We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, clean and well-maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohican Motel

Mohican Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mohican Motel
90 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Cooperstown
Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value, location, clean and well-maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here only one night, in a king room at the back. With its nice yard it had the feel of a B&B but with more privacy. It was minutes from Cooperstown village and everything was in great shape and spotlessly clean. There was a nice large flat-screen TV, a dorm-size fridge, and the bed was very comfortable. The only down sides were that the room was pretty small, there was no coffee, and the shower (no tub) had mediocre pressure, but for a short stay those were not a problem at all. I would definitely stay here again if I go to Cooperstown. Lovely motel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was a trip planned to celebrate my travelling companion's 60th birthday. She had wanted to go to the Baseball Hall of FAme in Cooperstown.One of my jobs was to find accomodation.I decided on the Mohican after I called a few other places.The MOhican seemed to match our needs.
It was a clean,cozy room with a small fridge and enough other furniture to suit our needs for a three night stay.The fridge and clothes hanging area were in an alcove that was in the back corner.It was good to have to have the clothes hangers in the back corner and not right at the entrance which is the norm
We didn't use the air conditioner and as a result can't comment on that. It was lovely weather but we had a good cross breeze.
The owner and staff were very pleasant.
You could walk downtown to shop , eat or go to the baseball of fame
The bathroom was clean and looked as if had been updated in the past while.
The TV worked very well.
I would defnitely stay there again.

Notes: 1.There wasn't a coffee maker in the room.
2. The first night deposit had to be mailed. Couldn't use credit card over the phone to make first night deposit.

Room Tip: Note: I don't have a particular tip this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Now mind you, that's "value for money" by Cooperstown standards. Almost anywhere else, this very basic spot would seem overpriced. But if you want to stay right in town here, you'll probably not do better. Photos on website are accurate. Clean, good housekeeping, paint job and carpeting looked recent, mattress acceptable, room lighting adequate, bathroom squeaky clean and well lit, shower pressure excellent, lots of hot water. Bar frig in room, nice flatscreen TV, free Wi-Fi but oddly, no phone, and therefore no phone book. Always can make good use of a phone book when visiting a new locality.

We enjoyed Cooperstown and would probably stay at this same place in future but one should be aware of certain limitations. While certainly "in town", the Mohican is not really close enough to town center that one could do without a car. Our unit was in a two-storey building that had eight other units. On the weekend of our stay, several of these other units had been taken over for some sort of group or family gathering, and we had major noise issues. Also, my wife (who suffers with allergies) found our unit very musty. Didn't bother me at all--just like Natty Bumppo's rustic cabin, right?--but choose your room carefully, the units in the one-storey building might have been preferable on these issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed two nights over Labor Day weekend. The room, bathroom and area outside were all very clean. Our room had a new flat screen tv and new, small fridge. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch and the lawn area. My only complaint is the condition of the mattress-our room really needed a new one. Our relative who stayed in another room said her bed was very comfortable. We all agreed that we would return for another stay. The rates were very reasonable and the location of the motel was very good. Its close to town and convenience stores. The staff was very nice too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This little motel was comfy, clean and was in walking distance of the Main Street attractions and restaurants. Ond day I drove down to Main Street and could not find parking and traffic was awful. Drove back to the motel and walked back to town. Nice walk through quiet tree lined streets with lovely homes. Stopped at the AAA office and got maps and brochures about things to do in Cooperstown.
This motel was reasonably priced compared to the other motels and B&B's in the area. Sometimes one must realized that establishments in a tourist area only have a few months to make a profit and do not offer any discounts. The room was clean and quiet. Stewart's was a short walk down the street to get coffee and a breakfast sandwich. Bought it back to my room and sat outside on the bench and enjoyed breakfast.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was nice and clean, and reasonably priced (have you seen Cooperstown's prices?!?). And really, what else matters?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fallston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I do two trips a year to Cooperstown. Always stay at the Mohican. Best local stay for the price. Walking distance to the HOF museum. Although it is an older motel the rooms are updated and always clean and comfortable. Thanks again for a nice weekend! Try to see you in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mohican Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohican Motel

Address: 90 Chestnut Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cooperstown we are convenient to museums, restaurants, and stores. We are in walking distance to the Baseball Hall of Fame and about 3 miles to Dream Park. We offer a choice of room with one double bed, one king size bed, two double beds, or three double beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mohican Hotel Cooperstown
Mohican Motel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohican Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mohican Motel to your Saves list