We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to Cooperstown and Dreams Park but not a well maintained property.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake N Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake N Pines Motel to your Saves list
Lake N Pines Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7102 St. Hwy 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
londonderry, NH
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Convenient location to Cooperstown and Dreams Park but not a well maintained property.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were part of a large group that chose this motel because of its proximity to Dreams Park where our 12 year old boys were playing in a baseball tournament. The location is convenient both to Cooperstown (about 7 miles) and Dream's Park (about 12 miles). The motel is right on the lake and our children were able to swim and use the paddle boats. The view from our room (the lake) was wonderful, but the view in our room was not very nice. The motel itself has very dated rooms with very thin/small towels. The lake front/beach is not maintained very well. The continental breakfast was okay, but nothing special. The front office was not at all friendly upon check in and not helpful when the power went out. The maid/cleaning service did a great job. Overall, an adequate motel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
37
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merchantville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Okay, not technically in Cooperstown--you will not be walking to the area attractions--it's about a 7-8 mile (scenic/beautiful) drive from the main drag in Cooperstown--very dated but clean--we are not 'motel' people but we needed a place for a one night stay--I tried several B&Bs but almost all of those require a several night stay--so we gambled a bit--and not so bad--I was greeted by name upon arrival--we were offered a discount on area attractions tickets--It was a very pleasant stay--the wood paneling etc. added to the dated look--but I went in with no expectations and was very satisfied with our stay--we had a view of the lake (there was an electric pole with numerous wires in the way but gorgeous view)--we did not experience noise issues as other visitors did--we stayed in #9 room private balcony, two double beds--also had a small fridge--and small tv--it was $165 +tax= 184.80 total--I thought that was a bit pricey but we were treated very nicely--the Jacuzzi/ indoor pool area was kept open a 1/2 later for us personally because we got back to the room right before 10pm--the office clerk also brought us pool towels--she was very accommodating--and we did appreciate it! The complimentary continental breakfast was acceptable--right on the lake with a beautiful lake view--we wish we had time to try out the paddle boats and other equipment available for use on the lake--if we went back to Cooperstown, I would stay there again--it's a bit out of the way and relaxing--if you are not high maintenance this place may work for you! (We have no children but --this motel seems very kid/family friendly) Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Lake 'n Pine Motel's website does not do it justice. The views of the lake are great, and its location to Cooperstown was exactly what we needed. The rooms are definitely out-dated, with thin walls and cheap towels. But we were only there for one night, and the price was good. Be sure and "upgrade" to a balcony with a view. It was well worth the extra $10. The staff at the front counter was very nice and helpful.

The little breakfast house is cute, but the selection was pretty lame. Don't plan on a hearty breakfast here, but you can get enough to hold you over until lunch!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this motel for two nights in mid April during our visit to Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. Make no mistake, this is not a top end, star heavy resort with fancy amenities. What it is, is a charming, quiet motel on a beautiful lake that is a tremendous base of operations for excursions in Cooperstown. The staff was friendly, and the room was fine, but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were great. It rained the entire time that we were in the area, with the exception of a brief apperance of a blue sky during a Friday afternoon, so we ended up spending a little more time in our room than we ever intended to. Aside from a few minor complaints, the towels could be larger, and newer carpet would have been nice, we will utilize this motel the next time we return to Cooperstown. Between the tremendous view, and the more than fair price, this was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room if they are available. Impossible to beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Lake N Pines. Our room was clean but the décor was tired and dated, the towels small and very thin and the walls were not insulated against noise. We could hear conversations going on beside and below us. Our porch was very narrow which would have been fine but it was constructed such that when seated we looked at the railings rather than the lake. It is really sad that this motel has not been updated or landscaped nicer because it could be the place to stay when visiting the area. It is situated right next to beautiful Glimmer Glass Lake a prime spot and very near to the Town of Cooperstown and the museums and opera house.

Room Tip: Check it out first before you book it to see if this is what you would be comfortable with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just stayed two nights and it was our base for Cooperstown. Ten minute lakeside drive and your in downtown.
Check in/out was easy, room was clean and having an indoor and outdoor pool was a plus. Hot tub and sauna was also a nice to have. The views from the room and breakfast room were perfect. Sitting on the porch overlooking the lake is hard to beat.
Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors on either side of you (fortunately nothing to crazy was heard as I didn't want to have to explain to my son).
Breakfast was simple, coffee, bagels, toast, juice, cereal etc..
Recommend the Lake N Pines..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service was the take away for us. Also the lovely indoor pool and hot tub area. It rained all weekend but the grounds and our room were welcoming, clean and convenient. The continental breakfast was sufficient, the breakfast room is clean, and is on the lake. Great views. Great parking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake N Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake N Pines Motel

Address: 7102 St. Hwy 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake N Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake 'N Pines Motel offers a tranquil and picturesque view on beautiful Otsego Lake. Our guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor heated pools, the only motel/hotel in the area to offer both, and a large picnic area overlooking Otsego Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Lake N Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake n Pines Hotel Cooperstown
Lake n Pines Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake N Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.