We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooperstown Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barnwell Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barnwell Inn
Save
You added The Barnwell Inn to your Saves list
48 Susquehanna Avenue, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cooperstown Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to get the last room available in the whole town that night. Also, we could only get away for one night and most places required a two night minimum. Tara at the Barnwell Inn was gracious enough to book us for just the one night. She was a wonderful hostess and made sure we had everything we needed, (corkscrew, etc). We stayed in the yellow room which was huge and very comfortable and overlooked the street. The grounds were very quiet and serene. We would without a doubt head back to the Barnwell Inn on our next trip to Cooperstown next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
74
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Mark and Tara are wonderful hosts for a charming bed and breakfast- The Barnwell Inn. We stayed at a B & B thinking we would get good advice on the area and the places visit. We were not disappointed! Every morning at the most scrumptious breakfast (which included dessert), Mark and Tara would helped us with our plans for the day. It was also a good time to meet with the other guests. We walked to the BB HOF and downtown for some good places to eat. We rented a pontoon boat for a few hours to relax on the lake. We went to Ommegang Brewery for the VIP tasting ($8.00 each - included a fruit and cheese tray) and stayed to have a plate of yummy mussels. Go to Cooperstown for the breakfast at the Barnwell Inn but stay for the HOF.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wow
Our first time at a B&B. If Mark and Tara's hospitality is any indication of what to expect we have been missing out on an incredible experience! First their home was beautiful...the pictures do not do it justice.,.the location is 5 minutes from everything in Cooperstown, meant we parked our car and did not need it for 2 glorious days in this beautiful and scenic town. While we both agree that the restaurant recommendations from Tara were perfect, the breakfast we were served by Mark was by far one (actually 2) of the best meals we have ever eaten. We stayed in the yellow room and my sister and her husband stayed in the 2 room suite both spots were exceptional. Silly concern from a first timer on a hot 4th of July week-end uh oh we are not staying at a hotel what if we want ice for drinks...they have you covered with the cutest ice machine which was constantly filled. Cannot wait for another chance to visit and eat those breakfasts!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Barnwell Inn in Cooperstown, NY, and everything was perfect. The hosts, Tara and Mark Barnwell, were most gracious and welcoming. The rooms in the historic 1850 house all have private baths, and some are suites. All are beautiful. But the most amazing part of the visit was the breakfast prepared by Mark. He and Tara serve about 9 am and this time it included an egg-and-taco dish, homemade biscuits, bacon and red-eye gravy!!! Real red-eye gravy!! There was also fresh fruit, juice and coffee, and special dishes for those who needed them.While breakfast seems to be different every morning, it is always really fresh and wonderful. I highly recommend The Barnwell Inn.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is offered as a suite. The yellow room is quite large. The green room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

All of the good things you read about the Barnwell Inn are true. I could not have felt more at home if I was in my own home. The breakfast is simply sensational. The location is perfect - a short walk from downtown but just far enough away to allow a quiet night's rest. Our suite had it's own little verandah overlooking the yard - perfect to sit and sip a glass of wine.

The Hall of Fame (by the way) is really first class. It would be easy to make this a kitschy/cheesy affair but it isn't. This is a definite pilgrimage must for ball fans. To be clear, however, even if you're not a ball fan you cannot help but be caught up in the history that is gathered in the hall.

Tara simply goes out of her way to make everyone feel welcome. Maybe it was luck of the draw but all of the guests were nice as well. Without question we'll be back at the Barnwell and you can be sure I will be sending freidns and family in the same direction.

Room Tip: Hard to go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was my first visit to Cooperstown and the Barnwell Inn had been recommended by a colleague. It completely lived up to everything he said about it. The accommodation is charming and comfortable, the breakfast is quite amazingly good and the level of service is simply outstanding. I shall certainly stay there again the next time I have to visit the town and I cannot recommend it too highly. Exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to Cooperstown to visit the Baseball Hall of Fame and booked the Barnwell Inn based on reviews we read on tripadvisor. So glad we did because it was fabulous. Tara and Mark are brilliant hosts,Tara with a wealth of information about restaurants etc and Mark with his delicious cooking! The breakfasts were fantastic - no need for lunch! The location was good because it was a few minutes walk to Main Street where the restaurants and the baseball museum was so we didn't need the car at all. We stayed in the Yellow room which was really comfortable.
There is a tram which runs around the town and out to the farmers museum and the Fennimore Art museum. We visited the latter which had some interesting exhibits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barnwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnwell Inn

Address: 48 Susquehanna Avenue, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barnwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.