We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake View Motel to your Saves list
Lake View Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for one night. Beautiful location, the staff was very friendly. Across a pretty busy road from the hotel is the lake with the hotels swimming and fishing area with paddle boats. Very nice. Short ride to downtown.
The room was billed as a king with a pullout bed. The room was very big and was clean but very dated with refrigerator, microwave, small coffee maker and old low def TV. hThe tub/shower had a big dispenser with soap, shampoo, and conditioner, and they all seemed like the same thing. Not a big deal but kind of funky. Finally the king bed, seemed smaller than that, and was kind of worn/lumpy.
Overall we really did like this place, and we would probably stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
41
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rochester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed overnight at this motel.The room was OK. It has a beautiful view of the lake and for a short stay, it is adequate. However, since the motel is not directly on the lake but rather across the road from it, you can hear every single vehicle that passes all night long. So, if you are a light sleeper, do not stay here. Otherwise, it is convenient to both Cooperstown the town and Glimmerglass, the opera.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The room was ok. We stayed in room 33, which is in the back of the property with a good view of the lake. The grounds are also well maintained and plenty of chairs and picnic tables to enjoy the lake view.

The one thing I would say is that it appears when they cleaned the room before we checked in, they didn't change the waste paper bag in the bathroom, because there was chewing gum in the bottom of the bag when we checked in. Other than that, the room was clean and acceptable.

Room Tip: Try to request the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford.ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Is a very clean managed facility. beautiful scenery clean rooms enjoyed the quiet time after games. Is only a short drive to Dreamspark to enjoy games and downtown Cooperstown . Stayed Friday to Thursday never had a problem would stay again. Recommend for a stay.

Room Tip: Pick one that overlooks the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great service, rooms are old but clean. Close to restaurants and attractions. Have to cross a busy road to go swimming and fishing and paddle boating. VIEW was beautiful. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The rooms and the grounds are spotless (and I am extremely picky about this ), the staff is helpful and friendly and the view is incredible. The lakefront area kept my family entertained for hours, swimming, fishing and paddle boating. Close to the local attractions. We stayed in the top area of the hotel which has a spectacular view and a huge grassy area . I can't wait to back ! I could sit and look at that lake all day .

Room Tip: Staying in a room up the hill will get you a great view and a big grassy area. There is a steep h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We needed a moderately priced motel during the week in order to attend a funeral. We used Trip Advisor to help us locate the Lake View Motel and Marina. We spoke with the desk by phone and made arrangements. The staff, both on the phone and in person, were very accomodating, friendly, and great with suggestions for things to do as well as providing directions. The room was spotless and comfortable and the view of the lake was awesome. Would love to be able to stay there again when we could enjoy the lake and Cooperstown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Motel

Address: 6805 State Highway 80, Cooperstown, NY 13326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Cooperstown, New York? The National Baseball Hall of Fame, Beautiful Lake Otsego, the Dreams Park, Leather Stocking golf course, the Farmers Museum are just a few of the many attractions in America's perfect village.The Lake View Motel on Lake Otsego is just 6 miles from the Village of Cooperstown and the Hall of Fame. We offer a selection of rooms, suites and cottages to accommodate your special needs. The beach area includes a swim dock and float, paddle boats at no charge, fishing dock and sun deck. Our spacious well kept grounds have more than ample room for that game of catch or to toss the football and Frisbee. With grills and picnic tables our "backyard" is perfect for your family picnic.You will greatly enjoy the terrific lake views from anyplace on the facility. We are open from May to mid- October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Cooperstown
Lake View Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.