We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Mill

Pepper Mill
5418 New York 28, Cooperstown, NY 13326
(607) 547-8550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 56 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Family Fare, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hand-cut Steaks and Homestyle Entrees.
home
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The restaurant looks old and it smells like a basement, but the food was very good. We all ordered steaks (Sirloin and NY) and every one in our party was satisfied.
The have a fresh salad bar with several options, and the service was excellent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    8
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No complaints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had dinner here on a Monday night, place was pretty quiet. As we were being seated there was a party of 20-25 people coming in as well; all through dinner you never would have known, it was fantastic. The salad bar was great, everything was fresh, my husband had the buffet and was pleased there was something for everyone! I had the shrimp scampi and it was very good, the shrimp were cooked perfectly; it was a very large portion so I ended up taking most of it home! Three words: Strawberry Mango Moscato!!! So good! Flourless chocolate cake was also great! Our server was John, very nice, checked on us frequently and was great! This place definitely deserves your business if you're looking for a great meal at a great price! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The prime rib was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had the buffet, with really good food. The salmon was lovely, the prime rib rare enough for me. My husband had the chicken and he said it was very good. My only complaint-the salad bat had canned fruit. Fresh fruit in the summer is what should be there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A welcoming place to dine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Cooperstown this summer, and had the good fortune to dine at The Pepper Mill at the edge of town. We didn't realize that many restaurants' kitchens closed at 8:00 p.m. on weekdays, and so we called to find out how late they'd be serving. Greg, the manager, said he would hold the kitchen open for us if we were nearby. Everyone was so kind! Our waitress, Bri, made sure that we had all our options for dinner, including the salad bar (which was VERY good), and that our steaks were made to order. The food was extremely tasty--the steaks were tender and perfectly done, and the portions were generous. The Pepper Mill is an excellent option for hearty comfort food in a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meredith, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

very good food, average prices. i havent been there in a year or so but it was good when i was there and would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Mill also viewed

 
Cooperstown, NY
 

Been to Pepper Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.