We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Neat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Save
You added Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown to your Saves list
107 Beaver Meadow Road, Cooperstown, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Clean and Neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

When you arrive you expect far less than you get. Definitely 'country' but extremely well maintained, clean rooms. The owners are friendly and helpful. For the price - worth the night - but if you can stay "in town". ...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    31
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
59
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Do not judge a book by its cover - this place doesn't look like much but it was perfect for a 1 day stop in Cooperstown. It was clean and it had a fridge and microwave and coffee maker. We stayed in the Rookie Suite and it was big enough for a family of 4. When you check in as other reviewers said you get to choose some art by the owner. It was lovely art and a very nice gesture. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We just got home from a much needed impromptu trip to Cooperstown. We have a dog and expected that it wouldn't be easy to find a decent place to stay. When we were ready to find a hotel for the night, we googled "pet friendly" hotels in Cooperstown and Gateway Inn & Suites popped up. I was very happy when we got there because it was on a beautiful site with a stunning view. The lovely greeting from the owner, Eric, the comfortable room, and the gift of a piece of Eric's artwork, left me with a good feeling about everything. This weekend renewed me in a lot of way and staying at Gateway was a big part of it. Thanks, Eric! We will be returning again, and again.

Room Tip: I only know about the dog-friendly room that we stayed in (which was lovely) but I am sure that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Really a fun place to stay. Off of the main roads, it could be a little hard to find at night, but it sure is nice and quiet. Very clean room, had a real homey feel to it. Will definitely stay here again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Gateway inn was great, a perfect place to stay if you want to feel like you are at your home away from home in Cooperstown. We really loved that they allowed us to bring our dog along! Also, the the rooms were nice and it was a great deal for the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a very quaint place just a short drive away from the heart of Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame. The owners are very personable with a nice sense of warmth. Great family atmosphere. And great artwork to boot!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I had to stay overnight in Cooperstown at the last minute because of family at the hospital in town. After calling around and getting prices I could not afford, I stumbled upon this hidden treasure. The price was great, but what I appreciated most was the owner's kindness. I was a total basket case, got lost on the way, etc. and he was so sympathetic and patient with me and I just loved the quaint room. Just don't forget your toiletries like I did! And if you are a light sleeper you might want to take earplugs as you can hear through the walls. So close to town and yet you feel like you are deep in the country. Just lovely!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown

Address: 107 Beaver Meadow Road, Cooperstown, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#4 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘A short drive south of the village at County Highway 33 and Beaver Meadow Road, the Gateway Inn and Suites of Cooperstown offers rooms and suites in a variety of sizes in a country-style, park-like environment. With a swimming pool, basketball court, soccer field and other outdoor activities at economical rates, this hotel offers one of the best values in the area.’ – USA Today ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn & Suites Of Cooperstown Hotel Cooperstown
Gateway Inn And Suites Of Cooperstown
Gateway Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.