We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubleday Cafe

Doubleday Cafe
93 Main St, breakfast, lunch, dinner, Cooperstown, NY 13326-1505
607-547-5468
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 restaurants in Cooperstown
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
North Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best places in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

There is not a wealth of dining options in Cooperstown, so I have been here a number of times. It is not a big place but it gets the job done. Food is tasty and a good value. There are some good beers on tap, especially the local Ommegang brews.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    111
    152
    56
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Real Good Burger in a Cool Local Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was my first trip to Cooperstown and my wife and I enjoyed the experience. Great time of year to go, because its not crazy busy. Had lunch at Doubleday and really enjoyed the quality of food. I had a double cheeseburger w macaroni salad. Good burger cooked the way I asked. Very tasty. The macaroni salad was really good also. Didnt even have to season it.

Will be making Doubleday a regular stop when we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Huntington, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

nice small place to eat. good food and drinks.
they have tones of specials and awesome Deseret, and the staff was so nice and new what they were doing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New York, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmopshere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Have enjoyed lunch here many times, always a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Nice place right on Main Street in Cooperstown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

a friend and I wanted a "winter respite:" which means we are tired of winter and
needed something different to do. So, we decided to go to Cooperstown and have lunch at a place we have never been before. A lot of places are closed, but some remain open. I think that I may have actually eaten at the Doubleday once years ago, but I am not sure.

Anyways, the service was great. We both chose the cheese steak sandwich which was very good. It came on a nice hard roll rather than the usual soft roll. It was not dripping with grease, like most cheesesteak sandwiches are.

The price was a tiny bit high, but we expect that in Cooperstown. The atmosphere is pretty good. I will probably eat there again, but not in tourist season.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubleday Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Doubleday Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubleday Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.