We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for kids under age 13” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Otesaga Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
End of Summer from $239
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Cooperstown
Mountain Brook, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not for kids under age 13”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Property itself is a beautiful old golf resort with upgrades. Building group areas are beautiful. You go for the view of the lake or to golf, not the hotel room. Older children that can hang by the pool or lake will be happy.
We had a group dinner on the lawn for our 11of our 12yr old baseball players- there to play at the Cooperstown Dreams Park- hotel not kid friendly at all. Parents did not feel comfortable letting kids run around and be kids. We were watched like a hawk by staff to make sure we did not get out of line, or bother the other guests. Seriously? we paid $25 - $50 a person (including kids) for a buffet and drinks. Food and wine were great! The group was not allowed to fish or swim, so sitting at a white table cloth dinner after playing baseball all day it was not a perfect match. We found out the next day another resort in the area was better suited for rough housing boys.

Room Tip: Of course lake views are beautiful. Golf course would be second, and parkng lot last
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    50
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
74
88
2
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Otesaga is a grand dame hotel, beautiful and gracious. Staff is terrific and service excellent. Pay one price and get meals included. Sadly the food is just not that good. Dinner of rack of lamb and roasted potatoes was just bad. Creme brulee was REALLY brulee - burnt! Lights are so dim you can't see your food and waitstaff can't see what they're doing Very good wine list and breakfast is also good. Do miss being able to make a cup of coffee in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this lovely resort over the Memorial Day weekend. We were in room 426 which was lovely, comfortable, clean and had a magnificent view. I say almost perfect as this Resort only had one negative and that was the dinner entree selections and preparations in the Main Dining are definitely in need of improvement. The Main Dining room atmosphere and the music while dining is lovely. Our server was Virginia, and she was wonderful. Breakfast is absolutely fantastic! The Tea every afternoon is so pleasant especially with the pianist playing in the background, and of course, the lovely view of the Lake. This resort has a heated outdoor pool and the attendant is very congenial and keeps it in good order. The only thing that kept my rating of this hotel from being Perfect was that it did not have an indoor pool or a covered outdoor pool so that you could enjoy swimming even when the weather is cold and bad. Unfortunately, we were there on Memorial Day weekend and most of the time the weather was cold with heavy rain. On the day we had sun, it was still cold and very windy. The Templeton Lounge was a great spot to go after dinner. The DJ on Saturday was excellent along with the Jazz Group on Sunday. Lovely for dancing and very nicely set-up. You can see that a lot of time and effort went into this Resort and it definitely shows.

The staff is 100% fantastic. We do a great amount of traveling both for business and leisure and the staff at this Resort is superior. If you are going to Cooperstown, NY, this is the only place to stay---do not visit this lovely Town without staying at The Otesaga Resort Hotel. We would not hesitate to go back nor hesitate to highly recommend it. Great visit, great time, thank you.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 5th floor as the elevator stops on 4 and you have to walk up a flight of stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have read the other accolades heaped upon the Otesaga Inn at Cooperstown but it wasn’t until I experienced it myself could I appreciate how special this place was. Nestled in one of New York’s quaint historical communities this is a rare accommodation indeed. From the time you pull through the front gates you are hoping it is as good as it looks and it isn’t, it’s much better. I have visited many hotels and resorts in eastern New York and the Otesaga is underestimated. It s funny but a number of people comment that the 1909 building looks somewhat institutional but don’t judge it by its cover, it is warm, friendly and grows on you quickly, a hotel managed in the old style, not formally stiff but very classy. The staff that greats you is professional but confident and very welcoming. Check in is high tech with signature pads and again, friendly professionals behind the desk. The bell staff is ready to please and have been at their post for some time. The rooms are classic and for the most part large and well appointed, always clean. There is an evening turn down service. Some of the rooms on the upper floors share a bath, but are meant as family suits. All of the common rooms at the lobby and lower lobby level are well appointed and finely decorated with big comfortable chairs as conversation spaces or to quietly read a book or enjoy high tea and cookies. The veranda opens over a large lush green lawn perfect for weddings and is equipped with several high back rockers, all accessible to a service bar for afternoon cocktails. There is a well kept outdoor pool area off the outdoor dining area. The back of the hotel is overlooking the lush green hillside and Otsego Lake, calming and relaxing. The dining rooms are again well appointed with beautiful chandeliers with large bright windows and clean white molding. Our hats off to all of the staff especially the dining room staff who do a superb job and are obviously well trained and well picked. Every meal was an experience and well prepared with succulent first rate ingredients, never a disappointment. Our group was there with another professional conference group and a large wedding party. There are several dining areas on site and all are first rate. The staff are all friendly, courteous and highly professional. There is plenty to do and enjoy in the area if you can pull yourself away from the Otesaga, much more than the Baseball Hall of Fame. If you get the opportunity and want to get away for a weekend or a week you should not pass up the Otesaga Inn, only a short pleasant drive from Albany. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a great hotel and the property is fantastic with a great pool and world class golf course and with the Baseball Hall of Fame a 5 minute walk there is plenty to do in the area.
What I was extremely impressed with was the service - every aspect of dining from the price Fix dinner jacket required for gents which I loved to the morning breakfast was superb.

I stopped at the golf course bar for a drink and loved the place and the service as well as the lunch in the Pub.

I can't wait to go back.

Golfers - This course is FANTASTIC - incredible condition and wonderful views.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

What can one say about the Otesaga, the century old resort on the shores of its namesake lake, that hasn't been said? Understated elegance? A Homestead in human scale? A Greenbrier without the over-the-top Trumpish-like glitz? Accessable, small, a 10 minute walk to the National Baseball League Hall of Fame and Museum, a five minute walk to the the amazing Leatherstocking Golf Course (a nationally highly-rated daily fee course) and beautiful rooms with bucolic views. A first class dining room, a great grill, very friendly staff and first rate service. A tad on the expensive side, but worth the splurge on MAP, which actually reduces the room rate down to around a reasonable $300/night. Everyone needs to come to Cooperstown at least once and the Otesaga is the place to stay as we do every year.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the "dormer" rooms on the top floor unless you don't mind traversing narr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As the only American journalist who covers baseball and travel exclusively, I have visited Cooperstown on many occasions. I discovered during those trips that the best place to stay is also the oldest and most time-tested: the Otesaga Resort, right on the shores of beautiful Lake Otsego (Glimmerglass Lake in James Fenimore Cooper's Leatherstocking Tales). A venerable member of Historic Hotels of America, the Otesaga has aged well. Because of its fine breakfast buffet and choice of restaurants for dinner, it appeals to travelers with different budgets. It also appeals to anyone seeking proximity to the Baseball Hall of Fame, which is within healthy walking distance. In fact, members of each year's Induction Class, plus many media members, stay at The Otesaga every July, when that event takes place. It is especially nice to stay in a suite overlooking the peaceful lake, surrounded by the wooded hills of Central New York. When warm weather permits, the waterfront is busy with boaters, fishermen, walkers, and photographers. Golf is just steps away too. And the compact town, with only one traffic light, is close enough to enjoy but not close enough to encroach upon the seclusion sought by celebrity guests at the stately hotel. Employees often go beyond the call of duty to cater to the needs of their well-traveled guests, many of them repeat visitors who wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. There's nothing better than sitting and reading on the veranda overlooking the lake and wondering where James Fenimore Cooper got his inspiration. The Otesaga wasn't there in his day but I'm sure he would have loved it.

Room Tip: Pay more for a lakeroom room and ask for a corner; it's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Otesaga Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Address: 60 Lake St., Cooperstown, NY 13326-0311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Cooperstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cooperstown
#3 Family Hotel in Cooperstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Otesaga Resort Hotel is the Historic Grand Resort of Cooperstown, NY, overlooking the majestic Lake Otsego and providing exceptional accommodations, excellence service, and an elegant atmosphere since 1909. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Otesaga Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown
Otesaga Hotel Cooperstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Otesaga Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.