. We will definitely go back, even if we have to go pretty far out of our way, it will be worth it. It appeared that children of school age are free, and they would get a lot of enjoyment watching the demonstrations on glass blowing, etc. the facility is clean, up to date, and filled with amazing glass items of every kind. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are also glad that you stopped AND that you've written such a thorough review of your experiences at The Corning Museum of Glass. I will pass on your comments to the GlassMarket, The Cafe, and also to Guest Services so that they can keep up the good work! We are open year-round so we hope that the next time your in The Finger Lakes you stop and see us. Thanks again for stopping and enjoying the art, history, and science of glass!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The afternoon spent here was very informative. We went through the process of glass making. The products were beautifully crafted and very colorful. The gift shop was a must see. There was quite a variety of glass displays and they were so pretty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for visiting us on your trip through Upstate New York! We are thrilled that you learned so much but also appreciated the beauty of glass during your visit. Feel free to follow us on other social media to get your "glass fix" and even do some online shopping if there was something in the GlassMarket you would like to have shipped to your home address. Thanks again for your reviews during your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The world of glass in one spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

CMOG as it is commonly called around the area is a wonderful museum dedicated to glass. The hot glass show that goes on every day is fascinating. The Library of glass goes back many centuries to artifacts from the Middle east. Visitors can make glass flowers, glass beads, and fused glass products in the hot glass studio as souvenirs. It is also very family friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for visiting our attraction that is in your own back yard! As you know, exhibitions change regularly and the permanent collection is expansive, giving you many reasons to return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Corning, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corning Museum of Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.