We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain right on the lake.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cooperstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
7078 State Hwy. 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Cooperstown B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bargain right on the lake.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable and a short distance from "downtown" Cooperstown. A throw-back to simpler times, circa 1950 and an escape from the glitzier aspects of the commercial properties near the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. While we have had to make improvements over the years and add some modern amenities (flat screens going in the motel, wifi being installed, microwaves and toasters in the coffee room) we have purposely kept it like you went back in time. This is what brings people back year after year. We had noticed the musty smell ourselves and have made some adjustments that has alleviated this as much as you can being in the woods on the water.

We hope you get a chance to return some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosemont, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We truly felt in a time warp during our one night stay in the motel section of this quite unusual spot. It feels as if not one thing has been updated since 1950. It also may be the cleanest motel we've ever been in. Slight musty smell and not the world's most comfortable beds. Yes there is a view of the lake, slightly masked by a lot of tree/bush overgrowth. People in other rooms and in the cottages could not have been more friendly and owner lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Thats exactly the feel we want our visitors to have. We did notice the musty smell and have hopefully cleared that up. I shared with our housekeepers your comment and we agree...they take great pride in their rooms :). Hope you find your way back again.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family has stayed in the cottages for 50+ years - look forward to the trip every year. Great location on Otsego lake. Sandy Beach, docks for your boat. Not a luxury resort if that is what you are looking for - if you are staying in the cottages you have to bring your own linens, paper products, etc - but clean, dependable accommodations each year. Many memories here and hopefully many more to come!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Having our families come back year after year is one of the greatest pleasures for us as your hosts. Always look forward to seeing everyone old and new and while we have upgrades, maintenance and ocassional new amenities, we know that all of you want it to remain exactly how you remember it :).

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family has been renting a cabin at Aalsmeer for over 34 years. You can't find a rental on Otsego Lake with a better view and access to the lake. The same family has owned and operated Aalsmeer for decades. Nothing ever changes here and that is one thing we absolutely love! Renting the cabins year after year, you will see the same faces. It is such a wonderful sense of community, safely and lots of fun! I highly recommend Aalsmeer to anyone looking for a family friendly vacation spot on Otsego Lake.

Room Tip: All the cabins except for one have two rooms. Each cabin has excellent views and access to the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I agree as my family still comes and I had come since I was younger and am now blessed to live here :). We always look forward to our return families every year and is what makes Aalsmeer so special. While there are upgrades, maintenance and addition of some modern amenities we try and keep the atmosphere as everyone fondly remembers it.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Been here many times both in the motel and cottages. Owner and his staff are warm, friendly and truely have their heart in the place which has been in the family for over 50 years. Its rustic, comfortable, has beautiful surroundings, is close enough to town yet you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Cottages are complete for a family getaway and most visitors come back year after year. Motel has AC, TV and fridge and a beautiful lakeview lawn and picture windows. Granted there aren't all the fancy computer services, phone service is limited and doesn't have all the motel "bells & whistles" but if you want a true vacation and relax, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: No pool but has lake swimming, beach and dock. Boat launching and docks included in stay. Pets are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This might be okay for some people, but be aware of what you're getting into. The rooms are musty and bare-boned, filled with forest bugs. The floors and carpet were always damp. I must have killed 30 bugs over a three-day stay and a few got into my luggage only to appear. There's no luxury whatsoever if that's what you're looking for. No phones, no cell service, no internet, and a very old and small tv with little reception. I just needed a dog-friendly place to stay while I visited Cooperstown and this worked for me, but it's hardly comfortable. It still cost $130+ a night, so hardly a bargain. The proprietors are nice people who did their best. The scenery of the lake behind it is pretty. I stayed in the motel portion of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are very sorry your stay was not a positive one. Our housekeepers keep spotless rooms and of course being in the woods, there is ocassion to have bugs but quite honestly have never had a problem and we have visitors come back year after year in the motel as well as the cottages. There had been a musty smell which we have fixed and televisions are being replaced with flat screens to accommodate cables HD. Wifi is also being installed which has become a necessity to most.

Naturally,. your comment of "Rustic, bare-bones" is still correct and that is what brings our visitors here. Of course everyone's accommodation preferences are different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Let me begin with the disclaimer that if you are addicted to your computer or cell phone, this is NOT the place for you. There is no WiFi, and we had no cell phone reception; in fact, there was no telephone in our room. This being said, if you are looking for a clean, quiet place that is family friendly, this is it. It reminded me of motels from when I was a kid-- nothing fancy, but extremely clean, and in a beautiful setting. We stayed in the motel section, but there were a variety of cottages for rent also. All are on a hillside overlooking Lake Otsego, and motel rooms have a picture window looking out onto the lake. There is a small private beach and a small dock. The bathroom appeared to have been recently remodeled in retro colors that suited the quaint atmosphere of the motel. The room was spacious with 2 double beds, dresser, 2 chairs, a small table, a small cable TV, and a refrigerator. There was a room open for coffee, tea, etc., but we did not use it. We were visiting the area in the off-season (which seems to be anytime after Labor Day), and the motel closes for the winter season, so they are not open after the first week of October. We thoroughly enjoyed the solitude and quiet, and having no access to the distractions of phones and computers was great. The leaves were turning and the mountains in the fall made for a spectacular nature show; we amused ourselves with the scenery. A gentleman whose name was, I believe, Peter took care of the accommodations, and was very nice. Due to the lateness of the season, we were the only ones in the motel section (it appeared that one or two of the cabins were rented), but were treated kindly. The extra bonus was that we paid off-season rates of about $60 per night, which was more than reasonable. It is about a 10 minute drive to Cooperstown, and about a half -hour to Oneonta (if you can't live without a shopping mall or a movie theater). If the back-to-basics retreat is what appeals to you, Aalsmeer is worth checking out.

Room Tip: There are choices of cottages or motel rooms. We had an end room in the motel, but it appears all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glimmerglasslakelove, Manager at Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review as that is exactly the way we want folks to feel when they stay with us. We have had a chance to get some exterior improvements made so that visitors will want to see all that we have to offer. We are also in the process of getting WiFi as no matter how much you want to "get away from it all" it has become a necessity especially with phone service still not very good. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages

Address: 7078 State Hwy. 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cooperstown
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aalsmeer Motel and Cottages is located on Otsego Lake just 7 miles up the lake road from main street Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame, just 1 mile from the Glimmerglass Festival Opera House. It has 10 fully efficient cottages and 8 motel rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalsmeer Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.