We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than the Baseball Hall of Fame” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Otesaga Resort Hotel to your Saves list
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book your 2015 Getaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Much more than the Baseball Hall of Fame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our 5th trip to Cooperstown, NY dating back to October, 1983 when I proposed to my wife at the Otesaga Resort Hotel (we've stayed here 4 times and once at their smaller, sister property, the Cooper Inn). Cooperstown is an unspoiled, idyllic little hamlet in upstate New York with no fast food restaurants or chain retail stores, only the beauty of the town itself, its people and nature.

The service at the Otesaga is unsurpassed, from the moment you drive up the circular driveway and are greeted by the doorman, to the front desk staff, to the housekeeping staff and the wait staff in each of the restaurants. All the rooms are unique size and shape adding to the character and atmosphere. The grounds are exquisite and the view of Lake Otsego and the finishing holes of the Leatherstocking Golf Course from the huge back porch are breathtaking (especially in the fall). Since our first visit to Cooperstown, there's never been a discussion of where to stay, it's always the Otesaga (I must say that the Cooper Inn is equally as beautiful but on a smaller scale and closer to the downtown area).

If you're looking for a fast paced, up all night partying atmosphere, Cooperstown is not the place for you. However, if you can remember a bygone era when we were able to safely walk the streets after dark and enjoy each other's company taking in all the charm of a small town, this is the place for you. Don't be mislead that the Baseball Hall of Fame is all there is here (I'm a huge baseball fan, but have only visited the Hall twice in our 5 trips). There's the beautiful Fennimore Art Museum, the New York State Farmers Museum and Glimmerglass State Park (and Hyde Hall) just to name a few of the other attractions to visit, and there's always just the splendor of the Otesaga and the town itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Rchilone,
What an amazing review of Cooperstown, The Otesaga, and The Cooper Inn, we’re delighted to read about your endorsement and thrilled with your account of your various stays with us, thank you for your loyalty and kind comments. Your summation of the village, its charms, and culture could not have been better portrayed, Cooperstown has a lot to offer and when guests stay with us they are pleasantly surprised by the array of venues and activities that ‘America’s Most Perfect Village’ has to offer. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    68
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
95
127
2
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cooperstown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

. . . Cooperstown, along with so many of its benchmark properties including the Otesaga Resort . . . it's hotel, restaurants, banquet halls, bars, gift shop, golf course and it's other amenities . . . non the least of which is it's fabulous landscaping, facilities, setting and location. The Otesaga never fails to make me proud that it is in our small village; it is a joy to behold year around and it seems to just keep getting better with each turn of the seasons.

Over the years I have visited it countless times along with my family and many of our extended family and friends and always are we pleased with the food, the accommodations, the staff, the facilities and of course the view from the back porch . . . looking down the long lake over the back terrace and 18th green. Whether it is for weddings, their famous Sunday Brunch, fundraisers, the school Cotillion dances, seminars, entertainment or just getting together with friends for lunch on the patio or for drinks and dinner at the Hawkeye, it has always been a pleasure and a treasure to experience.

I would highly recommend it to anyone. It is a living vibrant thriving place of historic relevance that will not disappoint! I hope whoever reads this review and then visits will have had the chance to build great memories as the Harris clan has done over all these years!

Room Tip: Ask for Bob Faller . . . he won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear RoyalRubicon,
Thank you so much for your kind words and endorsing The Otesaga Resort Hotel, what a great review. We are so proud to know that we've made your various experiences here memorable and we’re extremely thankful to our guests who make the Otesaga a “vibrant thriving place of historic relevance”. Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to post a review, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Otesaga, whether for dining, entertainment or attending a special event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our family gathering was a great success. With a private dining room and great support from event services, we had a fantastic evening with everything done to our specifications.
The dancing after dinner in the Templeton lounge was a good way to shake down dinner and the children had a ball on the dance floor.
You need to go there yourself to experience the beauty, the quality and the uniquness of this place. In the winter the prices are very good and dinners around the year in the Hawkey Grill are first class. Chef Michael has the wide knowledge about fine cuisine and the food is of highest quality, whatever you choose.
P.S. Do request specific bedding or you might be stuck in a standard room with two twin beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ambercita,
What a great review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel, we’re thrilled that you enjoyed everything about your recent stay. Thank you for your kind feedback, we’ll make sure to share your comments with the various departments as they’ll be delighted to know that you had such a fantastic experience while here. Please visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Otesaga on two separate occasions this summer while our son was playing in the week-long Cooperstown Dreams Park tournaments. The decor is old-world and lovely, and the service was friendly and gracious. I still dream about sitting out on the porch having breakfast or sipping drinks in the wooden rocking chairs overlooking the lake. For the two weeks we spent there, it really became our home away from home. Definitely worth the price compared to other local hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mmm0692,
How inspiring it is to read such a kind review from your stays at The Otesaga this past summer, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and especially for staying with us, not once but twice in one season! We’ll make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team, they’ll be happy to know that you enjoyed the friendly service that they provided. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our hotel room was beautiful with a fantastic view of Otsego lake... we had such a great time we decided to stay an extra night. The hotel is also in a lovely town with the added benefit of being home to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Brionc29,
We love to hear stories of guests who stayed an extra night because they enjoyed it so much! Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we truly appreciate your endorsement and we’re glad that you enjoyed our resort, the town, and its sights during your weekend stay. We look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel with great personnel who cater to you every need. The night manager allowed us to place our grandchildrens Christmas gift by the fire place on 12/24 and watched them so our grandchildren could be surprised that Santa found them and brought gyre presents all the way from California ! Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!
Howard and Maryann B.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I didn't see a separate listing for the Otesage Resort Hotel dining room so I'm putting my review here. While staying at the Cooper Inn, my husband and I enjoyed a marvelous dinner at the Otesaga Resort Hotel dining room. As typical with prix fixe restaurants, the choices were limited BUT the quality was excellent. Even vegetarian husband had a marvelous meal. Service was stellar with the wait staff able to balance cordial attention with 'staying out of the way' while we dined -- very nicely done. The wine selection was good and out of the ordinary. Again, wait staff knew the wine as well as the food. Okay, I'm a push-over when the table is 'crumbed' before dessert but i do like this type of attention to detail in a fine restaurant. We will definitely dine here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Kay E,
We’re so glad to read that you took advantage of dining in our Main Dining Room as one of the many benefits available to guests of The Cooper Inn. Thank you for posting a comment about your dining experience, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the quality of the food and service as our team makes every effort to provide an unforgettable experience, whether you’re dining with us or staying overnight. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Address: 60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the Historic Grand Resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Otesaga Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.