We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like going home every July” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast
132 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Blues Getaway
Ranked #6 of 30 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's like going home every July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Patti & Steve D'Esposito are the innkeepers that keep you coming back every year.
We meet every year for the Baseball Hall of Fame weekend with the same people.
This will be our 9th year.
Our chef Steve is just unbelievable and if you forgot it Patti has it.
Patti and Steve have people for opera, baseball, foliage, and just passing thru.
The more time you spend with Patti & Steve the more you become part of their Cooperstown family.
We love them!!!!!
.The Corona Family -- New Jersey

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

What can we say? If you want a fabulous expereince when you are staying in Cooperstown, then make reservations at the Rose & Thistle.

My husband and I were lucky enough to find Steve and Patti, who own and run the 'B&B, over 8 years ago and we have never entertained staying anywhere else when we visit.

We have not only gained our secret getaway but have found two wonderful people whom we consider a part of our family. They go above and beyonnd to take care of their guests and the food is incredible.

When you visit Cooperstown and you don't stay at the Rose & Thistle, you missed out and short changed yourselves.

Do yourself a favor and call Steve and Patti to book today!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Rose and Thistle was a delightful B&B experience for us. The facilities were attractive, comfortable, and clean. The food was delicious and plentiful. Patti and Steve were helpful and interesting hosts and went all out to make us feel welcome. We heartily recommend their establishment to Cooperstown visitors!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Patti and Steve are wonderful hosts! They definitely made our stay more enjoyable than if we had stayed elsewhere. They provided us with a number of recommendations for meals and were very informative to what Cooperstown has to offer. Although we pretty much knew our itinerary was going to be Baseball HOF (2 min drive) and then Ommegang Brewery (15 min drive), Patti and Steve made us wish we had more time to explore Cooperstown. Not to mention, Steve makes a great breakfast.... you will not leave in the morning hungry thats for sure.

If you are looking for a B&B in Cooperstown, stop your search now, and give them a call.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We enjoyed our first stay at The Rose and Thistle in 2006, that we decided to stay again. We are on a college trip with our daughter in the east coast and decided it would be a nice diversion to go to Cooperstown. What a great way to break up the trip. Patti and Steve are so warm and friendly. We stayed in the Sara Room- third floor, as we did in 2006. Perfect for a family of four. Patti makes a delicious breakfast. We can't wait to visit again! Thank you Patti and Steve for making our second trip so nice.

Room Tip: Sara's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Proprietors Pattie and Steve will make your stay in Cooperstown enjoyable. Whether giving you the low down on where to eat (both with experience being NYC restuaranteers; Pattie as manager of the Saks 5th Avenue cafe or Steve as a restaurant owner right off Wall Street), telling you how to get around and what to do, or facilitating great conversation at breakfast, this is a great place to stay. It is clean, convenient (yet not in the middle of town) with some great off-season deals and their breakfasts are wonderful to start your day. A great base for visiting the Baseball Hall of Fame and just enjoying Cooperstown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Rose and Thistle. The close proximity to downtown Cooperstown and the National Baseball Hall of Fame was convenient. Near the shores of Otsego Lake, it was like taking a vacation at a quiet, coastal town. We raved about it so much a relative gave us a gift certificate that we cannot use. We'd like someone to benefit from this gift, so contact me at acwindeler-at-gmail-dot-com if interested.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Chestnut St., Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Thistle Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.