We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Motel

Save Saved
You added Lake View Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake View Motel
6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special weekly rate offer
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Cooperstown
Orange County, Southern California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My cousin and I stayed here last weekend. The view was fabulous. The room was clean. Coffee maker, fridge, micro, makeup remover pads, dryer, shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser in shower, a/c. The staff was so helpful. When we checked in Saturday night the fellow recommended places to eat for dinner and answered any questions we had. We followed his recommendation and had a very nice meal just down the road. He gave us hints about parking in town. Next morning another fellow answered other questions we had about the area and also recommended a breakfast place. We followed his advice also and enjoyed a great breakfast. We just really felt like it was a good choice for us. Clean, views and friendly staff. Just what we were looking for when we planned this.....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
It was terrific receiving your review and learning you had a pleasant experience while staying with us. We are happy our representing of other Cooperstown establishments was helpful to you and the restaurants were good choices. we hope to have the chance to greet you again in the future. Thank you for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    43
    17
    4
    9
See reviews for
32
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only a couple of miles from the baseball hall of fame. Rooms are very clean, many things do do with children. Manger and workers make you feel at home. Coffee in the morning, just perfect to start your day. My family enjoyed swimming, the paddle boats and fishing. Only thing walls are thin in the motel , we will try cottages next time.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your kind words. we are very pleased to learn your time with us was enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to greet you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were only fortunate enough to spend one night at Lake View, and we were pleasantly surprised the moment we walked in the room. The low room price had me worried, but we walked into an immaculate room. We were in the front room that had an awesome "lake view" and a deck. It was not a huge room, but perfectly sized for 2 adults. The staff went over the top to make us feel welcome. I was greeted with a smile when I walked into the office, and the staff was readily available to answer our questions and give advice on traveling into the village. I would gladly recommend this to any traveler and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thanks for helping make our trip really fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. Nothing approaches the good feeling we get if our guests enjoyed their time at the Lake View. We hope you were treated as our extended family. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in room 35 up the hill. It was so quiet and the view is amazing. We drove and took the Trolley into the village for $2 each which was for all day. Much cheaper then parking our car for two people. The beds are comfy and the room spotless. All of the staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The paddle boats were free so we used them and had a nice tour around the lake. They also have fishing rods available. We can't wait to return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It is a great treat to hear from our guests and learn they enjoyed their time with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place with a friendly and helpful staff. It was right after Memorial Day and the rush so it was a quiet and relaxing spot. I stayed in the upper level which was clean and a very nice place. The view was spectacular and improved with the sun setting. It is out of the way, so if you want to visit Cooperstown you can drive about 5 miles and park at the trolley pickup location and travel for the day. Very convenient to Cooperstown. They have access to the lake but I did not take advantage of it or check out all the amenities. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
RangerB58, We thank you for your comments. You captured one of our most important goals to provide our guests with a very clean room. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our family of 4 (2 adult sons) recently visited Cooperstown for a concert at the Brewery! What a blast! The atmosphere of this hotel was stunning. The mist coming off the lake in the morning was spectacular. We were lucky enough to have reserved cottages 23 and 24. These cute little stand alone cottages were perfect! Each had its own bedroom, a sofa bed and a roll away bed tucked in the closet. Would definately recommend using the roll away bed over the sofa which had the dreaded metal bar across it. We used the oven and fridge (for late night heat-up leftovers), drinks after concert etc. and made breakfast and coffee in the morning. Very convenient having all the amenities. The cottages are tucked away from the highway (you don't even see or hear it). We had our own parking which was great. The cottages were clean, quiet and like a little stand alone house. Even had a patio with deck, sliding doors and outside table and chairs. When it got chilly at night it even had its own furnace! Check in was easy and they were very accomodating as we were running late to our dinner reservation and they gladly called them for us. Word of warning.. we completely missed the blinking red light on Chestnut street coming home late after concert. The state police were sitting right there.. and pulled my husband over. After checking us out and realized we had drove 7 hours from Canada to attend that concert and it was late at night and we did not have a clue (no stop sign) that we could see.. he kindly let us go on our way and even warned of the deer on the road to hotel. Now thats New York hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Get a cottage up on hill away from road. Number 23, 24 or 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at the Lakeviewmotel. We really appreciate our guests who both found much to their liking but were able to contribute to our future improvement with some solid observations. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend away to tour Ommegang and other offerings on the wine & beer trail. We arrived late at night and it was pitch dark and stormy and went right to sleep. What a surprise when we opened the door in the morning! What a beautiful view of the lake!!

The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this place for anyone traveling to Cooperstown.

And the dock across the street is really beautiful to sit and have a glass of wine!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeviewmotel, Manager at Lake View Motel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. we are very happy you enjoyed your visit with us. O wake up to the lake all summer and totally agree with your comments. We hope to greet you again at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Motel

Address: 6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Cooperstown, New York? The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Beautiful Lake Otsego, the Dreams Park, Leather Stocking golf course, the Farmers Museum are just a few of the many attractions in America's perfect village.The Lake View Motel on Lake Otsego is just 6 miles from the Village of Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame. We offer a selection of rooms, suites and cottages to accommodate your special needs. The beach area includes a swim dock and float, paddle boats at no charge, fishing dock and sun deck. Our spacious well kept grounds have more than ample room for that game of catch or to toss the football and Frisbee. With grills and picnic tables our "backyard" is perfect for your family picnic.You will greatly enjoy the terrific lake views from anyplace on the facility. We are open from May to mid- October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Cooperstown
Lake View Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.