We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corning Museum of Glass

Corning Museum of Glass
One Museum Way, Corning, NY 14830-2253
607.937.5371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Corning
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Corning Museum of Glass offers unique opportunities to explore glass: Live glassmaking demonstrations, Make Your Own Glass, hands-on glass exhibits, and stunning glass art collections.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a great way to spend our day!!! All the demonstrations were informative and fun. Staff was friendly and knowledgable. Admission was a bargain for the fun we had. Highly recommend this to all visitors to this area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for including us in your Finger Lakes itinerary. We are glad you had such a fun time. Remember, your admission tickets are always good for 2 days in a row which is usually helpful when you buy the combination ticket with The Rockwell Museum of Western Art. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    923
    227
    32
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My girls LOVE visiting CMOG! There is so much to see so plan on spending the entire day! Parking is easy and there's usually some sort of discount available for entry.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making CMOG a part of your family's Corning experience. We do offer many discounts including: 19 and under FREE admission, AAA, military, student, senior, and local resident. Wait until your girls see the upcoming Bead Exhibit "Life on a String" (May 2013 opening) they might want to try their hand at bead art afterward. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Central PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Learning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I did not particularly want to take this trip but went because my grandchildren wanted me to. I'm glad I went. The demonstrations were very informative and I learned a lot. The artists made everything look so easy. What talent!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We like it when guests are pleasantly surprised with their experiences with the world of glass. Congratulations to your grandchildren for effectively convincing you to give it a try. I'm not sure what their ages are, but I'm hopeful that for the 19 year olds and younger that the FREE admission was a perk. We hope to see you again soon as we have many new upcoming exhibitions you're sure to enjoy (and the live demonstrations are always exciting). Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“sight to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

definitely worth a visit. can see most of it in half a day. Incredible pieces on display. Can get a little crowded and then it is hard to really see everything you want to see

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your recommendation to other guests to stop in and see the art, history, and science of glass for themselves. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“World-class museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family lives about an hour from Corning by car but we have visited the museum 3 to 4 times each year for the last 10 years. There is more than you can take in in a single trip. There is a discounted admission fee for locals in surrounding area. It makes the frequent trips for us affordable. The museum has broad appeal: hot glass show and other demonstrations, glass market place, make it yourself projects ($) as well as the traditional museum. My children especially liked the science/industrial exhibits when they were young. The heart of the museum are their historical glass collection - probably the best in the world. I also enjoy their contemporary glass collection. Tip: we eat at the nearby Wegmans before or after visiting the museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry M, Marketing Staff at Corning Museum of Glass, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the review. It's great to hear that your family takes advantage of such a great local resource and attraction. There are new exhibitions scheduled throughout the year and we look forward to showing them to you, your family, and any guests visiting you. Remember that your frequent visits and appreciation for our museum will likely make a museum membership very valuable! Find out more on our website. We are proud to be in your backyard and share the most comprehensive collection of glass objects that you'll ever find. Thanks again for reviewing us for other visitors and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corning Museum of Glass also viewed

 
Corning, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Corning Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corning Museum of Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.