We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer, food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Ommegang

Brewery Ommegang
656 County Highway 33, Cooperstown, NY 13326 (Formerly Ommegang Brewery)
+1 800-544-1809
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Ommegang is hard to pronounce but easy to find. Located just five miles south of Cooperstown, NY, our farmstead brewery is open year-round for daily tours and tastings. An intimate walking tour puts you right on the brew floor amidst the sights and sounds of Belgian-style brewing in action. Our tour guides will help you discover how superior ingredients and time-honored methods like open fermentation and warm cellaring produce better tasting beer. But don´t take our word for it, taste them for yourself. In addition to free tours, inexpensive tastings of our six award-winning Belgian-style ales are available. Afterwards, stay for a meal at Café Ommegang. The café offers a full menu of Belgian-inspired cuisine plus more Ommegang beers as well as Duvel imports from Belgium. Relax with a picnic lunch or toss the Frisbee on our beautiful 136-acre brewery grounds. Ommegang has special events all year long, including the “Belgium Comes to Cooperstown” beer festival in August, athletic events, holiday events, family events, cultural events, and a summer concert series. Handicapped parking, entry and toilets available. Group tours available. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and New Years Day
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I think the title sums up this review. The flight of beers was excellent. I asked the beer tender to choose and they were chosen well. The Croque Madame was perfect. The egg wasn't broken ( a rarity) the charcuterie plate was a wonderful plate of duck two ways, dried meats along with chutney jam and very good beer mustard. I had the daily moules which I highly recommend. Plump juicy mussels from PEI that still had a taste of the sea in a delicate white wine pesto sauce along with sliced baguette to soak up that saucy goodness. If you go Bon Appetite !! It does get busy but enjoy a glass of beer while you wait.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yes, the beers are that good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are a fan of Belgian beers or full bodied beers in general, this is a must do stop in Cooperstown. About a 10 minute drive from Dreams Park (between games mom and dad!) the café also serves high quality unusual food for a brew pub. Café is small for the busy summer season, but if you can have one in your party get a bar seat, you can order food for everyone and then eat outside on the deck instead of waiting 1 hour + for a table. Fries with side sauces are amazing. Brats, chicken, everything great. Worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“so busy they need to scale back the menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

On a cool, rainy Friday this place was packed by 1pm. This is great, but the food has dropped in quality since we visited two years ago. They were already out of moules (mussels) and other dishes. It's a brewery so I totally understand the need to offer dozens of beers, but the food menu is also big; offering fewer dishes might help. The fish cake sandwich was not great (weird chopped fish on a hamburger bun), and the spinach-goat cheese crepe was mediocre. At least the soup of the day, poblano corn chowder, was fabulous. The servers did their best, but they are overworked and thus service is slow. We skipped coffee and dessert because we figured it'd add another 30 minutes, and people were waiting for our seats at the bar. My suggestion to Ommegang: Simplify the menu and probably everyone will be happier.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

very pleasant restaurant addition to the brewery enhances the trip to make this a more complete expereince. The food is good, service is prompt -- but be prepared to wait-- as this is a very popular spot. Communal tables can make for getting to know someone new -- or just talking with your party-- the choice is yours! the brewery is located in the rolling hills below Cooperstown -- more of an adult spot.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wish we had had more time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were on our way back to Oneonta after visiting Cooperstown and were delighted to have lunch at the brewery. It is a very popular spot.

We were limited on time so we were unable to take the brewery tour which looked like it would be highly entertaining. We also were not able to eat in the restaurant, but we were able to have lunch out on the patio behind the restaurant and store.

The food was excellent and the setting was delightful.

We will definitely stop by this brewery again, if we have the opportunity of visiting Cooperstown in the near future.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewery Ommegang also viewed

 

Been to Brewery Ommegang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Ommegang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.