We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room,great hosts,great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
132 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Blues Getaway
Ranked #6 of 30 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great room,great hosts,great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed with Patti and Steve as we were travelling from England to surprise our Grandson who was playing baseball at Dreamspark.Everything about our stay was perfect with Patti even driving us to Dreamspark for the opening ceremony where we could meet our son.Saras room was lovely,Steves breakfasts were fantastic with a different dish every morning.They gave us recommendations for dining and were happy to chat with us in the evenings on the porch. We can honestly say this is one of the best holidays we have had. Thanks again Patti and Steve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked my stay at the Rose and Thistle based the excellent reviews here. I can without a doubt say that my expectations were exceeded. Steve and Patti were excellent hosts that are warm and welcoming.

My husband and I will definitely miss waking up to the delicious breakfast every morning. If you stay there and the pumpkin bread is available you must try it. The bread is so GOOD!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Rose and Thistle is a terrific Bed and Breakfast located in beautiful Cooperstown, close to the Baseball Hall of Fame, fine museums and other attractions as well as numerous good restaurants. We have stayed at the Rose and Thistle three times in the last few years, taking close friends along with us. Patti and Steve are the ultimate hosts. The site is immaculate and very comfortable. They are knowledgable, thoughtful and informative about the area and the breakfast that is provided each day features Steve's unique daily creations. We have never been disappointed. If you are visting Cooperstown to see the Hall of Fame, the other museums, The Glimmerglass Opera or other local attractions, you must strongly consider staying with Patti and Steve. We will certainly be returning once again.

Pat and Pattie D.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We chose the Rose & Thistle because it was one of the accommodations in Cooperstown that offered the VIP weekend at the Baseball Hall of Fame. We had never stayed at a b&b before. The entire experience was wonderful. Patti & Steve D'Esposito made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. The home is an old treasure and very charming. The breakfasts were delicious and the lovely china and linens made breakfast special. Clean freaks will love this place - you could almost eat off the floor! We would recommend the Rose & Thistle to anyone planning to go to Cooperstown. And on a side note - the VIP tour at the Baseball Hall of Fame is worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

great location, great hosts, would stay again in the near future. Walking distance to main st, hall of fame. Owners offered great recommendations regarding local eateries and the like.
well furnished rooms with tons of privacy. My wife has a food allergy and they were very cooperative in modifying breakfast, enough to eat so we skipped lunch both days

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Rose and Thistle is a charming B&B pretty close to the attractions in Cooperstown. Patti and Steve D'Esposito are friendly, considerate hosts. The Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. Our complaints were: The bathroom was way too small (unavoidable in an old house such as this) and the room was smallish too. But overall a nice experience. We recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent a winter weekend at the Rose and Thistle. Patti and Steve went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. We had a wonderful homemade breakfast (Patti even sent us home with recipes!) each morning accompanied by lovely conversations with our fabulous hosts. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cozy; we left well rested.

During our stay we visited the Baseball Hall of Fame and the Ommegang Brewery. Patti and Steve gave us great tips on the best way to experience these and other local attractions. They also gave us fabulous restaurant recommendations, including Alex and Ika's. They were spot on with everything!

Patti and Steve went above and beyond when they accomodated my terrible travel delays. When I called to let them know that we would be arriving six hours late, (12:30 at night) Steve reassured me that it was no problem and that they would leave us our key and a note with instructions if they were not still up to greet us. They even offered to rearrange the breakfast schedule for the next day if we needed them to. Their kindness was the bright spot of that day!

I have been gushing about the Rose and Thistle ever since I returned home, and I even recommended it to a perfect stranger who I overheard talking about a possible upcoming trip to Cooperstown.

I can't wait to return to the Rose and Thistle; a new home away from home. Thank you for everything Steve and Patti!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.