We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cooperstown
Save
You added The Inn at Cooperstown to your Saves list
16 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Warmer from $99!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Nipomo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What A Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Perfect location, beautiful property and a most excellent staff, not to mention a great breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed on the front porch. Quite had the feeling as we sat there on the porch that we were enjoying the quieter times of years gone past.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Michael,

Many thanks for your compliments on all the inn has to offer. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our favorite spots at the inn - the beautiful front porch!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    74
    12
    15
    2
See reviews for
63
231
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the Inn while visiting Cooperstown and the Hall. The owners and staff could not have been nicer. The only problem (and my fault) was booking on the 3rd. floor, where I learned that people my age should not book rooms on the 3rd. floor with stairs the only way up. Again, my mistake and if we get to come back we will be looking at a lower floor. My wife dropped an expensive earring in the room when we left and the staff found it and it was returned to us at home promptly. Thanks to all. Richard and Traci P. Nashville,TN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Traci and Richard,

You are very welcome! And thanks to you for your nice review. There are many guest rooms on the second level of the inn as well as a few on the first level that work out great for those that don't want to take the flight to third floor. The entire staff at the inn is always more than willing to help with bags during check in and check out. We hope the rest of your vacation was a great one!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just what we were looking for; a clean comfortable Inn close to Main street, a large porch complete with rocking chairs, off street parking with friendly and informative owners. There are many Inns and B&Bs to choose from in Cooperstown and Tripadvisor was a big help. I just want to add my positive review to those already posted for The Inn at Cooperstown. There were six of us and we had a couple staying on each floor. All reported comfortable quiet rooms and enjoyed a good night’s sleep for both of the nights spent there. Some of the rooms were small but with all the common seating areas throughout the house and on the porch it wasn’t a problem. The weather was very hot and very humid during our stay but the air conditioned rooms remained comfortable. The Inn is beautifully kept, clean and polished. Breakfasts were served from 8 to 9:30 with coffee available earlier. The breakfasts included dry cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, quiche, breads and I’m sure I’m missing something, but you get the idea. The location couldn’t be better, just far enough away from the Main Street action yet a short comfortable walk for my eighty five year old in-laws. I’m sure there are other great places to stay in Cooperstown but if I was to return this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Trenton, NJ,

We so enjoyed sharing stories and information about the area with you and your family during breakfast at the inn. Thanks so much for taking the time to submit such a kind and detailed review of your stay. We would love to have all of you stay with us again in the future and hope that the rest of your summer is equally as enjoyable as your visit to the inn and Cooperstown!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very nice B&B located just a stones throw (litteraly) to main street and the heart of Cooperstown. It was very convenient to be able to park the car in the Inn's lot and not have to worry about finding parking in town all weekend since it was so close and walkable...a big bonus. The rooms were lovely and the owners incredibly helpful and friendly. Newly installed flatscreen TVs in all bedrooms, even though you probably wont watch it because Cooperstown is so nice to walk around, are a nice addition. Common room has lots of board games and books for general use also. Another bonus for anyone traveling with bicycles is the owner's own private bike shop out back where you can store your gear and do your own quick tune ups! Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Timothy,

Thanks so much for recognizing some of the very best features of The Inn at Cooperstown! We feel fortunate to have such a great location. With the changes in parking in Cooperstown this season we are happier than ever to have plenty of off-street parking for our guests and staff.

Thanks also for mentioning the bicycle amenities that we offer to all cycling guests. We so enjoy sharing our passion for the sport. The Cooperstown area has some of the best road riding in the northeast.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My friends and I spent the 4th of July weekend in Cooperstown, We stayed at The Inn at Cooperstown. The location is great - very close to Main Street, It was easy to walk everywhere to shop and the restaurants are very close as well. The staff could not have been more attentive. Sherry was wonderful and very helpful to us. The Inn was immaculate and the "included" breakfast good. We hope to return soon.

Ronnie, Syracuse, NY

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Ronnie,

Thanks for writing a review of the inn and your stay in Cooperstown! We sincerely appreciate your compliments and it's so good to hear that you and your girlfriends had a great time. We look forward to your next visit!

Thanks again,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Inn at Cooperstown is really a gem and seems like the best place overall to stay in Cooperstown. Some places in the area are more expensive, some less, but the Inn has so many positive qualities that make it an ideal place to stay. First, the location is terrific -- just a short walk to Main Street with shops, dining, the baseball Hall of Fame, Doubleday Field and, in the other direction, a short walk to the nearby Otsego Lake. Even the Farmers Museum and Fenimore Art Museum (both nice attractions) are within walking distance (about a mile walk or five minute drive). Second, the Inn is larger than most bed and breakfast establishments (at not much additional cost by comparison) and has more space to lounge around inside and out -- especially a lovely front veranda where you can catch a breeze under shady trees sipping complimentary lemonade or iced tea. Our room was clean, comfortable and air conditioned, with a good size bath, free Wifi, and a big screen TV (with the YES network for you Yankee fans). The room did not smell of mildew as one reviewer experienced but more like a stately old home in the heat of a humid summer - nothing offensive at all. Also the breakfast wasn't "cheap cereal" but a nice spread of quiche, warm homemade muffins, toast, fruit, and excellent coffee -- perfect to start the day. (If you're looking for the "Big American" fat feast for breakfast, there's a diner down the street.) Parking is right behind the Inn, plenty of space to leave your car the entire time you're there. The Inn's staff was terrific - friendly and helpful (offering good tips on local dining and willing to call for reservations). Overall, we thought this was the perfect place to stay and a terrific value. (The Inn is far less expensive and far more quaint than the massive Otesaga Hotel, where we stopped to look around but could not get seated for lunch because the staff seemed overrun -- despite several empty tables.) So have a romantic getaway or take the kids for your baseball Hall of Fame visit at this very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Arlington, VA,

Thanks so much for writing such an extensive and complimentary review of the inn and Cooperstown. We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful village as well as the inn and we appreciate all your kind words.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The building front looks great but you enter from the ugly parking lot back. The room we were put into (3rd floor corner) smelled of a ton of mildew and was cramped with an extra bed. This poor room was given to us even though the Inn was virtually empty and the night mgr could easily have put us into a nicer space; thus, I'd have to rate this Inn's service as mediocre, in comparison to the many places of similar price range at which we've stayed. The cramped breakfast dining area was right on top of the kitchen swing doors, so there was a constant unpleasant view while eating. Breakfast was less fancy than your standard low cost biz hotel buffet setup, just some raisin bran, corn flakes, and a plain quiche. It's an OK place but definitely not worth the price point.

Room Tip: Avoid mildew smelling rooms and rooms cramped with extra beds or other items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAC-Owner, Owner at The Inn at Cooperstown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Cooperstown. We’re so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations at the inn. All guest rooms at the inn are air conditioned and each guest can control the temperature of their room. Guests also have the option of fresh air as each room has operational windows with screens. In addition, each guest room also has a fan. Our front desk staff has the flexibility to provide incoming guests with alternatives for rooms when the inn is not completely full and they are happy to do so. The entire staff at the inn is more than willing to make changes whenever possible to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay.

We receive numerous and frequent compliments on the spotlessness and cleanliness of our guest rooms. After checkout, each guest room is thoroughly cleaned by our housekeeping staff. To ensure a quality cleaning job has been done the room is then checked by another member of our staff. Any maintenance issues not covered by the housekeeping staff are immediately reported and taken care of. To be honest with you we have never had reports of nor issues with mildew in any area of the inn.

The Inn at Cooperstown serves a high quality continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast includes a hot egg entrée, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, assorted cereals and granola, homemade muffins, bread, assorted juices, tea and fresh brewed, locally roasted coffee. Our homemade muffins are oven-baked and served warm. Two types of artisanal bread, sunflower-raisin and cracked wheat, are offered for toasting. Just this morning we received several favorable comments on our egg frittata and one guest asked for the recipe. Breakfast is served in two dining rooms and the inn’s kitchen is adjacent to the dining rooms. At times when breakfast service is quite brisk our staff will leave the kitchen door open to allow for better service especially that of delivering morning beverages and muffins to each table as well as refilling coffee and hot beverage urns.

Sincerely,
Sherrie and Marc
Innkeepers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cooperstown

Address: 16 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cooperstown is a lovely historic hotel located in the heart of the village just a short walk from the National Baseball Hall of Fame and many fine attractions, restaurants, and shops. This award-winning structure was built in 1874, fully restored in 1985, and is thoughtfully updated on an annual basis. The Inn has the warmth and comfort of a home. Eighteen spotless guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, air conditioning, and flat panel televisions, are individually decorated with many charming touches. Unwind in a rocking chair on the front porch or enjoy the fireplace in a cozy sitting room after exploring the village of Cooperstown. Open year-round. Off-street parking. Handicap accessible. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Inn At Cooperstown
Bed Breakfast Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.