We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Maintained and Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
16 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Cooperstown
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Well Maintained and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We came to Cooperstown in October to enjoy the scenery and see the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The inn is perfectly located. You can walk to the Hall of Fame. For it being an old inn, the room was very spacious and comfortable. You can go downstairs in the evening and read or chat. The inn has Wi-Fi.

If you are not into baseball (my wife isn't)---Cooperstown is a fantastic getaway to just walk around and take in the some of the nicely preserved homes in an environment you don't see much anymore. If you ARE into baseball, there is no shortage of anything that concerns the sport.

We stayed at the Cooperstown inn for two days but never got to enjoy the breakfast. There were several large groups of people staying at the inn at the same time, and we didn't feel like waiting. Still, we both really enjoyed our stay and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Bunny,

You and your wife picked one of the nicest times to visit Cooperstown – the fall. Thank you for choosing to stay at our historic hotel and an extra special thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We’re sorry you didn’t get to experience our yummy breakfast. For future reference we do have additional seating in our front parlor and, when the weather is warm, we are happy to set our guests up to enjoy breakfast on the front porch.

Thanks again,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    63
    11
    14
    2
See reviews for
54
199
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a late fall sojourn in Cooperstown to imbibe some great Ommegang brews. We stayed at the lovely Inn at Cooperstown who organized the weekend. The owners, Sherrie and Marc we're right in the mix during the Craft Brew evening and the dinner at Ommegang offering insights and tips about the area. We stayed in one of the suites, and it worked out great as we could close the French doors and spare my son the snoring bear that I can be ;-) The Inn is centrally located to downtown, and a nice selection of restaurants are close at hand. We particularly liked the Cooperstown Diner, which was very cozy, with enormous portions. Breakfasts at the Inn were excellent, with a nice selection of baked goods and several different frittatas to try. Overall a weekend to cherish.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear RPM1956,

The Bed & Brew Weekend with Ommegang is so darn much fun. We’re so happy to hear that the weekend experience was a hit for you and your son! The brewery staff puts on a VIP experience that is second to none and we feel privileged to have an exclusive partnership with them. Thank you for taking the time to write a fine review about the Bed & Brew package and your visit to Cooperstown. Did you crack open that jeroboam of Ommegang beer yet?

Cheers,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay -- comfortable room, nice breakfast and incredible convenience to the tourist attractions and restaurants in town. Good value with a lot of charm. Oh, and incredibly quiet -- none of the noise issues you have in chain hotels - and lovely view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Baltogal09,

Thanks so much for choosing to stay at The Inn at Cooperstown. We appreciate your compliments and comments on the convenience and charm of our hotel. Just a few short days ago we welcomed some guests who were slated to stay at one of those “chain hotels” outside of the village and their comments were so similar to yours. The “park and walk” convenience of our location is always a hit.

Thanks again,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Came in November to see baseball hall of fame. Take a room above main floor. Rooms were cute. However the rooms were too warm. We turned the heat off. And opened the window. Comfortable beds. Breakfast was simple yet quite good. Egg casserole was delicious. Great
View out the front windows. Snow on ground helped ambiance

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sue,

You were in Cooperstown for our first snow of the season! How wonderful! Thanks for noting that in your review and thanks so much for all of your compliments. We’re so happy to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our historic hotel.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn and had a great time. Staff was pleasant, courteous, room was beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. Beautiful old building a short walk from most Cooperstown attractions and restaurants. Owner spoke to us for a while and was very helpful in pointing us the right places to go for antiques and dinner. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Very quiet time of year, so no traffic on Chestnut St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Bobbie,

Hope you found some interesting treasures at the antique places. We look forward to hearing about it on your next visit. Thanks so much for your kind review. We sincerely appreciate it!

All the best,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at this pretty inn. It is right around the corner from the main street with the Hall of Fame, Doubleday Field, baseball oriented shops and quite a few restaurants. The staff were very friendly in showing us around the inn and to our room, fixing a recalcitrant TV and explaining the radiator heating, helping us with directions and recommendations for dinner, and serving beverages in the morning. We had a 2nd floor corner room looking out over the front lawn with a nice view of the tree-shaded street. It was roomy enough for a queen size bed and two nice chairs with small table. The bathroom was adequate with a somewhat small, but well-functioning, shower. The public rooms had interesting books to read, puzzles and games to play, and were nicely furnished. The breakfasts were served in two rooms with similar buffets in each. One day we had a table to ourselves, and one morning we shared with another couple, which was nice because it allowed us to have an interesting conversation about things to do and places to eat. The hot egg dish was quiche each day, which I found rather bland. Same goes for the muffins. But there was also fresh fruit and a choice of juices and hot drinks and we had plenty to eat. All in all, it was an enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out on the street, rather than the back parking lot. Much prettier view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear PrimroseLlane,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the inn and Cooperstown. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at the inn as well as the friendliness and responsiveness of our staff. Hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did the "Bed & Brew" package, and had a great time. The inn was beautiful during October, well maintained, and the owners were super nice. Everything in Cooperstown is within walking distance. In addition to the standard stops around town, be sure to check out the new Cooperstown Distillery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear JJKQS,

We’ve passed your compliments about the Bed & Brew weekend package on to the staff at Ommegang. We are all so very happy that you enjoyed this special VIP package. And, you arrived in town just in time to experience one of Cooperstown’s newest attractions – the Cooperstown Distillery! Thanks for writing about that as well. We’ve just launched a new VIP weekend package with the distillery (more details on our website) and hope you might return to enjoy that as well.

Thanks again,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Address: 16 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Open year-round. Off-street parking. Handicap accessible. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Cooperstown to your Saves list