We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Otesaga Resort Hotel to your Saves list
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book your 2015 Getaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cooperstown
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pros: NO complaints. One of the most beautiful properties I've ever seen. Breakfast was great. Loved the heated bathroom.
Cons: A bit pricey. Weather sucked over HOF weekend (not hotel's fault!). Thanks to the on-site clown who was amazing and made it worthwhile for the kids.

Room Tip: View of the lake is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Cbngrl,

We’re so happy to read that you found The Otesaga Resort Hotel to be one of the most beautiful properties you’ve ever seen, thank you for your endorsement, we’ll make sure to share your feedback with our staff and especially with Coco the clown. We hope the weather will be favorable the next time you’re here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    68
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
95
127
2
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from our annual June meeting at the Otesaga, and while I've experienced the Otesaga before, this time was even better. The weather was picture perfect, but the service was outstanding. Upon check-in, the valets up front suggested that they take the car, not for the tips but because they knew how difficult it would be for us to get a parking spot due to events on the premises. We were early and the room wasn't ready, but we were asked if we'd like to relax on the veranda and check the bags. And that's the way to start a vacation even if it's a business related one. Relaxing in a wooden rocking chair, looking at the lake and taking in a bit of breeze and sun. A quick call on my cellphone and we were whisked to our room only to find that all our bags had already been set up for us there on the luggage jacks.

Even the cocktail hours during our conference were better than I remembered. Not only was the food inventive and tasty, we were not forced to queue interminably at the bar as the staff greeted us upon arrival and made sure we were never without a drink throughout the event. Dinners were elegant and amazingly organized. For those of us staying at the hotel, the American plan made things so easy, breakfast, lunch and dinner were included. And each meal seemed more ornate than the last. Can't wait to return next June.

Room Tip: There are lakeside rooms and non-lakeside. The views are worth the extra price. Room 329 is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear UpstateNYLawchick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Otesaga Resort Hotel, we’re so pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us; it’s great to know that our efforts are making a positive impact on our guests. We will make sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. Thank you again for your endorsement and we can’t wait to welcome you back next June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

if your ever in the neighbour hood on a Sunday and you want to have the best Sunday brunch ever , then look no further than having it at this fine hotel with amazing views overlooking the lake if you eat on the veranda ! with enough variety to fill you up for a week, from exta large shrimp to the most succulent prime rib, O and did i mention the desserts !!!!!! washed down with juice, coffee,tea and soda drinks, its $35 per head for adults but its worth every cent !! get there and enjoy !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and think I have the correct expectations of what I should find at one. The Otesaga Hotel charges over $400.00 a night for a room and makes you take a meal plan for breakfast and dinner at the hotel. If you want to have your meals via room service that is not included in the meal plan at all and you have to pay extra for it. This makes no sense that none of your meal plan is credited to a room service order. I can see paying a bit extra for the service but not having to pay for it totally separate from what they have already forced you pay for a meal plan. We took most of our meals through room service and paid extra for them, the food was awful. One day we had a sandwich which came totally burned on the bottom with no cover over it at all so it was ice cold. Another time we ordered 2 entrees and they only sent up one, we split it and with food this bad it was more than enough. Even the desserts here were flavorless and very processed. We were very disappointed and will never go back to this hotel ever again. The room service staff was almost stern in their interactions with us and not very warm or friendly. I was so happy to eat out of the hotel one night at a diner in Oneonta which had much better food than this hotel offered.
Our bedspread had a worn torn spot on it and the room was quite small for the price. There was only one small upholstered chair to sit in and a straight back desk chair that squeaked if you leaned into the back of it. The housekeeping staff was lovely and very professional and the rooms were clean and well stocked. They were very friendly and added to the ambiance of the place. This hotel could be so nice, it has old world charm and could be first class if they would stop making people take a meal plan and if they did some updating to their linens and decor. BTW when you check in they do not explain anything about the meal plan to you , what it covers or how to use it. Some of the carpet laid in the hallways was bunchy and did not lay flat which could be a tripping hazard.
I would save my money if I visited Cooperstown and stay at one of the motels farther down the lake. You will get a room that is as good if not better for a fourth of the price. Don't waste your money.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on not put on the top floor, unless you don't mind climbing steep narrow stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Travelleranddog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are terribly sorry to read your disappointment regarding your recent stay, especially as it relates to our food and beverage options. We have very high standards and what you experienced does not reflect our value and standards. Please know that we have shared your feedback with the appropriate management teams to ensure that your comments are being reviewed and addressed accordingly. Thank you again for sharing your experiences so that it gives us the opportunity to improve in the future. We would like to restore your confidence in us and we ask that you to reach out to us directly at otesagahotel@otesaga.com so we can further discuss your situation in detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but must comment on the changes that have been made and the dining experience. The hotel remains an icon of luxury accommodations in Cooperstown but that is not the story. The main dining room has changed the way they welcome guests from both the hotel and the outside. The first change is the dress code has gone from stuffed shirt to resort somewhat casual. For those not staying in the hotel on a plan there is a price fixed (four course) dinner for $55 per person that is unbelievable. There is a wide ranging menu of excellent dishes that are served by the best staff one could every hope to have. The food was way beyond expectations. The grounds are not really totally open to the public but we were allowed to wonder pretty much at will and found the place to be above and beyond. Beautifully kept grounds and a first class golf course are but the cherry on top. The view of the lake is also something to behold.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Harold66,

We are so glad to read about your recent dining experience with us at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a comment. It's great to read that you’ve noticed our recent changes in our dining experience; we have indeed modified our menu options as well as the dress code in our main dining room to welcome a resort casual look and the feedback has been very positive. Thank you again for your support and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was very torn on staying here. I'm glad I did. When you book please remember it is a historic hotel. Yes, rooms are a bit small. Yes, the wood floors squeek. Yes, it looks like a lot Waverly prints etc. However, the views, location, staff, did I mention the views so make it worth while.
There were three small things that if I were Queen of the world I would change. First, I was attending a meeting as a vendor. Exhibit area very cramped, some vendors were wedged in corners. Two, I would reconsider the bedspreads and opt for a print bed scarf on the foot of the bed. And last, but almost the most important, it was not until the last night (I was there 3) did I find out I was on a meal plan... had I known, I could have had breakfast and dinner in the main dining room without paying exta (I do think it is a bit expensive) That being said I did have two lovely dinners at the Hawk Eye Grill. Alex was quite delightful and quick to smile. I also enjoyed the afternoon tea with Virginia... I would consider staying here with my husband, but not kids.
Did I mention the views are beautiful, an adult beverage on the porch would be worth the time if you are in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room lake side try to avoid dormer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear About-leisure,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the views from our porch. We also appreciate your constructive comments. We’ve just added a new meeting room to provide that extra space for meetings and exhibits. Our apologies about the miscommunication on our meal plans, we thrive to provide as much information as possible to guests prior to arrival and we’ll make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate staff. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Otesaga Resort Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ate at an excellent restaurant at this beautiful hotel/golf complex. The food and service were excellent and the view over the water was peaceful and relaxing. We were only there for a day, but would love to go back to experience the serenity that we found there. The city is known for the Baseball Hall of Fame, but this beautiful complex deserves attention.

Room Tip: This is a bit on the expensive side for a family, but the entire experience is great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtesagaHotelMgmt, Manager at The Otesaga Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience at The Otesaga Resort Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, the views, and the service provided by our team who works very hard to offer the highest quality of friendly customer service to our guests. It is always great to hear such positive feedback and we'll be sure to share your kind words with our restaurant team. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Address: 60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the Historic Grand Resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. The resort is located just a short walk from Cooperstown main attractions, including the Baseball Hall Of Fame, The Fenimore Art Museum and The Farmers' Museum, and provides exclusive packages for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Otesaga Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.